We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two kids (aged 6 and 3) and we loved the hotel. I am trying to think if we identified a single fault and perhaps the only thing was the price (close to USD900) per night. If you can get past that this hotel is worth staying at and we will be back. The staff were exceptionally welcoming, the room was spotless and each day we received complimentary pastries and a basket of fresh fruit. Make sure you ask reception for the free bus pass into town. The breakfast buffet in the morning is something special and shouldn't be missed.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the hotel décor, our outlets and facilities but also the service offered by our staff.

Guest comfort being our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients. So positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may be rest assured they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Please definitely consider the InterContinental Genève as your home away from home. We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for Hotel InterContinental Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful hotel! Excellent location - free bus passes and bus stop on the doorstep - views of Lake Geneva and the water jet. Beautiful, spotless, spacious suite with plenty of room even after the addition of two roll out beds for the children. Some noise from the road outside although only the loudest of motorbikes/fire engines bothered us on the 9th floor. Thoughtful touches like welcoming chocolates, bowls of fresh fruit and daily gifts of sweet baked treats delighted us all. Fantastic buffet breakfast (Ohh the pastries...!). Nice outdoor area and swimming pool - large enough for adults to swim lengths or to take a cooling dip - much too deep and wide for our three year old swimmer to enjoy without an adult beside him but enjoyed by our children nonetheless. The staff were exceptionally pleasant, spoke faultless English and the service they offered went above and beyond the average 5* expectations. Good room service if rather pricey. The stay as a whole was rather expensive but we felt that this was justified by the hotel's excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel décor and services. Warm comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

We can assure you that you will be always most welcome to the InterContinental Genève on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Looking forward to that pleasure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is situated half way up a hill about a 20 minute down hill walk to the town. The hotel has its own bus stop right outside (Route 5) which connects the airport with the hotel then onto the main station and then on into the old town - very convenient, very frequent and FREE with a pass given to us by the hotel for the duration of our stay. Our room was superb and being a corner room we had superb views of both the lake one side and the mountains on the other. The room was huge and the bathroom very good with every amenity you could possibly wish for. We had breakfast on one morning which again was unbeatable - except for the price - but if you get it as part of a package it would be ok. All the staff are extremely helpful and we would definitely come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that décor and services were up to your expectations. Very good comments such as yours as quite important and useful for us, you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the beginning to the end my stay was amazing. The location was perfect for my work. The room was wide and very light. I had a direct view on the LAC Léman. Bathroom are a bit small though. Breakfast was unbelievable, so many choices, fresh products. I will definitely come back for the breakfast. However, the best thing to underline is the staff efficient, proactive, always warm and smiley. So far it is the best service I had in a hotel, I hope it will keep going that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room quiet if you have some trouble to sleep. High floor recommended. Take full breakfast...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are more than delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel décor, our outlets and facilities but also the service offered by our staff.

Since guest comfort is our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients. So very positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may be rest assured they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Please definitely consider the InterContinental Genève as your home away from home. We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Upgrade to deluxe room overlooking Lake of Geneva.
Great service and warm welcoming by staff at reception.
Hotel located on along the bus route nr 5 which connects the hotel to the airport and downtown.
Swimmingpool area clean.
Clean room.
I can recommend IC Geneve.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank 66-Route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. Nice comments such as yours are really important for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Generally nice hotel and good location on the bus 5 route (which goes from the airport to the city centre and Cornavin train station, with a dedicated stop named "InterContinental"). Very diplomatic hotel, as reflected by its location near the Red Cross museum, WHO campus and UN Palais de Nations and a bit far from the city centre. Even turndown service has to be requested for "your privacy" according to the in-room paper sign. There is a supermarket (Coop) behind the hotel, as I discovered when doing a jog around the area, if you don't feel like going downtown. Breakfast was nice, with an wide selection of yoghurts served in glass jars in addition to your typical selection (they also had a dedicated Chinese congee station though it didn't look very appetizing).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellinghker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. Good comments such as yours are really important and you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Furthermore, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the Chinese congee station, which will be duly pass on to the Chef.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been at the hotel during 3 full days for a business event. The room was super confortable with magnificent view over Geneva and the lake: very clean with all what you would need.
Breakfast, buffet lunches, dinner in the ball room were all with high quality food.
The hotel crew is really well trained, ready to help to make sure you get any request answered promptly. The business center is really weel equipped and I could make copies and print my boarding pass in seconds.
The hotel has also a bus stop close by, to reach Geneva center in few minutes with the free ticket you get.
I go quite often to Geneva and it was my first time at Intercontinental: I'll go there again next time.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the lake
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anmalves52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the facilities offered were up to your expectations. Very good comments such as yours as quite important for us, you may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 106 in Geneva
761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.0 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
927 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £238 - £971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing