We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Apparently the renovation did wonders for this hotel. It's really nice inside with a huge lobby with numerous options for drinking and eating and really cozy fireplaces. Rooms are large and well maintained. Bathrooms a bit small, but didn't spend much time in there anyway. The only drawbacks to the hotel are the location and the price. The location is fine if you are not planning on leaving the hotel but if you are the type that likes to explore your neighborhood, there are not restaurants, shops or bars nearby. It's Geneva, so the public transportation is excellent, but sometimes you just want to walk next door and get a pint that not $25. That bring me to price. It's crazy expensive. Two juices and a tea were $70. I didn't even try to eat. Since there is nothing nearby, you are kind of stuck paying the high prices.

In conclusion, great business hotel, especially if you are not paying and plan to just stay in the hotel and not explore.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We highly appreciate good comments such as yours and you may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

For your information, we are indeed not located in the city centre but a travel pass is offered to each guest so that they can explore Geneva with Geneva Public Transports, this free of charge. The bus n°5 stops just in front of the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to go downtown or to the airport.
You have also some good restaurants in the neighbourhood, at a reasonable walking distance. Our concierge team would have been delighted to give you more details.

If we may, we would like also to clarify the point you raised regarding F&B prices: two juices and a tea actually cost around CHF 35.--, USD 70.-- is the tariff we charge for breakfast.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon, should your plans bring you back to Geneva, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    252
    97
    32
    19
See reviews for
97
139
60
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

this hotel far superseded my expectations. The room was great, spacious and everything one could want in an up market hotel, The staff were excellent and I would certainly return here. The only downside is for me it's location, although close to the airport and the UN

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you spent a pleasant and comfortable stay at the hotel and that service exceeded your expectations. Very good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. It goes without saying that they have been forwarded to all the team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Genève in a not too distant future, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ok luxury hotel, not close to city centre but you get a bus ticket for free.
Rooms old but large enough for 2 adults and two kids.
Breakfast very good.
Price very competitive for 5 stars in Geneva.
Good choice if you are on business and don't expect to much from your 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmbassyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel last November. Good comments such as yours as quite important and useful for us, so you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

For your information, our guestrooms have been recently refurbished by the famous New-Yorker designer Tony Chi.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel in January for 3 nights. Even though the location is not the best in town, it is still about 15' walking distance from the center. There is also a bus stop right outside the entrance. The hotel has a great vibe! Nice decor and very friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and decorated in style. Breakfast buffet has pretty much anything you might ask for. It can get very busy though between 7-8:30, so try to avoid this time (I had to wait for about 10' to be seated...). Fairly priced as well. I will be going back! Interconti is always a safe bet!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skysurferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are most delighted to hear that you spent a comfortable 3-night stay last January. Good comments such as yours are most important for us and you may be rest assured they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Good if you want to stay close to the AirPort but far from everything else. There is nothing around the hotel, no restaurants, no shops. The staff is nice and friendly.The bathroom is very, very small and could use a renovation. Otherwise a good enough hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Furthermore, we are indeed not located in the city centre but, for your information, a travel pass is offered to each guest so that they can explore Geneva with Geneva Public Transports, this free of charge. The bus n°5 stops just in front of the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to go downtown or to the airport.
You have also some few very good restaurants in the neighbourhood, at a reasonable walking distance. Our concierge team would have been delighted to give you more details.

Should your plans bring you back to Geneva, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you to the hotel again.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was having a meeting at this hotel and therefore stayed 2 nights. It was a perfect venue for a meeting not only from an accessibility (10 mins from Airport) but also from a service and product. The staff gave us all the best welcome and continued to impress with their friendly, attentive and professional service throughout our meeting & stay. The food was delightful and superbly presented. The concierge were fabulous and suggested we venture to the old town to a typically swiss bistro where we sampled the fondue delights!. The bar is well thought through with cocktails presented in glass containers that could be a table talking point! The meeting facilities are exeptional with loads of Natural daylight so suitable for many events. So from the rooms, the staff, the facilities, the food, accessibility this hotel is a perfect venue!

Room Tip: Overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Debbie R.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We highly appreciate your positive feedback, which has been of course forwarded to all persons concerned, and we are most delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel on the occasion of your meeting last January. Guest satisfaction being our priority, you may be rest assured that our team will always be dedicated to improve the quality of service offered to all our guests.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very welcoming, professional staff.
Very good food.
Beautifully refurbished public areas, very inviting to spend time in - burning open fire.
Meeting areas/ballroom decorated with exquisite Christofle glass panels!
Free Nespresso in bedroom - a treat
Easy bus transfer from airport - around 10 minutes only

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allbeautifultrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

How nice it is to read your very positive feedback! My team and I were of course delighted to host you during your visit in Geneva last January and, guest satisfaction being our priority, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed it.

Should your plans bring you back to Switzerland soon, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you on another occasion.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 105 in Geneva
727 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
636 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 105 in Geneva
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Property: Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing