We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is situated a short walk from United Nations and the CICG (conference center), a great place to stay if you are in Geneva on Business. From the Airport take a 80 min free ticket and you can take the bus number 5 and Intercontinental has its own stop. The frequency is approximately 8-15 minutes. If you arrive by train, get off at Cornavin Station and look for bus stop for number 5 in the direction of the Airport, the ride is about 13-15 mins.

The ambience of the hotel is like any other business hotel but some interesting displays, I loved the world map all done in wood. The rooms are decent size, exceptionally clean and have all the comforts and the bathroom is equipped with everything and wonderful toiletries. Though the place near the toilet is really small. The breakfast is sumptuous and the spread is huge with many hot choices, many types of bread, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit juices and the works. I did not eat a meal here since I was away most of the time so I cannot comment on the other meals.

Overall for business it is a wonderful stay, for tourism I would prefer to stay near the lake since this place though accessible is a little away from the other places you would like to visit. Geneva Hotels give a travel card that allows you take public transport so it is not a problem. For the price tag of intercontinental, you will get a nice Geneva Lake View or a hotel in the old city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaySingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel décor and services, especially breakfast at Woods. Good comments such as yours are most important for us, you may rest assured they have been duly forwarded to all team members concerned.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon, for business or leisure.

Best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    245
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
94
133
58
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is definitly very well equiped hotel for Geneva.
Very convenient for United Nations deligations and minutes walking distance to the UN.
And 5minute taxi to the Lakeside and luxury shoping 'Route du Rhone'.
Located next to a very nice area of Geneva, with a few minutes walk to 'village' atmosphere of Grand Sacconex and nice resturants. Parks within minute to just relax and breath in the fresh swiss air. Quiet, calm, safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr. Jordan,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. Very positive comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Let me start with the worst point. The rooms and room decor are basic but functional.

On to the rest...

The service is excellence.
The public areas, bars and restaurant are stunning.
The little extras you get such as bar nibbles and chocolates are wonderful.

We stayed for 2 nights and left very happy. OK it's expensive, everything is expensive but it's still a great expereince all round.

The location is great 200m to the United Nations, 5 mins on the local bus to Geneva Town Centre (speak to Reception they will give you a bus ticket for the duration of your stay).

Our room also had a great view of Geneva and Lake Geneva

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month and that hotel guestrooms and services were up to your expectations.
Such good remarks are highly important for us and have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Genève for business or leisure, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Aquila, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent 1 night in this hotel during a business trip. Located near the NU palace the hotel provides a free bus ticket to visit the city center that you can reach in 10 minutes. Services and rooms are in line with the hotel category. Really outstanding the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enrico c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are quite important for us and have been of course forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, for business or leisure, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is conveniently located.
Staff are polite, friendly and helpful.
Business and conference facilities are very good.
The breakfast buffet is very nice and the room service menu also provides a lot of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view otherwise you may end up with a room overlooking the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities met your expectations. You may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to all the team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
812 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Intercontinental is a high rise building just north of the <Nations> transport hub, so very easily reached by bus (The 5 stops outside the hotel; the 8 passes Nations) or tram from the railway station Cornavin. The 5 also serves the airport so is very convenient for public transport whether you arrive by train or plane. The hotel issues the free public transport card for use during your stay.

Because of my Ambassador frequent guest card, I got a weekend break with a free second night, so total cost was SFR 360 (about GBP 240). I had room 602 which was a very spacious small suite. Very comfortable double bed, armchairs, nespresso machine, ironing board, electronivcally controlled metal window blinds. Bathroom was on small side, with a shower only over the bath tub. Good range of toiletries.

Pool outside was closed for winter.

Lots of apparently rich guests staying. Popular with wealthy delegates attending UN meetings

I did not eat in the hotel and needed to go into town for other restaurants.

Service was friendly and bilingual.

Hotel is a little isolated - notwithstanding the bus links - so stay here only if you are content not to have shops and restaurants on your doorstep. If you want more <life> take a hotel nearer the Lake. Rotary is a favourite of mine.

Room Tip: The higher rooms give some nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mr. Reynolds,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that décor and services were up to your expectations. Very good comments such as yours as quite important and useful for us, you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to enjoy our swimming pool, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Checked in on crutches, staff couldn't do enough for us, very helpful.

room was large & clean with a nice touch of champagne & cake left in the room (birthday trip).

easy to get into town using free travel card and bus service was efficient.

recrption lady was great and answered all our questions & where was open on a sun (not much).

Really likec everything and will be sure to stay here again.

thanks intercontinental

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal_UKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you spent a very pleasant stay at the hotel on the occasion of your birthday trip. Since guest comfort is our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients. So very positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may be rest assured they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
#11 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Property: Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing