We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, best location in Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, best location in Geneva”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My parents and I spent a weekend in Geneva and stayed at the Metropole, located in front of one of Geneva's loveliest parks, with great views of the lake!
Service was outstanding, all the staff we interacted really made you feel at home, and they did that very naturally. Food was great, from breakfast to the a la carte restaurant, featuring fresh products, definitely not your typical "restaurant in a hotel"!
I had been away from Switzerland for a long time, and it was really like coming home, swiss hospitality at its best, highly recommended! And as for location, it can't be beat, close to the city center and a short walk away from the boats on the lake!!
A big thank you to all the staff there who made our stay wonderful, we'll be back,

Sylvain Boussard

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Mananger at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Dear Slyos

It is such a pleasure to read your positive feedback and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Your review is used to improve our service and the product and I have communicated your feedback with the team and the management.

We strive to constantly provide a heart, warming service which is achieved through regular training and communication.

I look forward to accommodate you soon back at Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    203
    65
    22
    14
See reviews for
134
191
38
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Although we did not stay in the hotel we stopped here for lunch and it was very, very enjoyable indeed. High end stuff - but very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere.

I couldn't help but notice the previous reviewer's comments and don't understand how someone can let a stranger into their room to work on air con without checking with the front desk first...maybe it was those traveller's feelings of utter stupidity which had them write such a biiter review blaming hotel "security". A fine, secure hotel with a lovely restauarant from what I saw.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Dear Guest

Such a pity you could not experience our rooms, we have new rooms categories modern in design with state of art technology. Although, I thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I have also communicated your highly appreciated feedback to the kitchen and the restaurant colleagues.

I hope to see you soon back

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I would like to share my story with world travelers out there. Even when you are in a luxury hotel, please do not take for granted of the fact that the security
is there and that the place is a safe haven. This is what happened to me at the luxury hotel “Metropol” in Geneva, Switzerland.
My husband and I were guests staying at the Metropol Hotel in Geneva in August 2009. As avid world travelers, we always carefully select the most luxurious, comfortable and safe hotels for our stay. We have never had any problems in our lifetime of travel experience, even when staying in the most security-heightened areas of the world. We would have never thought that would have been robbed while staying at the Metropol in Genava, of all places.
A person dress as the Hotel staff and presenting himself to be Hotel Maintenance Staff, an air conditioning engineer to be exact He entered our room under the premise that he was repairing the AC unit (Geneva was having a heat wave at the time). While he “worked” in our room, he stole a sentimentally and monetary valuable piece of jewelry, a diamond ring. It only took us a few minutes to realize that we had been scammed and robbed, but since the Metopol’s hotel staff lacks the protocol knowledge for security, we were not able to corner the thieves in time and they got away. The staff didn’t even want to call the police. Furthermore, it took a whole hour of us waiting for the Hotel Manager on duty to speak to us in his office after the event took place. We were completely appalled by the lack of measures the hotel staff took to remedy the situation.
We were shocked in discovering the lack of security measures the Metropol “luxury” hotel displays as a result of this incident. A homicide could have taken place in our own room and the hotel would not even have known, because their security system is non-existent. The hotel has three distinct entrances: one on Quai Gustave Ador, which is supposed to be the main door with two concierges, who obviously were not paying attention on who entered or exited the premises; the second door is a back door to Rue du Rhone, which was the door the thief took because it is back of the elevators and no one can see who comes and goes. This area is completely unattended, and has already been studied by the criminals as a getaway path. The third door is through the restaurant, which again, no one looks or cares who comes and goes. One can also go directly to the elevator and wherever they want within the hotel, and none of the hotel staff would ask nor watch the traffic of people. The surveillance camera is in the back of the front desk, in a hall way, but it doesn’t seem like the hotel staff even watches the camera either.
With that said, we feel that the reason why we were robbed in the hotel is a result of their severe security negligence. If the hotel would have taken the proper measures to protect its guest, no scam artist could enter the premises to play out a scenario that led to the robbery.
Ron & Rebecca McIntyre
Austin, Texas

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loloGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Dear Mr & Mrs McIntyre,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are sorry that the meeting on site, immediately after the incident, with our General Manager and the provided information was not satisfactory for you.

We have tight security procedures including a closed circuit surveillance camera system that allows us to oversee public areas of the hotel. In addition, our team members are trained to follow specific standard procedures before entering any guest rooms. Therefore, should a technical service be performed, our guest always receive a call beforehand to set up a convenient time to enter the room. Furthermore, all our employees wear name badges so they easily can be identified.

Our hotel restaurant and bar are open to non resident guests but we are paying utmost attention to all clients visiting our outlets and hotel public areas.

Once again our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this incident has caused you and your wife.

Stefan Winistoerfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

No complaints about the hotel. Good service, clean room, good location with good view.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for appreciating our service and our product and for recognizing it on TripAdvisor. We strive to make every guest's stay unique and memorable.

I hope to accommodate you soon again at Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montevideo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Sttayed for one night at the hotel with my son Maxi. Beatiful bedroom with all ammenities. Very niche shower and very confy small living room area. Staff at front desk very friendly and helpful. Especially German young lady.
Breakfast very nice, modern setting in restaurant and beatiful terrace. Location ideal to main pedestrian street and clase to the lake.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Mananger at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for appreciating our service and our product and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Although is a long time since you visited us, I can assure you that breakfast has improved further and the rooms on the lake side have all been renovated.

I look forward to see you soon again

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay, staff are very good and the General Manager Mr. Thierry personally welcomed us and made a huge difference to our stay in Geneva (he recommend this amazing place in Park des Eaux Vives). Overall the location was the best compared to all the other hotels (Mandarin, Four Seasons and Eaux Vives) and the restaurant serves very good food (sorry I do not remember the name. Overall a very good spot to explore Geneva with the quality you would expect from "Swissotel" in Switzerland!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Edgarn

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I have also shared your review with the colleagues and the management. Please come and visit us again.

I look forward to see you soon back

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Long Easter weekend, great welcome with an Easter egg at check in. Rooms clean, food great and staff really make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
Dear Larrissa

Thank you for sharing your Easter experience with the TripAdvisor community. I highly appreciated your positive feedback and I can assure you that your comments were shared with the team and the management.

I hope to see you soon again

Quality Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
622 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Property: Hotel Metropole Geneve
Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing