We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Dushanbe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect, Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was my third stay at Hotel Beau-Rivage. It is full of old word charm and elagence. The welcome is genuinely friendly, the staff helpful, and the view from my third floor balcony overlooking the lake was just fantastic. Of course it comes at a price, but it was certainly worth it. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_grande_dame5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    54
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
95
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The stunning architecture and lakeside location of the Beau Rivage warrant a visit alone. Though the communal areas are not large, the beautiful atrium and secluded bar are relaxing meeting spots. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed with fine fabrics, comfortable chairs, quality mattreses and large luxury bathrooms. Reception staff are professional and correct. Some attention is required, however, in the restaurant. The chef's mastery is evident in every course once it finds its way to diners, for the restaurant waiting staff does not do justice to this otherwise excellent hotel. Consistantly, particularly at lunch, orders are forgotten entirely or mis-served and a level of controlled chaos amongst the serving staff permeates the dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbdgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We always stay at the Beau Rivage when we are in Geneva, which is several times a year. We rate the hotel very highly for its prime location, the quiet courtesy of the staff who make us feel if we were staying in our own home and remember our personal preferences, and the extra effort made to create a friendly environment for our four year old daughter. We feel that there is no match in Geneva for the overall experience in terms of service and ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladawan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
295 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed five nights at a special corporate rate. The first night they put is in a small room overlooking an inner 'courtyard' which is an alley with construction and renovation going on. Because this was sort of claustrophobic, the wifi signal was poor, and because we were staying five nights, I asked for them to change us (tipping well). We were moved to a slightly larger room, part of a suite overlooking the lake, with a deck overlooking the city, not the lake, for the same rate which had a light stench to it. We kept it hoping the smell would go away, and by our last night it did. I was disappointed that this Beau Rivage is NOT related to the Beau Rivage in Lauzanne which is exquisite. The staff, however was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and had a beautiful view over the lake -- on a nice day we could eat our breakfast outside. It is a historic hotel, Geneva's first, but in need of upgrading.

Room Tip: Rm 602 with the deck over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smartiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 10 days as part of my business trip from end of April 2010. It was a lovely hotel with class stamped all over it. They have made it a point to attend to even the finer details. The chandelier and the carpet complemented perfectly with the modern amenities in the room. Rooms were really very spacious with high-speed internet connectivity included. Beds were really very comfy and very bi.Wish I had been there for honeymoon. The rooms are perfect for couples specifically on honeymoon. Staff was really very courteous. The smallest of the amenities were present in the room. Everything was fine, however, my only complain is that inspite of the hefty room charge, food was not included. Also, seemed to be a problem with sound proofing with sounds of water flushing been constantly heard. Had a really nice stay!!! Thanks for the excellent service!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I were delighted when we arrived for our extravagant overnight in this high luxury and spectacular room on the top floor of this ancient and beautiful hotel with a million dollar view on Lake Geneva. The Sotheby's auction was raging downstairs and the hotel atmosphere was very upscale as was the price of our room listed as 1,500 Swiss Francs (the Swiss Franc is 20 % more than the dollar) though we didn't quite pay that much. After settling in I noticed a noise coming from the room next door. It turned out that it was coming through the closet, which might have been at one time a communicating passage between two rooms, but was now simply closed with a closet door on our side and a plywood panel at the back of the closet, giving us direct sound access to the other room. We could hear our neighbour cough, speak and move about in her room as if she had been in the room with us.
When we complained to reception over the phone we didn't receive attention and when we confronted them in person they explained there was unusual commotion in the room next to ours due to HVAC repairs going on. They assured us that the guest had been relocated to another room due to the same HVAC problems which would mean we would have an empty room next to us and therefore wouldn't hear anything. We were reassured but this turned out to be false as we heard our neighbour later on in the evening. Room number was 415. Perhaps the other rooms do not have this problem, but the fact that the staff didn't solve the issue and pretended that it was the first time they heard about the poor construction separating the rooms would indicate that there are better choices in Geneva if you are in search of a very special treat that would be better built than a cardboad stage set.

Room Tip: Do not get Room # 415 or adjoining Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IsabelleNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you have not been able to enjoy Beau-Rivage as much as expected.

Thank you for helping us to improve the way we serve our guests in Beau-Rivage. We would appreciate if you could contact us directly, at info@beau-rivage.ch , in order to have a better understanding of your experience and to provide you with a personal apology.

We are looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerly yours,

Ivan Rivier
General Manager
Beau-Rivage Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Where did the rich and famous stay 100 years ago. How was their life and in what kind of hotels did they stay. Stay at the Beau-Rivage in Geneva and you will get the answer. You will feel put back in those times, you are expecting any moment to meet Franklin D.Roosevelt or Sir Winston Churchill. Of course, even the hotel still seems to be the same as 100 years ago, modern times have arrived also here. The more modern technic is available in the spacious rooms, the bathrooms up to date. But somehow, there is no hectic, the service really great, you leave the daily stress the moment you enter the hotel. What a treat. I loved it and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
624 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 13, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing