We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Drake Longchamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drake Longchamp
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
U.K
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Just back from the Drake Longchamp, stayed 2 nights, booked 2 rooms, one for us and one for friends that we had been staying with in the French Alps. I was very apprehensive after reading the other reviews, especially as it was a thank-you to our friends for our stay with them.
Room was very spacious, queen bed, duvet with white bedding, changed each day. 2 metres space around bed on all sides. Large bathroom, yes a hand held shower, but plenty of hot water-clean quality towels . Kichenette- handy for making a cup of tea and cooling the wine ( bring your own or go to the Manor supermarket - bottom floor / there is a restaurant there with a panoramic view of Geneva). TV , plenty of channels including English ones. Reception fine, a young girl being trained under the watchful eye of the more experienced. Breakfast included was good, cereals ,Fruit (tinned) yogurt, different breads, croissants, ham, cheese, scrambled egg ,fruit juices, tea. coffee etc and very attentive staff. Plates being removed as we finished with them and all the items were replenished before they emptied ( even 25 mins before breakfast closed) Breakfast room small , on the second day one family had to wait 5 mins.
No air con but fan in room and road quiet enough to leave window open all night. .Yes the bathroom and kitchenette need to be spruced up but for £59p.n. icl breakfast ( booked through Otel) it was a bargain by Geneva standards- car parking in garage about £11p.n- street parking virtually impossible. Next to the Epsom hotel, seen their prices?
10 min walk to get to water bus to get over to the other side of lake- the free travel card that all hotels have to give you is great-go to Carouge on the tram a great place to spend a few hours with lots of restaurants- lovely meal in Hotel Mount Blanc for about £7. Hotel 10 mins walk from train station and red light district. Geneva is small so with the free public transport nothing is far away. So if you are not looking for luxury and happy with a Travel Lodge I would say try here

  • Liked — Price, Location Size of bed and room
  • Disliked — Small breakfast room and small lift
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lelanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    108
    117
    44
    25
See reviews for
47
59
30
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

I thought this place was reasonable value, after expecting the worst from other reviews here. My room seemed to have been redecorated within the last couple of years and it was a reasonable size, everything was clean and the TV worked (and had a good selection of channels). Breakfast was just about OK, nothing better.

To be frank I've paid a lot more for far worse in the UK. I was looking for a inexpensive hotel and this fitted the bill nicely.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank juan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2006

Had booked this hotel before reading the reviews on tripadvisor and so was prepared for the worst! However, the hotel was not bad as I expected. The rooms were adequate and there was a fully equipped kitchenette that proved very useful (especially as my family and I have some specific dietary requirements). The hotel is located in a peaceful area and so had no problems there. It is a bit of a walk to the main area of Geneva (15-20 mins) but this was quite manageable. The breakfast was ok and staff were polite.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel did seem a bit tatty. The carpets looked thin and old and in need of replacement.

On the whole, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for budget accommodation and are not too fussy.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2006

this hotel is awful.The rooms were outdated! Staff were extremely rude! The food was terrible! And it was situated in the red light district! I would not advise this hotel to anyone. Do not go!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2006

If you have any desire to see what a post-war English, Granparents' appartment looked like then this is the place! To say this place is tired is to make a person with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome look energetic. On a positive note, the place is clean, the beds are comfy and the staff are friendly. The breakfast, on the other hand, is none of these things, it is horrible. If you are a honeymoon couple, only come here if you want to see what married life without "relations" is like - there's nothing here to get you in the mood.......trust us, we were a honeymoon couple!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quatquatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYNJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2006

Stayed for 2 days.
Read the reviews here and was very worried..
Well.. it was definitely not great and I definitely would not say I want to go back there. BUT it wasn't as bad as I expected. I guess lowering expectations before I went was a good thing. And their shower is very uncomfortable. Need to hold on to the shower head; there is no way to hang it up on the wall, at least in my room.
Their sheets seemed clean.
So it was fine for a short stay. Just would not recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

Stayed for 4 nights over easter, no problems with hotel, bedrooms fairly large, albeit bland decoration, with the bed being very comfy. Breakfast room was small and had to wait one morning for table 10 minutes (coach party) but breakfasts had a good choice. Staff at hotel were pleasant, albeit reception staff were not particularly helpful with advice, seemingly very little general knowledge. Hotel on edge of town but only 10-15 minute walk from station and tram service excellent to hotel. Plenty of good restaurants / bars in nearby back streets and main road to train station. Hotel very close to Lake Geneva and pleasant walk available along the lake to town. Hotel was reasonable price and stay was pleasant.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank commoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
Hotel Les Nations
#52 of 105 in Geneva
95 reviews
Eden Hotel Geneva
#12 of 105 in Geneva
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Mon Repos Hotel
#31 of 105 in Geneva
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Longchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Longchamp

Property: Drake Longchamp
Address: rue Butini 7, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Longchamp 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the lake, international organisations and the United Nations, offers you modern and comfortable rooms, in the heart of Geneva. Our location is near the railway station and has been created to satisfy the needs and expectations of today’s travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Drake Longchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Longchamp Hotel Geneva
Drake Longchamp Geneva
Hotel Drake Longchamp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing