We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was so handy to everything”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Book early for best price. Great facility and location for Band B. So convenient to the trams and the train station. I also love the Geneva transport ticket that comes with the hotel. Every city should have that for visitors.
Great continental breakfast and Nespresso coffee. Would have liked a tea / coffee facility in our room for evening but the bar facility inhouse supplied that.
We had a twin room and slept well in quiet street.

More than adequate in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Ruby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Toilet/washroom is very very small. It is not worthy to define as washroom!!!!. Free internet service is also not great. They don't provide even kettle to boil the water. Forget about coffee maker/microwave.

But it is very close to railway station. Service in reception is good.

Room Tip: Don't go with family. Surrounding is not good at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welcome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

For a 3 star hotel I think this was definitely worth the money. I walked everywhere throughout my entire stay. The hotel provided me with a bus pass for the city but I didn't end up using it. Breakfast was included with my room rate but I wasn't up early enough to make it so I'm not sure how it is. It's obvious this hotel was recently renovated because considering the location, it is quite nice.
The only downside would be that it is in the red light district so there are quite a bit of hookers (and groups of men) standing outside. But I would walk in and out alone at all times of day and night and no one bothered me.
The only thing with the rooms is that the blow dryer in the bathroom is quite old and mine didn't work properly, but the hotel had a spear top of the line one that I used during my stay.
If you're on a budget I say it's worth what you are spending considering the other 3star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AssiaMoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This hotel is in a side-street near the main railway station. It takes only about 5 minutes to walk from the station to the hotel, which is a little tricky to spot because it blends into the street. The area is fine; it is near a station and there are some 'gentlemens clubs' in the area, but we never felt unsafe. The area has lots of places to eat, including some great Indians, and there are several supermarkets nearby including a Co-op, Migros and Lidl on the Rue de Lausanne (much cheaper than those in the station). As usual the supermarket in the station is expensive as are some of the eateries in the area.
The hotel is good, has free Wifi, but only one English language TV station (CNBC - a somewhat odd choice maybe!) The rooms are nice and modern; no fridge or kettle though. The buffet breakfast is ok but not the greatest in terms of choice. The lifts are very small, if you are claustrophobic you might need to take the stairs (essentially room for one person and a suitcase, or two people). There is a sauna and a fitness centre but we didn't use or see them.
Geneva is a very expensive city, but this hotel is fine. You get a free ticket for the train at the airport (there is a machine in the baggage collection area), and the hotel will give you a free transport ticket that covers the time at the hotel and transfer back to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edpurs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hotel Windsor, located on Rue De Berne, is convenient for those traveling via the rail network or flying in and out fo Geneva. The Hotel is walking distance from Geneve-Cornavin train station. My wife and I walked this distance with four pieces of luggage without much of a problem. The specific area of the Rive Droite the hotel is situated is a little intimidating, but mostly harmless. It seems that the hotel is Middle Eastern / North African enclave of the city and one that has some prositutes hanging around outside. The people hanging outside of the shops/cafes and the women on the street do not bother even the most obvious of tourists.
The hotel itself has a above average breakfast buffet that was included in the rate. The reception staff was helpful and suggested a very nice (and affordable) place to eat nearbvy the hotel. If you are looking for a delicious and affordable fusion of Swiss/French/Italian go to Au Petit Chalet (just a few meters up the road on Rue De Berne).
The beds were the most uncomfartable of our entire trip. Our room and bathroom were unimpressively small, but it seems that it was consistent with the rate we were paying compared to other hotels. For American travelers, be prepared for the small European showers which do not have mounted shower heads (think of washing yourself off with a garden hose).

Room Tip: Request a room on the Rue De Neuchatel (back) side of the hotel. You can request a higher floor, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

OK - so this is what happens when you let somebody else make your reservations, you end up in a 3 star hotel in the red light district of Geneva.

The hotel is a narrow 6 story building with about 7 miniscule rooms per floor.
The rooms are in good condition, clean albeit taking minimalism to a whole new level. T

The rooms are equipped with the ubiquitous tiny Swiss beds found in many other hotels here; add an uncomfortable mattress and a miniscule bathroom and you have the Windsor in a nutshell.
The bathroom merits some discussion: it gives a whole new meaning to compact - it's about half the size of a cruise ship bathroom. The shower is so small that every time I moved my arms I hit the valve behind me and turned off the water. In front of the shower was the sink - so not a whole lot of space. I can only imagine if I was 6ft tall and 300lbs - they would have to use a crowbar to pry me out.

The TV consists of a 15 inch flat screen that is on the wall about 8 ft away from where your head lies on the pillow - it takes TV viewing to a whole new level. They really ought to provide you with a pair of opera glasses so that you can see something.

The room is probably not designed for the traveler that wants to stay in his room, so this is where location comes in handy. Take a stroll around the block and you have a more colorful entertainment than you would watching TV.

To sum it up: The hotel is clean but very tiny and if you are on a budget its manageable as long as you don't mind a bathroom the size of a telephone booth and a location that isn't suitable for children.

Budget permitting I would suggest to pay an extra CHF50 and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is nicely furnished and convenient for the train station HOWEVER as other reviewers have noted it is in the middle of the red light district. If you are unfortunate enough to get a room facing Rue de Berne, then take good ear plugs! Things start to get noisy around 11pm and continue until 4am on a weeknight and 6am on a weekend with drunks shouting in the street, police sirens and noisy prostitutes touting for customers. This is not the place to stay if you are on a business trip or need to be awake and alert during the day.

The staff seem professional if you don't speak French and can't understand what they are saying about the guests. If you do speak French (I do but did not let on) then you are likely to form a different opinion. On our final day, one of the receptionists 'kindly' offered to send my postcards but when I walked past the desk 5 minutes later, she and the kitchen staff were sitting about in reception reading them out aloud to one another and passing derogatory comments! They seemed quite shocked when I asked for the cards back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face Rue de Berne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#41 of 106 in Geneva
119 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#77 of 106 in Geneva
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#84 of 106 in Geneva
104 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#53 of 106 in Geneva
282 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: rue de Berne 31, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 64 rooms, contemporary style, fully air conditioned and renovated in 2010.Located in downtown, Geneva right bank, 300 m. from the railway station or bus station "Cornavin" and 500 m. from Lake Geneva, the Hôtel Windsor is a superior hotel. It offers quiet rooms overlooking a courtyard, 8 superior rooms as well as communicating rooms for 3 people.Property ideal for business travelers or convention, which will find them with a complimentary meeting room, a fitness room and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing