We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I had two weeks here. Overall, I found this hotel to be pretty good - for Geneva.

The room: well presented with eastern themed decor. It was reasonably spacious, but not large enough to easily live in for 2 weeks. The floors were wood; the windows opened (but out on to an ugly carpark); there was central heating/airconditioning. There was a minibar fridge (not always guaranteed in Geneva) and a flatscreen tv that received a few English language channels.

The bed: really quite firm, and was two largish singles pushed together (pretty much the norm for Europe, although I have no idea why they do this).

The bathroom: quite spacious and attractive, with a limited supply of toiletries. Shower over the bath. Actually this turned out to be a bit of a nightmare, as the drain was very slow. The bath filled up quickly, and could easily overflow. I could see evidence of previous floods. This was exacerbated by the angle of the shower head, and the inadequacy of the screen. When I mentioned this to the front desk, they agreed this was a problem, but no solution was offered.

The kitchen: yes, really there was one. I was surprised as I had been hunting for a place where I could self cater. (Having spent rather a lot of time in Geneva, I've been unimpressed by the restaurant food, service and prices.) The kitchen was behind a locked door, and consisted of a microwave, sink, tiny counter and fridge and what was the seriously the most impoverished set of kitchen utensils ever offered. And for this they were charging CHF46 per day. Needless to say, I found it easy to reject the offer of the 'kitchen', so they locked it up again.

The service: pleasant. However, the maid service varied tremendously, some were much more helpful than others.

Eating at the hotel: there seemed to be a bit of 'thing' about the special breakfast, so in the interest of providing a full review, I checked it out. Seriously, for CHF18, this was no bargain. I wouldn't recommend it. I could get wonderful Portuguese pastries and coffee for under CHF6 on rue de Lausanne (only a minute's walk away) at Sol Mel, or across the road from there, delicious tartine and freshly pressed juice for CHF9.

I'd say this place was pretty good for a short stay, not so great for anything longer. It fares well compared to other places I've stayed at in this city. Some reviewers comment on the neighbourhood. There is nothing to be concerned about. It is safe and a little colorful. It's not far from the lake, and there are some fairly good places to eat on rue des Paquis, a couple of blocks towards the lake. There are plenty of little supermarkets around, it's close to public transport and the train station (some okay spots for a snack there, now it has been refurbished). Others comment on the free public transport pass the hotel gives you. This is standard for Geneva, and you will get it at any hotel for the length of your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the shower drains properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

I have been staying with this hotel quite often by now. It's a very nice hotel which provides a good value for money you spent (considering Geneva hotel prices). The rooms are designe in an colonial style and have a ver good athmosphere.The executives suites are very nice too but not the best view at the lower level. Locarion is very central. 5 minutes from the train station and about 15 from the nice city center.. They don't have a fitnes center themselves but sharing facilities of another hotel about 2 minutes walking distances.

overall I like this hotel a lot. sometimes it is difficult to get a room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gartenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed a day and night in Geneva. Hotel Kipling was a good hotel and value. It is clean, sophisticated and the staff is very friendly and accomodating and had free wi fi. The rooms were good size, quiet with a nice bathroom. It is very close to the train station and tram stops so it is convenient in that sense. They provided us with a pass for all public transportation in Geneva which was a huge benefit. It is a little distance to the main part of Geneva and after dark, it is a little unsettling. Not dangerous but not somewhere I would want my girlfriend/wife to be walking by themselves. But that was the same in most of Geneva so it isn't like it is in a particularly bad part of town. It seemed to us that Geneva shut down after 7pm and unless you had somewhere to go for dinner or a nightclub, there wasn't a lot to do. We were there in December too so it may be different in the summer months. We would definitely recommend the hotel and stay there again if we are in Geneva.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Convenient location, beautiful rooms, very friendly service. Many nice, relaxed restaurants within walking distance. The neighborhood on one side of the hotel is a bit dodgy but we did not feel unsafe walking back to the hotel even late at night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper floor rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is in a quiet area, friendly service, very clean rooms and easy access to tram and train station. However, for the high price I thought the rooms would be bigger. It would be real difficult for for two people to share one of the rooms. The closet is very small and hard to access and there is no clock in the room or on the TV. Three star, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a 3 star hotel, however the rooms are more like 4 star. The have nice wooden floors, good design, all looks very modern and accurate. It is a few mins walk for the main train station. We did not book the breakfast as it was too expensive. At the hotel you can also get a free card to use public transport and get to the airport. The only thing was the size of bed - we were told that it is double, but it looked smaller than a normal double, so to people are ok there if they are pretty slim.

Room Tip: Ask about the bed size when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoshKoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the Geneva central train station so very well located for travel both to/from the airport by train, and to move about the city. The hotel is however situated just minutes from the city's "red light" district. So while there is a bit of a "seedy" look around some of the surrounding streets, I found the area safe to walk around at night. Hotel reception was friendly and very helpful . Standard rooms are pleasant, well maintained and clean, but small. Someone tall or overweight may feel uncomfortable in the bathroom as the bathroom and shower are both relatively small in space. Breakfast is llimited by very pleasant, fresh, and sufficient ... really wonderful baked goods in particular. In short, a good hotel and worthy of the positive reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 109 in Geneva
958 reviews
Hotel Royal
#31 of 109 in Geneva
884 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 109 in Geneva
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 109 in Geneva
1,352 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 109 in Geneva
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £90 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing