We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #88 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I checked in to the hotel with my boss, who had booked the hotel and I have to compliment the check in & check out staff who were very helpful and very attentive. That's where the compliments end
I was on the 5th floor and when I opened the door was taken back to the 1940's with a room that reminded me of a cell. There was a stench of urine coming from the bathroom, the bed had 'grubby' covers on it and there was a desk in the corner.
I didn't want to get under the covers so slept fully clothed on top of them
It's the type of place students from the 80's & 90's would get when renting for the first time, so basic, no facilities and dirty.
I don't know how it was fully booked, especially as they charged me just over £100 for it, my boss got two beds so paid £140 for the privilige!!

Room Tip: Choose a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    51
    102
    58
    58
See reviews for
34
74
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We were put here when our hotel had a problem with the room we were to stay in. Staff are very polite and helpful, the hotel is perfect location for railway station (although most hotels are in this area). Room needed a lot of tlc, no mattress protector which was, in my opinion, unhygienic. Breakfast was adequate. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was ok for one night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneofsix_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

When I saw the lobby, I knew it wasn't the hotel that I saw on the pictures of bookit. website, but the reception girl was very friendly and I proceeded to the room. When I entered the room, the smell was horrible, there was no air conditioning and no ventilation either, the window was closed with metal blinds that didn't open and were very dirty. There were stains with blood on the walls from killed bugs (I hope). The beds were covered with dirty covers. The bathroom was disgusting. I would never take a shower there. My children were afraid to go to pee in it. I had to cancel my reservation even though I lost 100% deposit for one night and had to book another hotel for that night. If I couldn't book another hotel , I would rather sleep in a car with my children than in that hotel. It shoud have 0 stars.

Room Tip: get another hotel, you can get a decent hotel for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you need a place to put your head for the night for cheap, this is the place. I spent three nights there and was in the room only to sleep and shower. The sheets were clean and the mattress was comfortable. I was pleased with the sound proof windows. The rest of the place looked very worn. The breakfast was basic but adequate. The size of the breakfast room was too small for a packed hotel. I booked this hotel for the location and the price. It was exactly what I expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler19801053705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was basic, no air con and very tired looking, most of the furnishings were worn and the lift is tiny, dont take large cases unless your prepared to carry them up a steep circular staircase.
Reception was friendly, you get a local travel pass for the ferry, trains buses etc.
We stopped bed and breakfast, the woman at breakfast was miserable and didnt give eye contact, the dining room was small, so we ended up eating in the internet room, wifi is available throughout the hotel. The food was plain.
The hotel will watch your bags in a secure room all day if need be and it is central, 5 minutes walk from the main station.
I would spend a bit more and upgrade if I needed to stop over again, it was OK, but like a barrack block room. The rooms were noisy at night.

Room Tip: Consider somewhere else unless its for a very brief stop near the central station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel located in the city center, not far from the famous bridge. So, location is great, u can get all main attractions and the station easily. The rooms are very small and not so new. Breakfast is poor. Cleas hotel, good for only bed. Overall its normal hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFGBaku_Azerbaijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We got bumped to this hotel when our original hotel messed up our reservation. Upon entering the room the first impression was bad. Bed were flat and saggy, carpet stained, just old old old. But, the redeeming factor that kept us from running away was upon close inspection the room did appear to be cleaned well. Noisy area right on a main traffic corner and thin windows. At least the traffic died down later in the evening. Breakfast was included and was basic but fine. I'd only really recommend this hotel if you really needed to be close to the train station which was just 2 short blks away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipitedoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#61 of 105 in Geneva
167 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#75 of 105 in Geneva
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#45 of 105 in Geneva
108 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#55 of 105 in Geneva
274 reviews
Excelsior
#56 of 105 in Geneva
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: rue de Berne 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build in the mid-fifties, Hotel Moderne is enjoying a great location in the heart of City, at only walking distance from the Geneva's Cornavin Train Station and the Lake. Hotel Moderne is offering to its Guest conveninet non-smoking rooms, all fitted with Free WIFI Internet. Rooms available range from Single to Quadruple (for up to 4 persons, perfect for families with children or small groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing