We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$439
View deal
Official Site
US$440
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Trip.com
US$378
View deal
Expedia.comUS$438
PricelineUS$439
Hotels.comUS$438
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
680
285
93
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
680
285
93
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mirror bar lifestyle room old town lakeside room perfect location pillow menu lake view excellent hotel early check business trip concierge jet eau europe chocolate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We pulled into Geneva in the afternoon, the room was ready we walk around the lake and had a great lunch. Very Nice Hotel. the Bar ,Restaurant , and lobby were 1st class.
The location could not of been better, the view of the lake, large room , Balcony, all perfect.

Room tip: call direct
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1morecupofcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Trying to contact the hotel and get assistance prior to our stay was fruitless. They did not respond to multiple emails. There was an error on the room type and they wanted more money. Orbitz was responsive and straightened it out. Once we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. Having the buses and trams right outside our door was wonderful and the hotel gives you a free transit card. It was our first experience with a pillow menu. The room was very comfortable and well designed. Air conditioning was needed for us (August). Glad to have it. . We enjoyed the balcony, but my husband would have preferred a higher floor, which was not available the day we checked in. On the 2nd floor the lake view was obstructed by trees. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as the price was rather high. I did like the fancy coffee machine and creamers.

Room tip: Lake view is only useful if you are on an upper floor.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RKK745
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Hotel Metropole is located on the west bank of the Rhône, between lake and the old city, next to the English Garden and high street shopping. The location is excellent; it appears to be the only high-end hotel on the old-city side of the river.

By "high-end hotel" I refer to the hotel's a five-star rating. There is a difference between a five-star rating and a five-star hotel. As a student may memorize the answers to a test without actually understanding the material, a hotel may obtain a five star rating by technically satisfying all the requirements without truly understanding what it means to be five star. While meeting all the requirements to be rated five stars, Hotel Metropole is a step below other five-star hotels; it lacks the refinement, quality, and service touches of other five-star hotels. You can definitely tell the difference between a Leading Hotel of the World or a Fine Hotels and Resorts hotel and the Hotel Metropole.

For example, we woke up late on our first morning as we were adjusting to the new time zone. We went downstairs for breakfast and were told they were still serving. However, as soon as we were seated, without telling us, they began removing the breakfast buffet. We each managed to grab a croissant before everything was removed. We were charged 84.00CHF for breakfast. It was a good croissant but not worth 42.00CHF. This would never have happened at a LHW or Fine Hotels property.

The rooms are very small (even by European standards) and the only separation between the bedroom and the bathroom is oddly a curtain (and that was in an upgraded room). If traveling with another, make sure you are very comfortable with each other and don't mind being in close quarters.

There was an excellent selection of optional pillows as well as free water and Nespresso in the room. The room had excellent blackout shades and an opening window.

Overall, the hotel is good, not great. It has an excellent location and clean, but small, rooms. The property appears to be relying upon its rating, location, and history

Room tip: Get a room on the garden/lake side.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DannyJB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Metropole hotel in Geneva is the only big luxury hotel on the West Bank on the famous rue du Rhône, that is the best luxury shopping street in town. Rooms are nice but on the small side for regular rooms. Breakfast buffet is ok. Rooftop terrace is great, offering a beautiful panoramic view over the Jet d'Eau and the cathedral in the back.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 77sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Location and standard of hotel spot on. But what makes it stand out, is the staff. Friendly, helpful, charming, knowledgable. In particular Selina, assistant maitre de of the restaurants. Also the lovely lady's Who work in the restaurant Gusto. You made our holiday. Thank you.

Will we come back, definitely. Would we recommend to friends and family, without any hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews