We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart - lovely bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here with our two dogs, and although they are restricted to our rooms, the staff couldn't have made us feel more at home. The bedroom was exceptionally comfortable, with a great separate wardrobe space, which meant that there was an extra door between us and the corridor (good for noise reduction). The hotel is close to the United Nations, so quite a walk to the old town etc. This wasn't a problem for us as we enjoy walking - and the hotel gives you free bus tickets just in case. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bellaandseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last month and that the hotel facilities met your expectations. You may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to all the team members concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Intercontinental Hotel group is overall, excellent and this hotel is no exception. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have the latest in technology. The breakfast buffet is one of the best of most larger hotel chains and certainly recognizes internationalism. My only concern is that it is somewhat removed from the core of Geneva and that the immediate area, other than the wonderful United Nations (practically next door) and the Ariana and Red Cross Museums (also close by) is not as engaging. I stayed one night at the wonderful Intercontinental and then moved closer to the core of Geneva . But the service and attention to detail of this fine hotel was not lost in my mind. If you don't mind the distance to downtown, go for it!

Room Tip: Work with the front desk regarding your specific needs. If they are not full, they will try to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Very good comments such as your are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

Furthermore, regarding the location, we are situated only 15 minutes away by bus from the city center. The bus station is right outside the hotel and we offer a bus ticket for all our guests, valid for the entire stay, for all public transportations in Geneva.

We can assure you that you will be always most welcome to the InterContinental Genève on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Looking forward to that pleasure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We chose the InterCon due to its proximity to a family member's apartment - while some in our party stayed in the apartment others were at the hotel. The rooms are good, the pool lovely and the reception staff mostly excellent. Sometimes it's when something goes wrong that you get to make a judgement.....a flooding problem in the bathroom was greeted by a receptionist with what I can only call 'attitude' - I got the distinct impression they thought we'd done something wrong (rather than the cause being a blocked drain and something of a nuisance to us to have to change room). It put a minor dampener on an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and that service did not completely meet your expectations.

We have of course taken good note of your comments concerning the technical problem you experienced in your bathroom and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Furthermore, we would like to apologize for the behaviour of some of our employees who did not leave you happy memories. You may rest assured that this point will be forwarded to the concerned managers.

Should your plans bring you back to Geneva, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you to the hotel again.

Looking forward to that pleasure, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotels around the Lake in Geneva are actually overrated. This time we thought of trying something very different and booked at the InterContinental Geneva that offers everything one needs for a great family holiday. A 50-year-old 5 star luxury icon recently redesigned and renovated by world renowned architect and interior designer Tony Chi. The suite we stayed in had beautiful breathing views of the entire city including Lake Geneva, the water jet and amazing views of Mont Blanc and the Alps. The hotel is located in the corporate district walking distance from the United Nations building and botanical gardens and just a short drive away from the heart of the city. As a courtesy the hotel provides complimentary tickets to access public transportation for the duration of your stay, this is certainly a unique selling point. The bus stop is situated just opposite the hotel and the main shopping district is a short bus ride away. Our kids really enjoyed the bus ride and honestly it’s the best way to explore the city. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and complimentary Wi-Fi was an added bonus. The hotel has a great gym and pool we just couldn’t find enough time to use them as the city has so much to offer. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and accommodating they took very great care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite facing Lake Geneva and the Alps for magical views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit_Arora_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, General Manager at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel décor and services. Warm comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

We can assure you that you will be always most welcome to the InterContinental Genève on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Looking forward to that pleasure, we remain,

With best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here with my family, my younger brother and parents in May, for a short weekend break Friday to Monday. The hotel is of great location, right in the middle of the corporate district of Geneva, with easy access to downtown and restaurants and bars and just a 10 minute drive from the airport. The hotel provide you with free access to the public transport for the duration of your stay, which is very useful and a great way to travel around due to its great reliability and bus stops directly outside the hotel's grounds. The United Nations building is just a 2 minute walk from the front door.

The room was immaculate in terms of the cleanliness and set up, they provide more than enough toiletries and even a toothbrush for each guest. The view from our suite of the Alps, Water Jet and downtown was truly spectacular, incomparable with any hotel I've ever stayed in.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and provided a taste of local cuisine and continental options. The service was exceptional and all the staff are more than friendly and happy to help. Waiting for you at the door are staff to bring in your bags and hold doors for you. It's no wonder this hotel has been graced by world leaders such as Clinton and Castro.

The gym is also state of the art having used it on one occasion. The pool staff are also very helpful and provide plenty of towels and changes if and when you need them. Everything about the hotel is exceptional.

The hotel is more than deserved of its 5 star rating, and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is visiting this wonderful city.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you, your parents and your brother spent a very pleasant stay at the hotel and that you all liked the hotel décor and services provided.
Since guest comfort is our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients.

Needless to say very positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, I remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two kids (aged 6 and 3) and we loved the hotel. I am trying to think if we identified a single fault and perhaps the only thing was the price (close to USD900) per night. If you can get past that this hotel is worth staying at and we will be back. The staff were exceptionally welcoming, the room was spotless and each day we received complimentary pastries and a basket of fresh fruit. Make sure you ask reception for the free bus pass into town. The breakfast buffet in the morning is something special and shouldn't be missed.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the hotel décor, our outlets and facilities but also the service offered by our staff.

Guest comfort being our priority, we continuously do our utmost to share our vision of the Swiss hospitality with our clients. So positive comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may be rest assured they have been forwarded to all persons concerned.

Please definitely consider the InterContinental Genève as your home away from home. We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful hotel! Excellent location - free bus passes and bus stop on the doorstep - views of Lake Geneva and the water jet. Beautiful, spotless, spacious suite with plenty of room even after the addition of two roll out beds for the children. Some noise from the road outside although only the loudest of motorbikes/fire engines bothered us on the 9th floor. Thoughtful touches like welcoming chocolates, bowls of fresh fruit and daily gifts of sweet baked treats delighted us all. Fantastic buffet breakfast (Ohh the pastries...!). Nice outdoor area and swimming pool - large enough for adults to swim lengths or to take a cooling dip - much too deep and wide for our three year old swimmer to enjoy without an adult beside him but enjoyed by our children nonetheless. The staff were exceptionally pleasant, spoke faultless English and the service they offered went above and beyond the average 5* expectations. Good room service if rather pricey. The stay as a whole was rather expensive but we felt that this was justified by the hotel's excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel décor and services. Warm comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to all team members concerned.

We can assure you that you will be always most welcome to the InterContinental Genève on the occasion of your future stays in the City of Calvin.

Looking forward to that pleasure, we remain,

with best regards,

Jurgen Baumhoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#19 of 109 in Geneva
797 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,078 reviews
Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
#12 of 109 in Geneva
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £203 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing