We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the fence on this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“On the fence on this one”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The Hotel InterContinental in Geneva is first and foremost a business hotel serving the United Nations, related commissions, diplomatic entities, etc. It is far less suited to the leisure traveler. I stayed there as a tourist, while my spouse had some business in Geneva. My experience was mixed.

The hotel is located in a non-commercial neighborhood near the UN, so running out to one of Geneva's many delicious patisseries in the morning, for a coffee and croissant, is not an easy option. Those with expense accounts might not balk at the hotel's 45 CHF price-fixe breakfast (the only choice unless you go for room service), but $100 for two breakfasts is pushing it even in expensive Geneva. I opted for a roll and coffee in the rather uncomfortable lobby one very early morning, and was served what seemed to be a day-old mini-croissant with an overpriced (not vey good) espresso. I purchased breakfast supplies at the grocery store to eat in the room after that. A tea kettle is provided in the room, along with minimal coffee and tea provisions.

My "superior" room (with a view of neighboring apartment buildings) was compact, but efficiently designed, clean and comfortable (I laughed to see that the built-in closet and dresser configuration was a larger and fancier version of what I had in my college dorm decades ago!). The bathroom, though -- perhaps 6 feet by eight, and the wider dimension includes the tub -- was ridiculously cramped for this level of hotel. I could stretch my arms out and touch both walls in one direction, and in order to use the commode one had to wedge oneself in at an angle between the sink and the TP dispenser. Only one bath towel was provided per person. The bathroom was more "economy" than five-star.

A sure sign that this is a hotel designed for business and diplomatic travelers with expense accounts is the surprisingly high charge for Internet access -- approximately 39 CHF per 24 hours. Further evidence is the hotel's blatantly transparent offer to charge an all-inclusive (inclusive, that is, of the adult entertainment television channel) fee of approximately 49CHF and call it a communications package on your bill. You have to laugh.

A bus stops just outside the hotel, taking you to the city center in one direction and the airport (just a few stops) in the other, and a short walk to the UN will get you to the street car. That makes up somewhat for the non-central location. Public transport is free with a pass you can obtain at the airport or from your hotel.

A few negatives:

1. There seems to be a disconnect among hotel management, housekeeping and room service. I went through a hilarious yet really annoying kerfluffle with the hotel over something housekeeping did, and it took an entire day (involving all three branches of hotel government) to solve a simple problem. The hotel manager was nice about it. Other staff members others were not.

2. Our room cleaner must have been a bit goofy, as one day all of the rubbish was left stacked on the cabinet above the fridge, on various days either fewer or more glasses were left than we started with, and one day one of the two robes was taken and never replaced.

3. There was a pervasive and acrid, almost septic, smell around the elevators at lobby level every day of our stay. At times, the stink made you gasp. Since the entrance to the restaurant was jut steps away, it was not very appetizing. I never did find out what it was.

So would I recommend this hotel to a friend? To a business traveler -- yes. To a leisure traveler -- no. To the leisurely spouse of a business traveler? I might suggest lobbying for a hotel closer to downtown, but you take what you get when you are the "plus one"!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickypickyme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We have taken good note of your various comments and are sorry that the hotel did not completely meet your expectations.

You may rest assured that your remarks have been forwarded to all persons concerned and that we will do our utmost to improve our services as suggested.

Nevertheless, we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your spouse back on another occasion. In the meantime, we remain,

Sincerely Yours,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    254
    98
    32
    19
See reviews for
100
140
60
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

If you are on business in Geneva, choose this hotel. Skillful and helpful staff, good bar, great breakfast. And close to the airport

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongkongInvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel, for business or leisure, and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times and it has got consistently better as they have renovated the rooms. The old rooms were dated but OK. The new rooms are smart, clean and well designed. The hotel staff are polite, well trained and available even at stupid o'clock in the morning. The room service food is fairly good but the food served for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant is superb.

I have never had a problem here and it would be my first choice for a business hotel in Geneva when budget allows. That's the only downside. It can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbydammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

High Points: Wonderful Staff; High Quality Rooms with respect to size and amenities when Upgrading; Free Public Transportation Pass for the duration of your stay.

Low Points: We stayed in a newly refurbished room. Surprisingly, even though all of the windows had been replaced, lots of noise from the street even though we were on a high floor. I was constantly checking to see if a window was open. In additon, 5 Star hotels generally supply greater than 1-ply Tissue and 5 start hotels clean the espresso cups once used.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Furthermore, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the tissues. We can assure you that we always provide our guests with top quality furniture. A proper verification will be made accordingly.

As far as the espresso cups are concerned, please kindly note that this should certainly be an oversight from our Housekeeping members. Reminders have been displayed to prevent such an incident from reoccurring in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon to the hotel and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The public areas were comfortable, clean and plush. Check in/check out was fast - they even give you a choice of currency to pay the bill in (when using credit cards). The room was clean and spacious with modern decor. The shower was huge! There was enough choice at breakfast although not always enough tables free (there was a few hundred people staying at the hotel for the conference alone). The conference rooms were airy and bright. The food and service at the evening dinners in the ball room were excellent, compliments to the chef! I'm glad my company paid for my stay though as it was about £250 per night including breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the hotel and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The location of the hotel close to UN is frequented by the diplomats and the staff under the leadership of Michael Perret, General Manager is superb in rendering services. Majority of the staff speaks english fluently, polite and willing to help. Bus # 5 stop is close to the hotel and hence, visiting downtown and airport is very convenient. It is expensive but for that matter every thing in Geneva and Switzerland is outrageously expensive.,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Actually, we are located 10 minutes away from the airport and thanks to a travel pass offered to each guest upon arrival, they can go downtown easily and explore Geneva with Geneva Public Transports, this free of charge.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon to the hotel and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I stayed at the Intercontinental Geneve for a conference and brought my wife and 4-month-old son along. From the first contact with the reception staff checking me and my family in, the customer service was first-rate. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and took the initiative in ensuring that all of our needs were taken care of. I was especially surprised by the kindness that a restaurant waiter showed my wife who brought our son down in a stroller for breakfast that went out of his way to prepare a plate of everything that was available at the buffet. The Intercontinental is also conveniently located close to the airport and the city center, both of which are a short bus ride away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchen517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalGVA, Directeur général at Hotel InterContinental Geneve, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay with us. Good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon to the hotel and meeting you personally on that occasion, I remain,

with best regards,

Michel Perret
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#12 of 105 in Geneva
734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
916 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel InterContinental Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel InterContinental Geneve

Property: Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Address: 7-9 Chemin du Petit-Saconnex, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#19 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel InterContinental Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental 5-star luxury hotel, newly redesigned provides amazing views of the Mont Blanc, of Lake Geneva and Geneva City. It's a 3-minute walk from the United Nations and within a 5-minute drive from the International Centre of Congress CICG and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. The spacious and elegant 333 rooms and Suites at the InterContinental Geneva have free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee-making facilities, are air-conditioned and feature cable TV. Dining options include modern international cuisine and seasonal specialties served in the gourmet restaurant, which features a well-stocked wine cellar and a terrace. At the bar Les Nations, guests can enjoy a wide range of drinks, listen to live piano music, and browse in books and magazines. A sophisticated urban-style bar, Le Fumoir seduces you with its original cocktails and a selection of international cigars. The 4306 ft² Spa by Clarins provides a complete set of beauty and massage treatments. The health and fitness center is open 24 hours and there's a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel InterContinental Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Geneva
Intercontinental Hotel Geneve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing