We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #33 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Arriving in Geneva on a freezing raining day in winter, it was a relief to arrive to a smile and a warm reception. Although we were too early to check into our room, we were able to leave our bags at reception, received a map of the city, complementary umbrella and travel passes. Apart from perhaps better sound-proofing (we could hear guests using the staircase outside our room), we could not fault this place - good sized rooms, clean, inviting, free wifi, tea/coffee, free city travel passes, welcome chocolate on the pillow, etc.
We didn't use the hotel's restaurant (there are separate reviews here on TA for that) and checked out for an early flight before breakfast so cannot comment on food. A special mention to the receptionists Cindy and Russ (spelling?) who both provided a very professional friendly service - even at 4am!
A tip if walking to the hotel from the train station - head down towards the river first (Rue de Mont Blanc) and then up to the hotel (Rue de Philippe-Plantamour) as the Rue de Lausanne and surrounding area of the station was 'a bit rough' in our experience on the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    326
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
127
284
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We quickly found the hotel from the train station. Some of the back streets nearby were a little seedy but generally the neighbourhood was fine. It was great for transport links and very near the lake. Check-in was quick and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose the hotel because of it's fun Swiss cottage style décor....at the end of the day you can stay in a characterless hotel anywhere in the world!
Our room was comfortable and decorated top to toe in pine wood, except the bathroom which was chic and modern.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and we had a good night, however, it was very expensive. Cannot believe what we paid for a saucepan of cheese, basket of bread, basket of new potatoes and a few pickled onions! Having said that, the entertainment and atmosphere almost made up for the prices. We also ate at a nearby restaurant/café and the meal was beautiful and less than half the price.
Overall, a fantastic weekend.....would I stay at the Edelweiss again? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I spent one night at the Hotel Edelweiss with my parents and was positively surprised by the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the qualities of the bed and the hotel in general. The building is not very attractive from the outside but the furnishing makes you feel comfortable and even if the chalet ambiance is maybe a bit too "touristic" it still felt nice (also for us who are Swiss). The (probably new) windows provided excellent soundproofing and the location is convenient too (10mins from the station and 2mins from the lake). On the whole it's extremely good value for the price paid and the only slight disappointment was the quality of the breakfast offered (dinner is said to be very nice, though).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was my second time here although it has been a few years. I have reasonable memories of it although it felt even better this time.

Check in was fast and friendly. The room seemed quite large for a Geneva hotel at this price, and the hotel also had a nice "cosy" feel to it. The WiFi worked well.

The one issue with the room was the soundproofing. Not only could you easily hear everything outside (and I was 3 floors up), but you could hear absolutely everything in the next room. I could hear someone snoring, and also every time they coughed, or moved. That needs to be improved.

The breakfast is good value for Geneva and nice, and checkout as efficient and friendly as check in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Interesting Swiss chalet design inside hotel. Free public transport passes given on arrival at the hotel. Discount card for restaurant. Restaurant average food but the home made Creme brûlée was fantastic. Also has live traditional music every evening. Location great 5 minutes walk to the lake. Convenient and good transport links. Shops and restaurants close by. Room was small but adequate and clean. Staff friendly and very helpful.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here on a business trip. Cute hotel located in a square, the hotel itself it medium size as there are 5 room each over 7 floors. The room are cosy giving a homely feel the bathroom is a 180 contrast as it's really modern but no problems as it's immaculately clean.

Plus side about the hotel is the restaurant as there is entertainment in the evening. I only ate there one evening as every night would drive me mad.
The smell of cheese permiates across the whole hotel so if that bothers you you'll have to dell with it.
Options for Breakfast are pretty standard but I didn't like the quality of the hot options yuck.

Overall great for a few days but as a long stay maybe not

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PrincessCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights & I must say the service at the front desk is REALLY POOR! On 2 nights, we asked the staff if he could help us check for vacancy for a tour, the response was "we have provided all the information, u should be helping yourself. If not, there is a computer there & you can check the Internet". Seriously! Is it that difficult to just help to make a call & check? The worst incident was this morning when we check out. We merely ask the staff if he could help us confirm our airport transfer with the tour company. The response was " you have created a problem & now you want me to solve your problem?? I have lots of work to do!!" Seriously! It's 7am. How much work you have?? And how difficult is it to just check for us?? Aren't the front desk staff suppose to help their guests with their problems? Wonder what are they for if its not the case!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
886 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Address: place de la Navigation 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing