We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great location”
Review of Hotel Moderne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Moderne
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place with great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Geneva the second day. Very comfortable hotel. Right beside the centrale, and it is very near to train station. Macdonalds is right beside. Lake geneva is 5 mins walk down. Beautiful place with great hotel right in the heart of city. Good service, and very polite customer services.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    51
    105
    59
    59
See reviews for
35
74
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Its located close to train station . The lake is nearby. Staff was friendly. They gave us a map and happily gave guidance about what and how to visit. Rooms are comfortable. Its a good choice for those on a budget. Finally, breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The bill is to high for the confort of this hotel.
Wall are to thin and listening to rooms close to me is not the best way to sleep well.
breakfeast and service kindess is very good but the hotel is too old... not modern :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Moderne for one night this week, before I had a flight home. It was pretty easy to find, and my room was ready when I got there. I had a single en suite room on the 6th floor, facing an inner square or courtyard. The elevator was so small, I could barely turn around while wearing my backpack, and the lift was ancient. My room was at the end of a long, narrow hallway which was pitch black even in the middle of the day, but had motion sensor lights. I noticed water closets and shower rooms in the hallway. I didn't know if was partially a hostel.

My room had a small bathroom with shower, sink, and toilet, and a single twin bed, desk, and TV. The room had laminate wood floors and must have been recently painted, because the room reeked of paint. So bad, that I had to keep the windows open to air it out. The room was clean but spartan and depressing. I borrowed a hair dryer that night from reception, and after 5 minutes of use, the power went out on my floor!! I was left in pitch black, and had to make my way down to reception to get help. Luckily I had my cell phone to provide some light, but it was pretty scary as a solo female traveler to be stuck in the darkness. It took 20 min for someone to come fix the power, and it was fine after that.

At the stroke of a 8am the next morning, construction began in the inner square/courtyard. This involved jackhammers and lots of noise and yelling. I realize the hotel has no control over this, but it would have been nice to know at check in so I could negotiate a room away from the construction.

Breakfast was a grim affair, and I ate and checked out as quickly as possible. You definitely get what you paid for, and I wanted something affordable, but not a place as depressing as this.

Room Tip: Ask if construction is still going on behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

So, the good news is that this hotel is a short walk from the train station (use the underground tunnel to get past the trolleys and buses to the pedestrian mall. Go to the first street w/traffic, and make a right. It is reasonably quiet after 10 PM when the traffic subsides, but unless you are on the pedestrian mall side, towards the train station, this can be a bit noisy. Reception staff is friendly and helpful, and asking for an iron/board or water kettle is instantly addressed. Ask for a tea cup? The receptionist have no clue, but often the breakfast area is unlocked on the first floor where a cup can be borrowed. Re: the breakfast area, it's uninspired but functional. Basic continental breakfast that was included in the room price, unlike many other nearby hotels. The sole breakfast attendant, one per day, did the job somewhat listlessly. Sunday, she was clearly ready to lock up at the stroke of 10, and stopped refilling items in the last 15 mins or so. At 6 AM, the selections of bread and bakery items are abundant and interesting; by 9:30, it was often little more than croissants and sliced baguettes. Coffee and tea came from large insulated pots. Not piping hot by mid-morning, but, again, OK. The room itself? A bit smaller and faded compared w/other Geneva hotels I've used, but the room w/breakfast was LOTS less expensive than others I've used. Out the door to the left, across the mall, is a strip of restaurants and small stores, and there are plenty nearby to pick from. Auberge de Savièse, i think, was nice for fondu, and was only 4 blocks away. The lake was 4 blocks or so, too. Would I go back? Yep, but I'll ask for a quiet room!

Room Tip: Avoid the two streets if at all possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel just for the night with our 4yr old daughter before flying back home the next day. The location is absolutely excellent being less than 5 mins walking distance from the train station in the centre of Geneva (easy to find) and the lake front, with a short walk across the pont du mont-blanc which takes you to the old town and cathedral and other attractions. The last thing we wanted was to have to drag our luggage across town. Secondly the staff (especially on reception) were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. On arrival we were given a pass that entitled us to free travel on all public transport within the city including to the airport which was a bonus. The room was small and basic but clean and warm. The view was rooftops, there was some noise from outside but this is to be expected from the city centre. Bathroom was very small but the shower ran a decent power shower with plenty of hot water. A complementary soap shower gel was available. Small basic Tv in the room but who needs that in Geneva. Beakfast served in a room that reminded me of a scenario similar to that of an episode of Faulty Towers, but all the basics present and lots of lovely croissants.

Checkout was quick and straight forward, so all in all for a stay bang in the middle of Geneva what you are paying for is a safe clean warm but basic room in a location that couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#75 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#76 of 105 in Geneva
465 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#61 of 105 in Geneva
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#68 of 105 in Geneva
520 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#58 of 105 in Geneva
276 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 105 in Geneva
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderne

Property: Hotel Moderne
Address: rue de Berne 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderne 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build in the mid-fifties, Hotel Moderne is enjoying a great location in the heart of City, at only walking distance from the Geneva's Cornavin Train Station and the Lake. Hotel Moderne is offering to its Guest conveninet non-smoking rooms, all fitted with Free WIFI Internet. Rooms available range from Single to Quadruple (for up to 4 persons, perfect for families with children or small groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing