We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, but something about the location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel, but something about the location...”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Everything excellent as a typical urban 3 star hotel, with the room well equiped and much bigger than expected. Provides parking at pretty good price for downtown (30 CHF for overnight til next 16:00, in backyard).
The location, although very convenient for eating, shopping and commuting by train, but didn't know it's kind of nightspot and a area that african and indian immigrants gethers. My wife feels unsafty walking outside in eveningtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenghua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    474
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
422
78
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this hotel as a party of 7 adults. The hotel is very clean and the rooms (we all agreed) were very comfortable and well equipped for our stay. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but McCafe 2 minutes walk away had delicious freshly baked croissants and good coffee. The area is a little seedy, had not realised we were so close to it. But it in no way affected our stay. As expected everywhere was expensive. We took advantage of the 15% discount on the sister hotel Edelweiss on the Saturday night. It was typical Swiss cottage style with fondue food. With traditional Swiss entertainment. We had a great time. An advantage of Geneva is the free transportation card issued at the hotel. Use the boats, trams and buses to travel around the city and the train to the airport. Don't forget to pick up your free travel voucher in arrivals for your journey into the city centre.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scowler782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel offers good quality at a reasonable for price. Room and bathroom were clean, size reasonable and bed was comfy. Hotel is conveniently located near the train station and public transit (public transit pass provided by hotel). My husband was working and with directions from the front desk staff, I walked to the old town (bit of a walk - some people may prefer public transit) and took public transit to the UN & Red Cross as well as CERN. While the neighbourhood is not as grand as the waterfront area (closer to the old town), I felt safe and it was very easy to get around. In the evening we either ate at the old town and walked back to the hotel or found a good local restaurant near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slowcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked this hotel through our preferred online booking.com-pany 3 months before we were due to arrive in Geneva. We (foolishly, as it turned out) thought that by booking early, we would get a better price. Silly us -more later.

Even so, at the time of booking we were dismayed to find that a 3-star hotel, in what others have described as a "seedier" part of Geneva, could ask as much as A$200 per night for a standard room without breakfast. We were aware that most ordinary travelers (that is, those living without the benefits of huge salaries and expense accounts) have found Geneva to be an expensive place to stay. Now, having stayed there, we have to agree.

The hotel itself is about 10 minutes walk from Gare Cornavin along the Rue de Lausanne. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the car-park and overnight proved to be very quiet. It was a standard room with a king-size bed, and it was comfortably and pleasantly furnished with a small table and arm-chairs. Free Wi-Fi (54Mb/s) was part of the tariff, as was a small bar-fridge which offered grossly overpriced drinks and snacks. Tea and coffee were offered, but the choice was limited to a Nescafe powder and one type of tea-bag, with a miserable 3 milk sachets.

On the pillows were a welcoming small bar of Toblerone (nice) and we were pleased to see that the LCD TV had access to heaps of English channels from CNN, the BBC, and ITV.

The en-suite too was very good - tissues, illuminated make-up/shaving mirror, bath and shower. (But watch out for the handbasin hot water tap being "on" when rotated clockwise...) My wife was dismayed however to find no "apres-shampooing" (conditioner) was supplied - a major bummer for her!

As for the "seedy" location, all Saturday and Sunday the adjacent side-streets were full of flea-markets and local bands, which certainly offered a colourful atmosphere. As for us, we hung onto our wallets and purses...

However, the major disappointment for us came when we discovered that had we directly booked with the hotel only two weeks prior to our stay, we could have saved A$40 on the accommodation bill and even had breakfast included. So, fellow travelers, take heed: do NOT rely on just one online booking.com-pany, do check the actual hotel local websites.
Sometimes booking early does NOT get you the best rate!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car-park are quietest by night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I liked the hotel, modern and clean with a friendly front desk staff and they offered discount restaurant coupons at other nearby Manotel hotels, a nice touch. We also liked being within walking distance of the train station and lake front but the location itself is in a changing area which can be scary, especially at night. But we did not have any problems so overall the stay was good and the rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It is an easy 5 mins walk from the train station (once you get your bearings right). Other posters were right to say that this is not the most desirable location (we saw several dubious looking ladies a few streets behind, but the main road from the train station to the hotel was ok) however we didn't feel unsafe even though we arrived late at night.
Staff was friendly and helpful, room was well appointed, bed was comfortable and the toilet plush. Décor was nice, with small touches such as mini toblerone bars with in-room coffee facility. There's a Migros (supermarket) nearby to get supplies and plenty of kebab shops in the area. The tram also runs just a few steps from the hotel, which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a good hotel located near the Centre of town but not in a great area, however once you beyond this you will find lots of things nearby. The hotel though is great with very friendly staff and good rooms even though pretty small. I also had a balcony which was a nice touch, set up with table and sun loungers. Good breakfast too means well recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
886 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
203 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Address: 27 rue de la Navigation, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#9 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#9 Business Hotel in Geneva
#10 Family Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A journey of discovery. India, the Orient and beyond. With its furbishings inspired by exotic lands, the Hotel Kipling takes you to another world, a profusion of fragrances, colours and sensuality. Located in the city-center, close to the train station and the lake. You can discover several category of rooms and our complimentary services (business center, wifi). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A bar, a meeting room and a parking lot are available on site and the restaurant Le Duo, 16/20 at Gault&Millau at the hotel Royal is very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipling Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing