We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

It was a short stay (1 night) in Geneva and stayed at the Swissotel Metropole.

Great service, friendly doormen and swift check-in. Allocated a lovely bedroom overlooking the lake and enjoyed some of the offerings in the Mirror Bar.

Location is ideal in Geneva and could not have asked for a better position.

Only downside was the breakfast the following morning. Service was lacking a bit and the breakfast room seemed a bit dissapointing, but overall experience at the hotel was excellent.

Would certainly return at some point!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake...lovely!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post some valuable comments about our property.
We have shared your review with our team and were pleased to read the very good comments on the service and attention you received from our colleagues.
The breakfast offer is definitely an area we are currently looking at and keep on improving thanks to the different comments we have received already.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can also appreciate the improvement in that area on a future stay.

Best regards,

Stefan Winistoerfer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Were really so excited heading to Geneva since weve booked a famous 5-star Swissotel Metropole. Facade was fabulous, reception area was average but the staff were impeccable in what they do.

Heading towards the room, the hallway was one of the best ive seen after staying at several 5-star hotels. With so much anticipation for the room, well to be honest, it was kinda small compared to other 5-stars. Interiors were perfectly fit, bathroom was gorgeous in which i can stay for hours. Breakfast was good but pale in comparison to the Legendary Breakfast of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam.

Everything is a few minutes away staying at this hotel. Luxurious clubs, bars, restaurants, shops, you name a high-end brand and you got it in the corner of your eyes. Not to forget the sights were a few steps away or just several stops and voila, youre there. Dont forget to visit Patek Philippe Museum, its highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugenedr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our facilities and services.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the welcoming and services delivered by our team members; it is particularly important for us as we not only strive to improve the level of quality of our product but also the engagement of our colleagues toward our clientele.
As far as our room product is concerned, we are currently working on the full renovation of our lakeside rooms, concentrating on redefining the space in the bedroom and bathroom area as well.
The breakfast is also an area we are currently working on, improving the selection and quality of products we are presenting.
Thank you for your valauable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Métropole in Geneva.

Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

5 star luxury hotel just in front of lake Geneve. Water fountain and the famous clock just in front of the hotel. Close to the pedestrian and shopping quarter. Old town just behind the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having posted your review on Tripadvisor. The hotels location is seen by many travellers to Geneva as unbeatable. We hope to have the pleasure to cater for your needs again next time. Kindest Greetings to Malta, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at Swissotel for 2 weeks in March for a business trip. The service was perfect from the time I arrived until the time I left. My room was ready when I arrived in the morning for early check in, which was greatly appreciated after an overnight flight. Front desk staff, room service staff, and housekeeping staff were all very courteous and friendly. The location is excellent, close to shopping and public transportation. Bar/Lounge area was very nice as well, and the wifi access was reliable and convenient.

The only drawbacks for me were the size of the room and shower, and the limited room service menu. The standard room was very, very small for a two week stay. I would compare it to the size of a large walk in closet. There was space to walk around the bed, and that's it. The shower was extremely small as well - barely enough room to turn around in the shower. The room service options were very limited, but this is probably a non issue for people staying a shorter length of time. When I did order room service, the service was fast, and the prices were much more reasonable than other hotels I've stayed at in Geneva.

I would definitely stay at the Swissotel again, but hopefully in a larger room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptriciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our services and the friendliness of our colleagues as we constantly strive to improve the quality of our services and particularly the efforts made on the interaction between our employees and our guests. We understand that you were staying in our first category of room, the Classic shower room, and we agree that category is more appropriate for shorter stays of 1 to 2 nights, definitely too small for 2 weeks. Should you be back to Geneva we recommend that you book our Premier city side room or even better our lakeside room, giving you more space to work and store your belongings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Métropole.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Excellent service from the moment we arrived. Lovely room with good facilities and great coffee machine. Only negative would be the price of drinks in the Hotel bar, approx £40 for a Brandy and £20 for a 100ml glass of wine!!! Fantastic location for exploring the Old Town and the Right Bank. Short walking distance for buses and trams which are readily available into the early hours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sggoacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest, It is with great pleasure to learn that you have appreciated our service level from the moment you have arrived. We are consistently reviewing our prices in the bar and in the restaurant to make sure we remain competitive. Even though the hotels is located within walking distance of most mayor sights/businesses, all our guests benefit from the free Geneva public transportation pass during their stay! Hope to be able to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My family stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in May. Despite the bad weather, we had a great time in Geneve.

<Location>
The hotel is conveniently located within a walking distance to the lake, main shopping area, old town and tram station. This tram can take you to many sightseeing areas including the beautiful old town of Carouge. We walked from the main train station for 15 min.

<Room>
We stayed in the double room with the VIEW to the lake. The room is big enough for a family with small children and a stroller. The heigh ceiling makes the room spacious and the large window brings in the sun to the room. The BED was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. There is a Nespresso machine which we used every morning. The bathroom is also spacious, but the old-fashioned TV stuck in the wall made me sad... I think the hotel is trying to keep up with the technology, but this was not just working in such a high-standard hotel. They should have waited to install a TV in the bathroom until the next renovation.

<Facility>
The best thing we discovered was the ROOF-TOP. The massive view of the lake and city was amazing from there!! Since there is no bar on the roof top, we brought our own snack and drink there. There are some tables and chairs, but nobody was up there while we enjoyed the view just by ourselves. I would bring an anti-mosquito repellent. On the way back, we took some apples from the gym one floor below.

<Internet>
I find Wi-Fi situation in Swissotel unacceptable. When we stayed at the Swissotel in Bangkok, we had to pay for WiFi which you normally get for free in any upscale hotel in the world. In Geneva we only had an hour of free connection and had to pay for every hour after that. I know business is business, but if Swissotel aims to attract business travelers, free WiFi is a MUST.

<Children>
The reception and the elevator to the rooms are all on the first floor. You can only access there by using the stairs. That means the hotel is not wheel-chair accessible and families with small children will have hard time coming and leaving the hotel. The breakfast buffet was downstairs on the ground floor, so we had to go down the steps every morning. If you have heavy suitcases, be ready to pay extra tips to the bell boy.

<Breakfast Buffet>
After experiencing the elaborate breakfast buffet at Swissotel in Bangkok, the buffet in Swissotel in Geneva was somewhat disappointing. Small selections of Swiss cheese, Müesli, ham... the selection was not that bad, but I would have liked to see some regional organic produce which the Swiss excel to produce. We saw mostly Chinese and Russian tourists at the buffet. The staff, especially the restaurant managers, were friendly and professional. We enjoyed the breakfast without having to ask for anything since we were asked first. The only negative thing was the glasses for juice were almost all gone and we only found some warm glasses freshly out of the dishwasher. How can the glasses not be ready at the buffet the night before?

<Service>
Since it was the birthday of our family member, we received a chocolate cake with a birthday message in our room. It was a nice and delicious surprise during our stay.

All in all, the Swissotel still manages to maintain its fame despite the lower rating in many travel websites. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Geneva.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the lake!! Although the hotel is facing the main street, you don't hear a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post very detailed comments and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all our facilities including our wonderful rooftop terrace. We are currently working on the complete renovation of our lakeside rooms including the bathrooms (getting rid of the old TV!). As for the Wifi internet access, you are right and we are working on getting our own system to be able to extend that service complimentary to our guests by January 2013. Finally, we welcomed your comments on the breakfast as this is an area we are currently improving by revisiting the layout of the actual breakfast as well as the selection of products. We are hoping you will be back to experience these improvements.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Good European Hotel, rooms renovated, clean, comfortable. Concierge very helpful, got us a rental car delivered in minutes. Food in restaraunt expensive as anywhere in Geneva, but breakfast leaves a little to be desired.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorporatePilot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments on your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with our product and service. We keep on improving on our restaurant menu and taking into consideration the strong value of the Swiss Francs, we have also revised recently some of our prices. As for the breakfast, we are still on the presentation and product selection at this point.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, Geneva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#11 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £239 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing