We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a Museum”
Review of Drake Longchamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drake Longchamp
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Should be a Museum”
Reviewed 11 June 2006

If you have any desire to see what a post-war English, Granparents' appartment looked like then this is the place! To say this place is tired is to make a person with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome look energetic. On a positive note, the place is clean, the beds are comfy and the staff are friendly. The breakfast, on the other hand, is none of these things, it is horrible. If you are a honeymoon couple, only come here if you want to see what married life without "relations" is like - there's nothing here to get you in the mood.......trust us, we were a honeymoon couple!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quatquatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    108
    117
    44
    25
See reviews for
47
59
30
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYNJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2006

Stayed for 2 days.
Read the reviews here and was very worried..
Well.. it was definitely not great and I definitely would not say I want to go back there. BUT it wasn't as bad as I expected. I guess lowering expectations before I went was a good thing. And their shower is very uncomfortable. Need to hold on to the shower head; there is no way to hang it up on the wall, at least in my room.
Their sheets seemed clean.
So it was fine for a short stay. Just would not recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

Stayed for 4 nights over easter, no problems with hotel, bedrooms fairly large, albeit bland decoration, with the bed being very comfy. Breakfast room was small and had to wait one morning for table 10 minutes (coach party) but breakfasts had a good choice. Staff at hotel were pleasant, albeit reception staff were not particularly helpful with advice, seemingly very little general knowledge. Hotel on edge of town but only 10-15 minute walk from station and tram service excellent to hotel. Plenty of good restaurants / bars in nearby back streets and main road to train station. Hotel very close to Lake Geneva and pleasant walk available along the lake to town. Hotel was reasonable price and stay was pleasant.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank commoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2005

This is a hotel that is in need of serious updating. The decor would be outdated in the 1970s. The shower was a hose with a shower nozzle to hold above your head. No lock on the bathroom door. Tiny lifts that seem to want to eat you alive. The only plus point is its relative nearness to the railway station so it is handy to get to. Though you would be better off never finding it and having to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

I would strongly advise against staying here if you visit Geneva and only wish I had listened more to some of the comments that I had read on this website.
While the room may have been spacious and there was a kitchenette the rooms looked as though they had not had a revamp since the 50's/60's. We can say this from experience as we initially stayed in one where the fridge simply stank. The receptionists did offer me another room as a result, but the bath had a crack in it so that was not an option. The room did appear to be clean, but the blankets on the bed were not as convincing.
If we are to return to Geneva again I will consider booking into one of the nearby Hostels before returning to the Hotel Drake/Longchamp as I know from experience that they are clean at least.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2005

I stayed at the Drake Longchamps for two nights in May 2005. The Drake Longchamps is an odd place in many ways--it appears to be a half-converted apartment hotel with miniscule kitchenettes. It is run-down, and the breakfast room is too small for the clientele it serves, even on a day that is not very busy. The staff iun the office was unable to give me clear directions to an internet cafe when I asked. On the positive side, it is on a quiet side street, about two blocks from the lake, close to the tram line, and about a twelve minute walk to the central train station. I would stay there again because it is reasonably priced, but I would do so without a speck of enthusiasm

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arlington_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2005

Left there today the 27th April 2005 and must say it was ok but should really be avoided.

The room was large but looked very basic and ordinary and after travelling around France and Italy for 3 weeks staying in 3 star places this definetely wasnt 3 star.

Most of the staff are ok but arent very helpful when it comes to tours or restraunts and one member of staff was perhaps the rudest person i have ever encountered in a hotel I nicknamed her "Madam Citron". She cleary hated speaking English.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussie_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
Hotel Les Nations
#52 of 105 in Geneva
95 reviews
Eden Hotel Geneva
#12 of 105 in Geneva
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Mon Repos Hotel
#31 of 105 in Geneva
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Longchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Longchamp

Property: Drake Longchamp
Address: rue Butini 7, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Longchamp 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the lake, international organisations and the United Nations, offers you modern and comfortable rooms, in the heart of Geneva. Our location is near the railway station and has been created to satisfy the needs and expectations of today’s travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Drake Longchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Longchamp Hotel Geneva
Drake Longchamp Geneva
Hotel Drake Longchamp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing