We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't even bring myself to stay here...”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 9 July 2005

This hotel was horrible. Having just returned to Geneva from vacationing around Switzerland I had to spend the night near the airport for an early flight out. After taking the train back to the airport I visited the Tourist and Hotel Information desk inside the airport. The woman at the counter set my fiance and I up with a room at the Hotel Phoenix for the night. She told us the rate was CHF $140 for the night including airport transfers and a breakfast. We waited for the gentelman from the hotel to pick us up at the airport. The Hotel is part of an office building and is on a busy street. He showed us to our room which was small and extremely stuffy. The air in the room was so stale and there was a sign on the air conditioning unit that it was out of order. When my fiance returned to the room and realized there was no airconditioning and there was no way we would get any sleep with the windows open onto a busy city street we questioned the gentleman if there was another room with air conditioning we could switch to. He informed us that the entire air conditioning unit was out of order and that he did not intend to repair it. We wanted to leave but he demanded money of us for the ride from the airport to his hotel. The lady at the tourist desk in the airport made us pay her CHF $6 which we thought was part of the amount for the room but in retrospect it appears to us that desk is affiliated with a travel agency and that was part of her commission. Within walking distance from the Hotel Phoenix we found a beautiful, well-equipped, air-conditioned, clean, modern room at the Ramada Park Hotel. This room was CHF $145 but did not include breakfast. There must be some kick-back between the tourist desk and the Hotel Phoenix because anyone in their right mind would have put us at the Ramada and would have never mentioned the Phoenix. I would strongly recommend finding accomodations beside the Hotel Phoenix, I am not sure what the rates are directly through the Hotel but from my experience the Ramada is far superior and just a few CHF more.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennybear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2005

The hotel was cold after midnight (in April). I told the management and he said the heating was working. I checked the heating several times after midnight, it was cold.
I asked for an extra blanket, he said they don't have any extra blanket.
Sheets had blood stain on them.
When you talk to them, they don't even look at your face because they are very busy playing computer games.
There was a disagreement on the bill, I was talking to him about the bill and the manager suddenly got angry, yelled at us, and moreover threatened to charge more!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hakan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
17
Reviewed 9 April 2005

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Bathroom filthy- see photos. We had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs to get to reception and then had to carry them up more stairs to get to our room
One bed had no pillows
Room was sweltering and air-conditioning was broken. Had to open the window but then noise from street meant we got no sleep at all.
We had an early check out to catch a flight and had to wait ten minutes at reception for the night porter to come back from buying his bread across the road!
Worst of all, we were booked in by the hotel information desk at Geneva airport - what kind of messag are they sending to tourists travelling to Switzerland if this is the standard of hotel they recommend???

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed 21 January 2005

Nothing disappointed us in this hotel. The staff is efficient and really nice. They even give you a lift from and to the airport for free!!

The room was really big and perfectly clean and warm with all the facilities you want to find after a long day.
The same for the bathroom.

Finally the breakfast offers a big choice and is served in a nice and clean space.

3 stars hotel in London don't stand the comparison!
We will definitely recommend the Phoenix to my friends.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Rémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mramelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Valentina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
997 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
111 reviews
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 4 in Le Grand Saconnex
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,324 reviews
Lake Geneva Hotel
#1 of 2 in Versoix
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: 79 Avenue Louis-Casai, Geneva 2116, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing