We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff are its saving grace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Location and staff are its saving grace”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a small hotel in a convenient location just across the Geneva Cornavin Train Station. If you are a traveller who prefers quick access to everywhere, then, hotels in this area is the place to be. However, there is a disadvantage of staying near a train station or near major thorough fares : which are noise, quality of neighborhood and quality of air. The room, though is a different story. The bed was hard and towels are very old and worn. The staff was accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back / side of the hotel for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    201
    162
    64
    44
See reviews for
85
150
57
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I had stayed there last week with family. If only being next to the station in the criteria, you can stay. bathrooms were leaking and stinking. of my 10 days in swiss, this was the only place where they didn't give a power adaptor. They were kind enough to charge me BB and Iphone though at the reception. But it was always a pain as I was worried that I might forget. Stay could be one moment friendly and another obnoxious. Breakfast was just cereals and some left over fruits. if you ask, blunt answer, this is only available. Stay clear if you don't want to regret.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajitnbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

+ Location if the view to the central railway station doesn't bother
+ Spacious room
- Inlcuded break-fast which was ok, nothing special.

- Overall condition of the hotel is poor. Nothing has been done after the 80s!

- We booked a double room and asked for a room from the higher floors. They gave us the very first floor room with separate beds. What a lovely way of enjoying the last night together before 4 months separation due to living in different countries.
Reclamation did not help. They seemed not to care about the fact that in the webside they present both double and twin rooms with double bed and separate in the twin.
- Staff was quite dull. No eye contact when we were leaving, they were just minding their own business.
- Noisy because of the location and first floor

Young (party) groups of friends: ok, if you get with very cheap price.

Overall it's cheap but choose whatever else you can! Not recommendable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you are merely stopping in Geneva for one day before continuing by train to another destination, this hotel will merely do, since it is located literally across the street from the train station. That being said, there is really not much street noise or noise from the trains.

Now, for the important stuff. The rooms are outdated. The beds are hard and the pillows are flat. The rooms smell musty or smoky. The only lights in the room are florescent ones near the ceiling (very clinical). So no, not the most romantic place in the world.

But, all and all, an easy place to stay. Centrally located. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusto41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having read other Tripadvisor reviews I made a decision to book this hotel over the others I was considering given its location and price...if only one could turn back time.The location could not be better for anyone visiting the city, it's opposite the train station and within walking distance to everything else you need.

Whilst its location is perfect, the hotel itself is absolutely dire. Run down, noisy, old, dirty and poor in every aspect, minus the staff - they were average. Upon arrival to my 70s, third-world room, I realised I had stained bedding accompanied by hairs, stains all over the carpet and walls, faded, ancient floral curtains and a bed that was rather uncomfortable. To top all that off I was greeted by a random sock on the floor!!?!

With regards to sleep quality, you could hear the people walking in the room above and noise from the room next door. I opened the window looking out onto the main street in the hope that the noise from cars, a club, endless sirens and buffoons conversing loudly on the street would drown out the internal noise but to no avail. So to sum up, if you want comfort, sleep, and wifi that does not disconnect every 10minutes then I would not recommend this place at all.

Room Tip: A good tip is to not come here, but if you are going to book I'm guessing the highest floor will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyOday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear guest,

Cleanliness is more than important for us and I made personnaly an investigation in order to be sure that this situation will not happen again.

Regarding the Wifi connection, I must say that it's working generally quite well.

Finally, you probably noticed that our rooms are all equiped with double-glazing, because in center town, noices of neighbourhood is a reality we can't change.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the great location. It is directly opposite the main railway station and very easy to find and get to.

I was in a room facing the main road and the noise was not a problem at all, which is good.

The room was a good size but a bit tatty with bits missing from the walls and marks not the floor. I had the breakfast which was included in the rate and this was good. Not a huge choice but adequate.

For the price I think this hotel is okay but would probably not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Bernina Hotel basic but clean. Nice breakfast each morning but took a while for the waiter to replenish the containers of food when empty - had to be asked. Our room was kept spotlessly clean bed comfortable but pillows very soft not ideal for a good nights sleep. Lots of towels and lovely hot shower. The furniture in room very dated and standard lamp light fitting hanging out of wall showing wires. The bedside lamp also was faulty. Reception staff never acknowledged you when entering hotel which I found a bit strange however when asked questions on trams, sights etc they were very helpful. The hotel is very central with trams and railway station just outside and the bus station just 4 blocks down the road. Some nice restaurants and bars in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imilne2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#58 of 105 in Geneva
275 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#56 of 105 in Geneva
281 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
227 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#45 of 105 in Geneva
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Property: Hotel Bernina Geneve
Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing