We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good mark for value, practical, no-nonsense place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comedie

Comedie
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comedie
Ranked #89 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“good mark for value, practical, no-nonsense place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I fully agree with the reviewer from Michigan who says it is no frills ( bare bone, he/she says), but great staff. Breakfast was correct, but not a full hot breakfast. Since it is a self-serve breakfast, and quantities are not limited, it fulfilled my need pretty well. The products that are there are very good quality ( bread, cereals, cheese, cold meats, yogurts, fruit juice, coffee). Furniture was minimal in my room, but functional. Bathroom worked well. Location is very good, which is a major point that would make me go back: downtown and many attractions are accessible by foot. Excellent access to public transportation, and staff give you a ticket for any tram or bus, good for the length of your stay. The advantage of location was not obvious to me the first day, but I came to realise it after a few days ( I stayed 4 days). I did not encounter problems with noise. I would go back. About the price, ... well ... Geneva is expansive. After seeing the price of the other places, I think this is reasonnable, for Geneva.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
3
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

i spend 2 days in this hotel it was very comfortable i like the breakfast you open the fridge and take what you wish like home very friendly personnel i loved it

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaddakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Hotels in Geneva are very expensive, but for a conference at the University, I was told to try the Comedie. It's a bare=bones place, elevator holds three thin people, front desk is a do-it-yourself job, the rooms are sparsely furnished and they only serve a limited breakfast, but what a staff. They can't do enough for the guests. Even printed out my airline tickets. A trolley line runs right outside and there is no shortage of restaurants nearby. If you're in Geneva for the surroundings and don't require a $500/night place, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisier but have a vew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotels in Geneva are outrageously expensive and when I tried to look for a place to stay after a short notice work trip it appeared they were all fully booked. After dozens of phone calls I managed to find a room at Hotel Comedie. It is obviously not a luxury hotel accommodation but the room was wide, with a big bathroom and extremely clean and tidy. The hotel is very quiet and in a very good location in Geneva city centre. The manager was very attentive and managed to get me the room for one more night despite the city was fully booked. The staff were kind and I would definitely consider to book there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FFossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
381 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Hotel is steps away of public transportation, large garden and a lot of restaurants and shoppings. In 10 minutes you are easily in the Main Station Cornavin. The rooms are large and the staff are great. One fel like all you see in european style hotels that appears in movies. It is not an american style hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
360 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Hotels in Geneva are very expensive. So if you are looking for a no-nonsense place in a central location this could be the one. Rooms are rather basic but spacious and clean. There is a table to work, wifi, bad light, no airco. You have to check-in before 9.30 p.m. otherwise you will find the door closed. Friendly staff, breakfast OK.
Excellent location if you have to be at the university medical centre. You get a free public transportation ticket from the hotel for the days of your stay. The tram stop is very close by and you can get to the airport with the free ticket as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Small room, no air conditioning and when you open the window you fill it with insects including mosquitoes. Horrible. Breakfast pretty miserable too. Checked out early. Worst place I ever stayed in in Switzerland. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairreview74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Adriatica
#63 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Hotel LePrince
#71 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Hotel Carmen
#66 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atel - Calvy
#80 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comedie

Property: Comedie
Address: rue de Carouge 12, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comedie 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Comedie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comedie Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing