We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #33 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hotel with character in excellent location”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a weekend break.The decor meant you knew you were in Switzerland as opposed to bland international chain type.Rooms were clean,spacious,quiet and comfortable Pleasant and helpful reception staff.Great location only 2 minutes walk from the lakeside and outdoor cafes etc.Also easy access to the old city via the free public transport- small boats or bus.Equally you can walk from the central station,where the free airport train arrives, in 10 minutes or get a bus to a stop outside the hotel.However beware that Geneva is very expensive for accommodation and food and drink even in the 'cheaper' places such as this

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianmcllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,
A warm thank you for your detailed review and comments of your stay with us here at the Edelweiss. I am happy to hear that your were pleased with the services we provided. I will make sure that all our staff will receive your feedback.
Unfortunately Geneva is a quite expensive city but we normally try to offer competitive prices especially during week-ends. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again!
Kind regards
Maria Jarl Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    326
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
127
284
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed for two nights, and found the hotel very comfortable. It is located on a small square making it quiet and easily accessible. As other reviewers have noted, the swiss chalet decore is a bit over the top, but my room was large and well-equipped; the bed was particularly comfortable. The staff were helpful, and the room was very well-maintained. It takes only about 8 minutes to walk to the main train station.

I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but found that there were several good restaurants very close to the hotel.

Geneva is an expensive city, but I thought the hotel was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I had read other reviews tat commented on the cheese smell from the restaurant. With those comments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Cher Hôte,
Je vous remercie sincèrement d'avoir choisi l'Edelweiss pour votre séjour à Genève.
C'est une plaisir de lire vos sentiments concernant la situation de notre hôtel et le confort de votre chambre. Je suis ravie d'entendre également que vous avez apprécié le service et la disponibilité de notre personnel. Je ne manquerai pas à partager vos commentaires avec l'ensemble de nos collaborateurs.
J'espère que vous aurons l'occasion de vous accueillir à nouveau, ne serait-ce que pour découvrir notre restaurant Suississime!!
Cordialement,
Maria Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a family of four. The hotel seemed like one of the more reasonable ones in Geneva, and is in a convenient spot. The faux-chalet decor is a bit kitsch but the hotel was very clean and staff were friendly. Be warned, the cheese smell IS very strong. We had been warned about it, and when we checked in at midday thought it wasn't too bad. When we came back to the hotel later that evening the fondue was in full swing and the children were horrified - luckily it wasn't too strong in our room.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors smell less strongly of cheese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Madame, Sir,
Thank you for having chosen the hotel Edelweiss for your stay in Geneva and thank you also for taking the time to share your opinion about your experience staying with us.
I am happy to hear that you found our hotel clean and convenient. An extra plus for the staff who was friendly. I will make sure to let them know!
Unfortunately you are absolutely right about the cheese smell in the evening. When we have a lot of clients having dinner in our Suississime restaurant the cheese smell tends to linger.
Hopefully, if we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the future, you can have dinner in the restaurant and enjoy the Alphorn, the accordeon and the Yodle which finally makes the cheese odor less strong!
We look forward to see you here at the Edelweiss soon again.
Kind regards
Maria Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location. About 10 minutes walk from the train station, and two minutes from the lake.
It looks like a postcard picture of a Swiss chalet. The staff were excellent, and our room was serviced everyday.
We did not eat in the restaurant, as it was a little expensive.
There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
We would stay in this hotel again when we visit Geneva the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_n_Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello,
A big thank you for your enthousistic review of your stay with us here at the Edelweiss! I am pleased to hear that you appreciated our staff (will for sure let them know), the decoration of our "Chalet" and our services.
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a chance to try our Suississime restaurant. We do have dishes starting off around CHF 25.-pp and you can enjoy our Swiss folklore music from early evening up til the closing time at 23h00. Something fun to do, try our Alphorn with instructions from our musicians. It is always an amusing moment during dinner:-)
We would be very pleased to welcome you!
Best regards
Maria Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 days with my friend. Staff were very friendly
and made us feel very welcome. Felt very safe there. Great location
as train station is a short walk and a bus stop is in front of the Hotel. Short
walk to the Lake. Restaurants bars all close by. Would recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your stay with us here at the Edelweiss.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you felt safe staying with us. That is very important point for us.
Looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back again!
With my best regards
Maria Croci
Hotel & Restaurant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The Edelweiss is part of the Manotel chain which has several properties in the Geneva area, this hotel is one of their three star offerings but has everything you might need for a short break in Geneva.

Firstly the hotel and location, as you have no doubt seen from the pictures on the site the hotel has a traditional alpine feel throughout (with the exception of bathrooms in each room). The reception area is pleasant but compact and you wouldn't expect to be spending much time there anyway. The hotel has been well maintained and was spotless throughout the visit - both the rooms and the common areas. The location is good, slightly away from the area around the train station where most mid range hotels are situated but close enough for the convenience of that location for transfers etc. It is a short stroll down to the lake itself or to many restaurants in the area. A few reviewers mention it is not far from some less desirable areas....While it is true that this is the case they are not exactly on the doorsteps of the hotel and you do not have to walk through such areas to access the lake area whatsoever. In fact I would suggest that the location means that you don't have to concern yourself about this at all and for that reason is actually a much better choice than many of the similarity graded hotels in Geneva. We did not once feel in anyway unsafe around the immediate area of the hotel.

Rooms are of a decent size and well maintained and furnished. They have all the essential amenities... Minibar, flat screen TV. Free WIFI, air conditioning. We were situated by the lift but it wasn't too noisy. We requested a high floor and had a room with a jet and mountain view

Staff were very pleasant and efficient. We didn't have much interaction really, we were out seeing Geneva's attractions most of the time, but where we did it was a nice experience.

The Edelweiss is a very good hotel, well located and affordable. I will review the restaurant separately later on but I would recommend highly for guests on a short trip to Geneva who are on a tight (ish) budget.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 158maelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, M. Croci, Hotel Director at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comment and detailed feedback following your stay at Hotel Edelweiss. And thank you for sharing it with the Tripadvisor community. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location, rooms and restaurant. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again soon.
With our best regards,
M. Croci, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A charming hotel with a Swiss feel right in the middle of Geneva. We stayed here for 2 nights and were delighted with the value for money in a very expensive city.The rooms were clean, quiet and had a very warm feel with the use of timber features. A highlight of our stay was the wonderful traditional band playing during our evening meal in the hotel dining room. Great breakfast and be mindful if in this city on a Sunday most restaurants and supermarkets are closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, M. Croci, Hotel Director at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We thank you for your great comment and recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel Edelweiss experience and our restaurant. For information the Edelweiss restaurant is now opened every evening, included Sundays. We are looking forward to welcome you back for a next trip to Geneva.
M. Croci, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
886 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Address: place de la Navigation 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing