We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute.Com Special Deal Secret Escapes”
Review of NH Geneva City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Geneva City
Ranked #53 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last Minute.Com Special Deal Secret Escapes”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Rex Hotel. I booked this through Last minute.com online with a Special Deal, be aware it was not what was really advertised and I thought I was going to get.
The price was 40% discounted from the usual advertised rate which is not surprising as the hotel is in the middle of high rise apartments/housing estates and not really a clean area.
The room for a 4* was quite small, it had a very uncomfortable bed with 2 small pillows. Nice bathroom but the bath but too small to relax in. Dirty carpet and the view from my window was of a flat/corrugated roofs and a motorbike garage. It did have a safe which was a good point.
I am not sure if the grading of the hotel is correct, maybe a 3*.
The staff were very helpful during my stay.
I did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food.
To get to the main part of town for bars etc. is a good 15 minute walk down a main road which is not very pleasant in the evening. Get a cab or use the free bus/tram card they give you at the hotel.
I will add, take plenty of money. Get Swiss Francs not everywhere took Euros.
Airport to the hotel approx. 40 Swiss Francs (£27), hotel to the airport 30 Swiss Francs (£20). Maximum 10 minute drive.
Found a couple of bars near the lake The Grand Duke and The Clubhouse. Both serve an excellent pint of Guinness and Boddingtons. Well worth a look. Both have Sky sports and a game on Saturday afternoons. Beer averaged out at between £6-7 per pint.
I had an Indian for myself one evening (starter, curry, rice, nan & a drink) was approx. 50 Swiss Francs (£34).
Plenty of pizza, kebab and McDonalds in the city.
Once you have walked around the lake in Genève not much else to see. 2 days was more than enough for me. Some great views of the mountains by the lake.
Check that if you do book a room it comes with breakfast and the city tax is paid (approx. 10 Swiss Francs). Brush up on your French as well.
I took a chance on a Secret Escaped and it backfired on me, others may have had better luck.
I won't be chancing a Secret Escape again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesT717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    220
    136
    61
    41
See reviews for
77
223
38
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I reserved a room for this hotel for March 2014 via venere.com, and chose to pay on arrival. Imagine my surprise when in December the hotel takes the money out of my account! I was horrified! After making the reservation with the specific condition to pay on arrival I was so angry that the hotel had taken my money without even informing or asking me. Whether this was an issue with the hotel or booking agent I don't know but needless to say I promptly cancelled my reservation. I called venere.com to find out why this had happened and they said 'sometimes the hotel will do that to make sure you are real!' Very disappointed in the service and will not be using either the hotel or agent again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazycatlady85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very nice hotel. Staff very helpful with directions. Large spacious room. Very easy transportation system in Geneva and hotel has easy walk to several different tram stops. As others have commented on this site NH Rex needs carpet upgrade but rooms clean and plenty of hot water. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martib148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is OK and it is aligned to Geneve prices and standards. The personnel is really kind and the breakfast is really rich. Anyway, if you work on the other side of the lake you should keep into account that the traffic in the morning could be really messy and it can take up to 30 minutes to reach the other side of the lake

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni_Pignatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was absolutely great stay with great price for Geneva. Hotel is situated near the centre. Maybe more hotels are exactly in the middle of town, but with free public transport card is it not important - you can travel without limitation. Bus stop to the centre is 200 m. Bus stop to the United Nations and botanic garden is exactly by the hotel (there you can switch on tram to the centre). Hotel is quiet, furniture is in rustic style and elegant. Everything was clean, people were nice, I cant find any mistake. NH hotels are globally high standard hotels with acceptable price and this one wasn´t different. Of course, just in my opinion :) 5*

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Tha area is not the one that you enjoy taking a walk, no closer restaurants to hVe dinner, there is no restaurant in the hotel. The rooms are big but old. Lot of noises coming from other rooms, maybe the building structure is old and is difficult to avoid noises between rooms... Today is getting really difficult to sleep :-(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gils G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Small but comfortable room. Excellent shower. Good location, tram stop near and only short walk to lake and station. Not cheap but good value in expensive Geneva. Didn't eat breakfast there so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
917 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#75 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 105 in Geneva
1,262 reviews
Hotel Les Nations
#51 of 105 in Geneva
100 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#50 of 105 in Geneva
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Geneva City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Geneva City

Property: NH Geneva City
Address: Avenue Wendt 42-44 | Grottes-Saint-Gervais, Geneva 1203, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Geneva
#33 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Geneva City 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful, quaint neighborhood near Geneva's bustling business center, the NH Geneva City combines the charm of 19th century France with sophisticated, modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Geneva City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Rex Geneva
Nh Rex Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing