We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, old and small rooms, wonderful breakfast, friendly for Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed five nights at a special corporate rate. The first night they put is in a small room overlooking an inner 'courtyard' which is an alley with construction and renovation going on. Because this was sort of claustrophobic, the wifi signal was poor, and because we were staying five nights, I asked for them to change us (tipping well). We were moved to a slightly larger room, part of a suite overlooking the lake, with a deck overlooking the city, not the lake, for the same rate which had a light stench to it. We kept it hoping the smell would go away, and by our last night it did. I was disappointed that this Beau Rivage is NOT related to the Beau Rivage in Lauzanne which is exquisite. The staff, however was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and had a beautiful view over the lake -- on a nice day we could eat our breakfast outside. It is a historic hotel, Geneva's first, but in need of upgrading.

Room Tip: Rm 602 with the deck over the city.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smartiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 10 days as part of my business trip from end of April 2010. It was a lovely hotel with class stamped all over it. They have made it a point to attend to even the finer details. The chandelier and the carpet complemented perfectly with the modern amenities in the room. Rooms were really very spacious with high-speed internet connectivity included. Beds were really very comfy and very bi.Wish I had been there for honeymoon. The rooms are perfect for couples specifically on honeymoon. Staff was really very courteous. The smallest of the amenities were present in the room. Everything was fine, however, my only complain is that inspite of the hefty room charge, food was not included. Also, seemed to be a problem with sound proofing with sounds of water flushing been constantly heard. Had a really nice stay!!! Thanks for the excellent service!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VipulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I were delighted when we arrived for our extravagant overnight in this high luxury and spectacular room on the top floor of this ancient and beautiful hotel with a million dollar view on Lake Geneva. The Sotheby's auction was raging downstairs and the hotel atmosphere was very upscale as was the price of our room listed as 1,500 Swiss Francs (the Swiss Franc is 20 % more than the dollar) though we didn't quite pay that much. After settling in I noticed a noise coming from the room next door. It turned out that it was coming through the closet, which might have been at one time a communicating passage between two rooms, but was now simply closed with a closet door on our side and a plywood panel at the back of the closet, giving us direct sound access to the other room. We could hear our neighbour cough, speak and move about in her room as if she had been in the room with us.
When we complained to reception over the phone we didn't receive attention and when we confronted them in person they explained there was unusual commotion in the room next to ours due to HVAC repairs going on. They assured us that the guest had been relocated to another room due to the same HVAC problems which would mean we would have an empty room next to us and therefore wouldn't hear anything. We were reassured but this turned out to be false as we heard our neighbour later on in the evening. Room number was 415. Perhaps the other rooms do not have this problem, but the fact that the staff didn't solve the issue and pretended that it was the first time they heard about the poor construction separating the rooms would indicate that there are better choices in Geneva if you are in search of a very special treat that would be better built than a cardboad stage set.

Room Tip: Do not get Room # 415 or adjoining Room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IsabelleNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you have not been able to enjoy Beau-Rivage as much as expected.

Thank you for helping us to improve the way we serve our guests in Beau-Rivage. We would appreciate if you could contact us directly, at info@beau-rivage.ch , in order to have a better understanding of your experience and to provide you with a personal apology.

We are looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerly yours,

Ivan Rivier
General Manager
Beau-Rivage Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Where did the rich and famous stay 100 years ago. How was their life and in what kind of hotels did they stay. Stay at the Beau-Rivage in Geneva and you will get the answer. You will feel put back in those times, you are expecting any moment to meet Franklin D.Roosevelt or Sir Winston Churchill. Of course, even the hotel still seems to be the same as 100 years ago, modern times have arrived also here. The more modern technic is available in the spacious rooms, the bathrooms up to date. But somehow, there is no hectic, the service really great, you leave the daily stress the moment you enter the hotel. What a treat. I loved it and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelvedereCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I love the Beau Rivage. It's a superb chain, and it's nice everywhere, but the Geneve property has a special edge. The location is spectacular, it's on the lake. I've always got a lake-facing room so I'm not sure they have others, but that is an integral part of it's charm. The rooms are nice and large, and Swiss cleanliness is unquestionable even in the smallest of hotels.

Rather than eat in-house, I always prefer to walk along the lake and check out the local roesti and raclette. Much nicer (and less boring).

The view from the rooms at the Beau Rivage in Geneve are the nicest in winter, when you can see the pristine ice covered tops of brown trees.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AartiSethiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGeneva, Online Guest Relations at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Madame,

We are always more than happy to read that our guests appreciate our hotel and have a great time during their stay.

Especially when they take the time to write a review like yours. It means a lot to us and we assure you that your compliment will be forward to our team here in Beau-Rivage.

We also would like to take this opportunity to clarify that, even if we share our name with a lot of other hotels, we have been a totally independant hotel since 1865 . This probably will tell you where this "special edge" comes from ;-)
We thank you again for taking the time to write this review and sincerly hope to welcome you again very soon in Beau-Rivage.

Kind Regards

Alexandre Poncet
Online Guest Relations
Beau-Rivage Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in lake view room. This is Switzerland so it was no bargain but the room was fabulous - very large and beautifully decorated. A very classy hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasier2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed an evening at the Beau Rivage. Arranged by my business friend, it is a beautiful, first class hotel. It is definitely expensive, but not sure how it compares to other Geneva Hotel. Our room - overlooking the lake was beautiful, spacious - one of the nicest hotel rooms ever stayed in. You can see why celebrities, heads of state, etc. stay here. My only complaint was that the Geneva festival was going on during our stay, and the fair ground is right across the street and the noise level goes on to midnight. Once it closes down, we could then enjoy the hotel, etc. but quite noisy until then.

Not sure if the hotel advised my business friend about the fair when he booked. Would probably check out other hotels for better value on next visit.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kildonan_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
651 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Swiss Luxury Apartments
Swiss Luxury Apartments
#19 of 106 in Geneva
114 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 13, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £359 - £919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing