We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2014. This hotel was a bit of fun and we rather enjoyed our evening of 'Swiss entertainment' in the themed restaurant, complete with live music and horn blowing. This hotel is styled like a Swiss chalet and guests looking for a chic, designer experience need not apply. Located within walking distance of the train station, and our car rental drop-off, it was very convenient for us. As a guest, you also get a free city transport pass (including the train to the airport) which was great. It was also just a short, sunny stroll away from the waterside and the bridges to the city centre. A nice little hotel, good value (for Geneva) and a bit of cheesy fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    314
    105
    24
    10
See reviews for
124
279
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

In the city center of Geneva, this hotel is made as a Swiss cliché mountain house.
Stuffed St- Bernard dogs everywhere (when i mean everywhere i mean like 20 in the lobby only, wooden walls and fire place. yes this may look a bit like a mountain house with the strong artificial smell.
once this step passed, the hotel is quite modern with a tiny (but brand new) elevator that will fit 2 people with luggage... in 2 times.
once in the room, same atmosphere, nice wooden walls and a brand new bathroom mixing dark stones and light wood for a superb result.
a very weird and annoying thing in the room is that all the power sockets are linked to the main light switch so it was impossible to charge our phones/computers during the night without letting the lights on. maybe just an error in our room as we could not see other rooms.

the staff was very nice and speaks german, french and english.
the "swiss" breakfast is quite expensive for what it is.. 18chf, no Bacon/eggs, limited choice of cereals/breds... i'll pass next time.
if you choose the "quick" breakfast for 8chf including a ridiculously small glass of juice (something like 1dL), a coffee and a croissant... well.. you can have the same half price at the next tea room in the street... pass again.

at night, you can have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel.
same story, the place looks like a main room of a mountain house, kitch but somewhat touching.
they have a variety of Swiss traditional food like smoked meat and a variety of cheese or chocolate fondue.
the cheese fondue we had was average. i could not prove that the chief was French (i eat a fondue twice a month) but... there are two way to to the Swiss fondue... and that was the 3rd way of doing it... the french way

back to positive.. during the meal, musicians will come to play some traditional Swiss music. that was unique, one of the musician played like 5 different instruments from wooden spoons to musical saw, alps horn and some others.. a really nice show.

that would confirm the recommendation i heard from people in Geneva
go there for the show, not for the real food.

as a summary, if you visit switzerland and dont have time for a trip in the mountains, this place will give you a nice cliché view of it.,,
i would still recommend it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venivediscripsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Edelweiss earlier this week. Upon our arrival (after my bags had been lost by sloppy Etihad Airways), it was a pleasant experience to be greeted charmingly by the friendly receptionist. We were given a free upgrade to a business class room which was very welcome after dealing with the frustration of lost luggage after a long trip from the Middle East.

The room was charming, decorated in a Swiss country house style, and wonderfully well equipped - comfortable beds with beautiful, crisp linen; mini-bar; air conditioning; a flat screen TV with several dozen channels in a multitude of languages; free wi fi; excellent quality toiletries and towels in the bath.

We ate dinner at the hotel's traditional Swiss restaurant; the food was excellent and the prices were reasonable for Geneva and Switzerland in general. Switzerland is one of Europe's most expensive destinations, so do not expect any "bargains" on anything much other than chocolate and cheese.

I laughed out loud when I read some of the complaints about this hotel here. Faulting any property for a "smell of cheese" in a fondue restaurant is patently ridiculous. The hotel lobby, furnished to emulate a Swiss ski chalet, did not at any time smell like anything other than Arven pine. The restaurant is down a fairly long corridor from there, so the people complaining about a cheese odor were obviously experiencing olfactory hallucinations.

The restaurant's duo played wonderful music all evening using an amazing variety of instruments, and keeping the many guests - especially the many Chinese guests - well entertained and amused.

I can only recommend this hotel and cannot find any faults with it save that the somewhat tiny lift did occasionally cause a longer wait and the cardlock system on the room doors was a little quirky to operate at first.

All in all, a lovely stay. I'll be staying there again on my next Geneva excursion later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for or spring for a "business room" if you don't like standard rooms that have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheLastBaronW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotels in Geneva, like everything else, are very expensive. So don't be put off by the price. This is a 3 star hotel at 3 star prices that is nice to stay in. Don't come here if you are allergic to wood, yodelling or the 1970's. The décor is "cuckoo clock". It's a little bit tired .. a few chips and stains here and there. But the smallish rooms are clean. I had a few problems getting tea and soap from the room cleaners. The TV has 90 channels; about 10 in English including all 6 BBC. Great comfy bed. There is a fabulous Swiss themed restaurant in the basement, with entertaining musicians and great décor. Give it a go. It's expensive but so is everywhere. The neighbourhood, Paquis, is a bit edgy. It's the red light district. But it's quite safe. There is a Denner supermarket outside the door so you can avoid the snack and minibar prices. The pizza restaurant around the back is good eating and good value.

Room Tip: Get a high floor. There's a bit of noise down on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SubmarineBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked the "Family-Connecting-Rooms" which provided a great value in expensive Geneva. The lobby and restaurant convey the charm of old world Switzerland, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. Spacious by European standards, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Closet and dresser space if you are unpacking for a stay. Nice bathrooms with hairdryer. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Denner grocery store directly across the street, and a nice fountain in the square. The elevator is small but effective for getting luggage upstairs. The free Wi-Fi worked great. The hotel is close to Cornavin Rail Station. The restaurant was fun with decent traditional Swiss food and great entertainment. I see others have remarked about a cheese odor, but I didn't notice anything in the hotel. I did smell cheese and other food odors when we went down to the restaurant, and it was very appetizing. Maybe the others who noticed the cheese odor checked in at dinner time? I would definitely stay at the Edelweiss again if I have the opportunity to return to Geneva.

One thing I should mention regarding Geneva in general - change your Euros or other currency for Swiss Francs at Cornavin, as most merchants don't accept anything but Swiss Francs. If they do take your Euros, they will only take paper Euros, not coins, and you will receive change in Swiss Francs at whatever exchange rate they choose to give you.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, choose the "Family-Connecting-Rooms" option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonOpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear client,
Thank you ever so much for your enthusiastic review of our hotel and your stay with us.
I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Edelweiss and that our services met your expectations. I hope you had a chance to try the Alphorn while visiting the restaurant:-)

Should you come by Geneva in the future we would be happy to welcome you back again!
My best regards

Maria Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it looked cute but I wasn't really impressed. Our bathroom had a horrible sewage odor which was extremely unpleasant. The hotel was fully booked so there was nothing that could be done about it. The restaurant was a good experience for the music but the food wasn't great. Kind of in a bad part of town but close to the train station which is convenient. Wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbette1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
340 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights, and at reservation the hotel advised us to book 2 rooms because the 3rd person would not fit in the first room. This cost us quite a bit more $, and upon arrival, we felt like we could have squeezed in. Other friends of ours stayed at the same hotel and were 5 in a room. The positives were the nice guy who answered the phone was able to tell us how to come by transportation to the hotel. He told us to take the tram to "Jardin Boutanique" which was very easy. Also positive was the free passes they gave at check in for all transportation in the City. The kids loved the hotel. The negatives were the "cheesy" hotel in decor and smell. :) We were on the 5th floor and it was quite strong. We had to keep the window open and glad it was good weather to be able to do so. Breakfast was just ok, and day 2 we realized that the salami had a casing that needed to be removed. At check out, the short hair blond middle-aged lady suggested we pay with Dollars, and not Francs, which we knew not to do, but she insisted, saying it was better, and her management had told her to tell us...rip off alert.

Room Tip: 5th floor was ok, but the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotel_Edelweiss, Directeur général at Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Client,
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay here at the Edelweiss on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that your stay and our services did not meet your expectations. I apologize for this.
Unfortunately the "cheesy" smell that lingers in the hotel and restaurant in the evening is due to the quantity of cheese fondue that we serve in our Suississime restaurant. I do agree that the smell can be surprisingly strong.
Your last comment is what worrying me the most. I am truly disappointed that our receptionist made you feel uncomfortable when paying with your credit card.
It it true that we ask our front desk staff to suggest to our clients that in paying in the currency of the card, the exchange rate is more advantages than paying in Swiss francs. But the choice is always up to you the client and not us. You would always have the "normal" bank charges but the exchange rate is supposed to be in your advantage.
Should you have any questions or need and other information from my part, please do not hesitate to contact me through the Edelweiss email address.
I thank you for your understanding and hopefully will have the chance to welcome you back again. Sincerely yours,
Maria Croci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Address: place de la Navigation 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Alps in the heart of Geneva. Come to the Hotel Edelweiss and delight in the warmth of an authentic Swiss chalet. Discover our different guest rooms, from standard to family room. You will have the opportunity to discover for diner our Swiss restaurant "l'Edelweiss" offering entertaining programs. Complimentary business centre and Wi-Fi. An iron and ironing board are available upon request. We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Edelweiss Geneva
Manotel Edelweiss Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing