We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate place to sleep in a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2007

For the category that this hotel seems to pride itself on, we had rather high expectations that the Swissotel Geneva Metropole (yes, we would otherwise normally associate the Swissotel brand as a moderately-priced chain hotel but thought perhaps this would be something of their flagship property) would match those of the countless other 5-star deluxe category hotels that we frequent throughout Europe. Although adequately comfortable, it wasn’t anywhere near comparable to other deluxe accommodations (within the similar price range) in Europe, not to mention some of Asia’s awesome hotels. This is in terms of first impression, service, quality of the guest rooms, public areas, and location. Only the location is great, but everything else is mediocre and even poor in some aspects (service). If taking into consideration the price, one cannot say it is good value for the money.

Starting with check-in, we were behind another couple trying to check-in (it was very late at night) and we witnessed noticeable hassle and frustration as their room was apparently released due to their late check-in despite the credit card guarantee they had (which was required anyway). We waited a while keeping our fingers crossed as were waiting to check-in right after them. That couple was taken aside and we do not know what their outcome was. Our turn came with a different sort of glitch. The rate they showed us was a much higher rate than our confirmed rate, for which we had a print-out of, very fortunately. The check-in staff did not accept that confirmation at face value but said that I will need to speak with the reservations manager the following day and said that if they can verify the correctness of it, then all will be okay (as if I had tampered or forged the confirmation!). I had to try and catch the responsible person the next day (rather than them coming to us) and it was not immediately resolved. But to cut a long story short, they only confirmed our booked rate after so much hassle.

We had a deluxe lake view room, which was okay and small. The bathroom was proportionately small and nothing to be called luxurious. The only saving grace (almost?) was the view, which was nice but then again, it wasn’t impressive (the hotel is not situated right on the lake but very close to it, being separated by a road and a public park). Therefore the views from the mid-level floors where we were located could not be a spectacular panoramic view of Lake Geneva as one might have expected. We do not have any pictures to post because we didn’t take any -- we were not inclined to as there was nothing really impressive about the rooms, the views or the lobby.

Overall service was unremarkable. Our very first impression was at the check-in desk and that did little to delight us. Concierge service was not up to the standards of an exclusive hotel. Our requests (simple ones, like booking a private chauffeur-driven car or a day-tour) were delivered with the feeling as if it were their forced duty (versus concierges at places like the Ritz London, the Peninsula Hong Kong, etc who all cheerfully accommodate as if it were their passion). The feeling is different. You feel as if you are in a middle-segment chain hotel (which is what it is technically), rather than an exclusive deluxe property.

In summary, we could recommend this hotel if trying to find an adequate place to sleep in a very convenient location for a very dear price. You should not expect much else and you will not be too disappointed. For us, we found nothing special that would draw us back to this hotel on our next visit to Geneva. We will happily try other places such as the Four Seasons or the Beau Rivage.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
22  Thank PourPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen Swissotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva. I also appreciate your comments, constructive and motivating, shared with the TripAdvisor community which helps us develop further our service and our product. As a matter of fact the hotel has undergone tremendous upgrade form a service and product point of view. We are very transparent in our communication updating our webpage daily with prices, pictures, promotions and other valuable information requested by our guests.

Do give us a second chance and I look forward to welcoming you soon back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2006

In addition to the great quality of the rooms, the staff was very accomodating. We arrived before our reservation due to a glitch at another hotel and were not only welcomed, but upgraded to a Junior Suite. We had several other requests that were easily handled.

The hotel is in an excellent location, on the edge of Old Town next to the lake. Out of our window we could see the "flower clock" as well the water. You can walk to most places including the train station (across the bridge).

I've stayed in other Swissotels, and Metropole was the same quality. Very clean, crisp linen, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OceanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and for choosing Swisslotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva. I highly appreciate the fact that you have recognized our service and the staff.

I hope to see you soon back and do not hesitate to visit our webpage for updates and promotions.

Quality Manager

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

The Metropole is an good hotel in which to stay if you want to be near the business district as well as some shopping.

The staff are attentive - and the hotel is in general pretty nice - decor is above avarage.

Bar is good, as is breakfast - if a littely samey.

Definitely worth a stay.

6  Thank timaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you soon back at Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

I thought this hotel would be something pretty special but it isn't.

Pros:
- Great location (beside lake, old part of town)
- Decent little gym
- Really lovely breakfast area (take your time over your newspaper)
- Character (as opposed to your usual Sheraton, Intercon, etc)
- 3 elevators for 4 floors so never have to wait long
- Espresso machines in rooms

Cons:
- Dismal little room (mine was on the rear side - either get one at the front or stay somewhere else)
- Paper thin walls - can hear ever word my neighbours say on both sides
- Booked a non-smoking but they put me in a smoking (asked for change of room and they said wait 2 nights - can you imagine)
- Expensive (ok if on expense trip, but don't spend your own money on this place)
- Wifi internet is CHF 30 a day
- The bistro restaurant is awful

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BenDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and at the same time we regret that your stay was rather deceiving. I have shared you review with the team and the management and certain changes have been made.

Do not hesitate to visit us soon again.

Quality Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

We had high expectations of this 5 star hotel, but came away very disappointed.

We stayed in an executive room on the 3rd floor. The room itself was well appointed and very clean, as was the bathroom. It was, however, much smaller than we had expected.

Unfortunately for us we were situated opposite the lift which meant a lot of noise from people coming and going until late into the night and then from early in the morning, with breakfast trolleys etc. going up and down the corridor.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on our last night. The meal itself was quite expensive (over £100 inc. wine) and was of very poor quality. The starter of soup was lukewarm, as were the main course pasta dishes.

The restaurant staff were very rushed, even though it was a fairly quiet night. A waiter poured some wine for us and then took the bottle away. We had to wait ages for a top up and then sat with empty glasses for nearly half an hour before giving up and walking across the restaurant to retrieve the bottle and help ourselves!!

The best thing about the hotel was it's location - opposite the lake and a very short walk to the shops.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 1963CruiseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you or choosing Swissotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Please visit our webpage for the latest updates concerning promotions, pricing, new rooms design, new menu and much more.

Hope to see you soon back

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
340
Reviewed 2 January 2006

This is a good hotel for business travelers, expensive, small but nice rooms, overpriced buffet breakfast. My big beef is I needed a 6.30 am wake up call and booked it with the receptionist and whoops - no wake up call, and no real apology. Meanwhile I nearly missed my flight out of Geneva. I know these glitches can happen from time to time but they seem to pride themselves on being particularly customer service oriented. So much for Swiss efficency.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Dear Guest

I apologize for any inconvenience caused a similar glitch is not acceptable. Our service has undergone significant changes since your last visit.

Please visit us soon again.

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
london, uk
16
Reviewed 27 December 2005

We enjoy a beautiful view of the lake and its fountain. we arrived at 1 o'clock on Christmas day, starving after a long flight and room service was arranged very quickly.
The art-deco bar is absolutely beautiful, and the very friendly staff makes your evening even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Dear guest

It has passed long time since your last visit and I hope to see you soon back. The hotel has undergone several rooms renovation, please visit our web page for updates.

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, Geneva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £242 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing