We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“What a nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived after a long trip. Tired and hungry. The moment we entered the reception of Hotel Kipling we relaxed due to the smell, the colours and a friendly face at reception willing to facilitate our first needs. The hotel is decorated in a modern, stylish way. The rooms are also nicely decorated but not huge Bed was quite hard. Bathrooms are very comfy. Breakfast is not included but good value with cereals, dried fruit, eggs to cook yourselves, scrambled egg/sausage, cheese and meat, different kind of bread, tomato/cucumber. However no fresh juice. WIFI was free and worked well. The hotel is located in a quite street in a more busy quarter. It’s a 8 minutes walk to the central train station and tram 15 (around the corner) brings you in 12 minutes to the UN buildings. The old town and the lake are also close by. We appreciated the location and the atmosphere in this place. Less appreciated was that the hotel was not aware –despite a clear mail exchange- about our pre-reserved parking places and that we found a sport shoe of some one else in our room (under the curtains). The latter was a bit strange…..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel Kipling. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your next stay in Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    482
    83
    16
    9
See reviews for
110
431
80
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Alps as we'd always wanted to look around Geneva. It's only 5 mins walk from the station and 10 mins to the lake (where you arrive at a really cool lakeside bar). It's beautifully decorated, the room was lovely, though on the narrow side and you wouldn't book it for the view, the staff helpful and the breakfast (paid in advance) was simply wonderful. Other reviewers compaining about the prices need to stop in London more often. And as for the red-light district it's worth noting that there are many hotels in this area and nobody bothered us. We'd have no hesitation staying again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groucho2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive impressions about your stay and we already look forward greeting you again in Geneva on your way to the Alps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a nice little hotel, well located within walking distance (about 10 minutes) to the lake and 1 minute to the tram stop. Check in was quick and very easy, everything well explained and a travel card for the duration of my stay was included at no cost. The room was elegant and clean. No view to mention and nothing special about the bed but the room was comfortable nonetheless. The price is reasonable and the location is convenient... can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: no rooms with a view. parking available behind the hotel free if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mancini_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for you nice feedback about our hotel Kipling, We are would be very happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It was a hotel which was exactly what it promised before I landed up there. The rooms were just right and were comfortable. The staff were helpful and professional. The location was perfect. It was close to the train station (about 7/8 minutes walk) and right infront of the tram station. Did try the buffet breakfast one of the days and it was quite a spread. If you enjoy having a nice, heavy breakfast its worth a try. Personally thought I could not do justice and hence avoided it during other days of my stay. Pls avoid the alleys which connect the hotel and goes towards the lake. My bag almost got snatched when I was sitting somewhere close to a school compound near the hotel. But honestly this should not deter you from staying at Kipling at its extremely good value for money and is very well located.

Room Tip: Stay away from the quieter alleys near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailtoritu205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for you very good comment about our hotel Kipling, We would be happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,534 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is literally quite colorful in warm shades of red and sand and black and white, and also the neighbourhood is indeed colorful. Stayed here with my daughter, she was fortunately not too shocked by the sight of the ladies in business on the streets in the evening. Had a great meal at an Indian restaurant very close by and also many other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Tram stop just 100 meters or so away will take you anywhere. Very practical room with all comforts. Really a four star quality hotel despite the three star rating. Breakfast was also very pleasant with a great buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel so much and would be happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Excellent hotel with clean modern rooms. Helpful staff, fantastic breakfast spread. Big bonus was the free travel pass for use on buses, trams, and water taxis anywhere in area 10. The Hotel will give you a map showing you all the routes available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David66102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your excellent comment. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel so much as well as the themed buffet breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Hotel Kipling is, as other reviewers have pointed out, is located in a colorful district of Geneva. However, being Geneva I dont believe this should put you off the hotel. I would, however, not select this hotel if I was traveling with my elderly Mother. The restaurants around the hotel represent just about every cusine around the world, which you dont find the 'center'. The center is a quick 15 minute walk. The room was very nicely decorated and very clean, and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We would be very happy to welcome you back in our hotel Kipling next time you are in Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
914 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
229 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#10 Family Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing