We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This is an average budget hotel. I have stayed here now on at least 3 occasions in the last couple of years. Basic bed and a desk with a free wifi in room and breakfast to go. In summers it gets too warm and if you open the windows it's just too noisy. Staff are generally very friendly. It's a 5 min walk from the train station.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harish_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    50
    98
    56
    57
See reviews for
34
73
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Two thing I like about this hotel is the location, which is only a few steps from the main train station, and the staff at the front desk. But the rooms are terrible. Im not choosy on hotels, but i would rather stay at a different hotel. Would not recommend this hotel to my friends or family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotel states that they have noise proof windows but this is far from the truth. The streets get quiet from 1am - 6am but if not during those times, there is lots of noise and the windows do nothing to stop it. The showers were small and the room was dark and run down. The rooms included breakfast but it ended at 10am and had hardly any selection. The location is excellent and 5 mins from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This must be the budget option right in the middle of Geneva. The staff was very friendly and the location is good, but that's all it has. The rooms and halls were a bit dumpy. This place needs a serious make-over fast. The bathrooms were tiny. The breakfast was ok. Overall, the place was the worst I stayed in while traveling in Switzerland, although it was just barely passable as a hotel. I booked here because i was arriving late to Geneva and was alone so i didn't have very many options. Try to find a better place for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel I've visited in my life.
The staff was very nice and the location was great but...
1. It really wasn't cheap in price, and this is considered a low cost hotel.
2. No Air, the smell in the room was awful - a strong cleaning material odor.
3. Plenty of noise - from the outside busy street and from people in close rooms.
I had to struggle between opening the window to have air and
closing the window to keep the noise down.
4. Good night sleep?! forget about it...
5. I can't say something about breakfast, I skipped it...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuri e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I checked in to the hotel with my boss, who had booked the hotel and I have to compliment the check in & check out staff who were very helpful and very attentive. That's where the compliments end
I was on the 5th floor and when I opened the door was taken back to the 1940's with a room that reminded me of a cell. There was a stench of urine coming from the bathroom, the bed had 'grubby' covers on it and there was a desk in the corner.
I didn't want to get under the covers so slept fully clothed on top of them
It's the type of place students from the 80's & 90's would get when renting for the first time, so basic, no facilities and dirty.
I don't know how it was fully booked, especially as they charged me just over £100 for it, my boss got two beds so paid £140 for the privilige!!

Room Tip: Choose a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We were put here when our hotel had a problem with the room we were to stay in. Staff are very polite and helpful, the hotel is perfect location for railway station (although most hotels are in this area). Room needed a lot of tlc, no mattress protector which was, in my opinion, unhygienic. Breakfast was adequate. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was ok for one night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneofsix_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#79 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#63 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Excelsior
#61 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#50 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Hotel Windsor
#81 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: rue de Berne 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build in the mid-fifties, Hotel Moderne is enjoying a great location in the heart of City, at only walking distance from the Geneva's Cornavin Train Station and the Lake. Hotel Moderne is offering to its Guest conveninet non-smoking rooms, all fitted with Free WIFI Internet. Rooms available range from Single to Quadruple (for up to 4 persons, perfect for families with children or small groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing