We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shear Quality, will go back sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Shear Quality, will go back sure”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Right from the time I stepped in, it was WOW for everything. the quality of service, bed and right till toilet papers... it shows swiz quality... No doubt its in great location... can expect any flexibility... concierge are very friendly... even at 4 :30 AM they openup buisness center... arrange taxis.. I have really seen whats swiz hospitality,,, One suggestion.. dont use swiz taxis.. they rip you offf... better use public transport or rent a car with GPS

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments as we strive to constantly improve our product and services. We were pleased to share your compliments with our team and especially our concierge. As for the taxis situation, please kindly note that a group of hoteliers is looking at that particular issue and we are hoping to get some positive results in a near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    204
    67
    24
    14
See reviews for
136
194
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at a the hotel whilst attending a conference at the same venue.

The staff were friendly, the hotel clean and modern.

I would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on our hotel and for giving a good recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe on a leisure trip so you can enjoy even more of our services !

Stefan Winisteorefer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Good choice for the business traveller on a short stay. Well equipped modern rooms with good linen, bathrooms etc but typical rooms are very small for the price. Rooms at the front can be noisy with traffic. Breakfast is fine, but not really worth the cost. Stayed here many times as conveniently located. Room service is fine and bar is ok if a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We have worked a lot on our quality standards lately and especially on our breakfast and food offer.
We encourage you to give us some feedbacks on these recent changes on your next stays and on other possible areas for improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Geneva.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have been surprised to discover in a 5 stars hotel , so small rooms having no apace to open two suitcases. Even the wardrobe had space for only 5 -6 clothes. The 2 single beds of our twin bedded room very small reminding kids room. The public places are big enaugh, but the breakfast restaurant is too small for the size of the hotel . Traffic jam between guests and staff who try to serve and us to be served. The hotel uses the bigger places of the loby level as meeting rooms rather than restaurants which could be more appropriate. WiFi is paid and expensive . Room service helpfull but the food was average. The hamburger tough (!!) and the club sandwich tasteless.Very central location near the main comercial street .

Room Tip: Ask if exist bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We have several categories of rooms and some of them located on the city side may be more suitable for individual occupancy. You would be pleased to hear that we are currently working in the renovation of our lakeside room taking into consideration the needs from our leisure clientele (more wardrobe space, proper space for suitcase).
The time you visited us was indeed a very busy time and we understand there was a lot of people at the same time in the breakfast room; we are working on a different lay out of the breakfast area but it is important in order to improve the service to have it separated from the main restaurant and other areas of the hotel. We shared your comments on the Room service food and we are working on improving the quality of the menu there as well. As for the internet access, it will be a new complimentary service as of 2013.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and experience the recent improvements.

Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A five-star hotel at a five-star price.

Everything is comfortable to the point of luxuriousness. Our room was a bit on the small side, but it had everything you could want in it. Bathroom was of a good size.

Switzerland, and Geneva, is expensive at the moment, but if you can afford the Swissotel Metropole, you can afford Switzerland!

A very enjoyable 3-night stay (but the bar does get crowded with loud businessmen - on expenses!).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is true that our bar, due to its central location in town, can get crowded at time mainly on weekdays. We hope to welcoming you back to Geneva in the future.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great location with beautiful lake views. This property has been renovated keeping in style with it's original old world charm. Very comfortable rooms, however the bathrooms could be better for a 5 star establishment. This is a hotel to book when they have special promotions, as their sale pricing is really great value. We only paid CHF 280.- for lake view deluxe rooms. The breakfast room has been renovated into a rather modern, plain area which is a bit dissappointing from what it used to be.

Room Tip: Beware, lakeside rooms are the noisier ones as the main road through to France goes by here. Rue du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest, we thank you for your valuable comments recently posted. You will be pleased to hear that we are now just starting a renovation program on the lakeside product with an emphasis on the bathroom including the shower area; we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again and enjoy the new room as of next year.
As for the breakfast room, we understand the style changes completely from the rest of the hotel but it was important for us to set up a full buffet breakfast in a separate area than the main restaurant. We look forward to your next stay in Geneva.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel is definitely a 5 star and in great location. Over looking the lake and within a few minutes walk of shops and restaurants. This would of been fab if they were open. The whole of Geneva was shut for new years eve, new years day and on 2nd. Couldn't wait to get home as nothing to do. We only found a few restaurants open which resulted in lowering ourselves to eating a mcdonalds, didn't expect to have to do that in Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordlucan6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for your appreciation our product, services and location. It is true that Geneva is not as active as other nig cities during New year’s and people tend to leave the city to go skiing. It was also a bit particular this year the 1sz of January falling on a Sunday and most offices and shops extending the Holiday through January 2nd. We understand your disappointment and we can only encourage you to give the destination another chance in spring or summer!
Stefan Winistoefer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
927 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
904 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Property: Hotel Metropole Geneve
Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing