We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for history buffs and cigar puffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
375 reviews
359 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Good for history buffs and cigar puffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Murder of Sissi and presumably German politician Uwe Barschel ... founding of Czech Republic ... Hotel history lovers will feel at home in the Beau-Rivage. The rather new tented fumoir on the terrace is great for cigar addicts and a place to meet interesting people. The overall look and feel is a bit too puffy, floral, overladen for my taste, but it does create a certain high-level intimacy. Service can be mixed, probably because of the many outside guests, until they know you. My first choice in Geneva remains the La Reserve (the other hotel in town with a cigar room), but admittedly the Beau-Rivage's location is much better, being walking distance to Rue du Rhone and a direct view on the lake fountain.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear TrophyCollector,

I would like to thank you for your recent comment.

We are delighted that you enjoy our fumoir.

We can also understand your comments regarding the design, however we at Beau-Rivage do our utmost in order to maintain a sense of authenticty and to respect the property’s heritage.
We are disappointed to learn that the level service you experienced is not up to parr. We would be very happy if you would contact us on info@beau-rivage.ch in order to let us know exactly what has taken place.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Beau-Rivage, Geneva..

Regards,
Ivan Rivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    54
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
95
26
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Beau-Rivage, Geneva, is a genuine luxury hotel in the European tradition, mercifully free of unnecessary modern incursions yet obviously offering the best in comfort and conveniences you would expect from a 5 star establishment. This type of hotel is becoming more rare these days as the international chains take over but hopefully when they do a refurbishment the old world ambience will be retained.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear rc51,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment regarding our property. We do indeed take pride in offering the latest comforts and technology while retaining a sense of authenticity.
We look forward to welcoming you to Beau-Rivage, Geneva again soon.

Regards,
Ivan Rivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hotel Beau Rivage was the perfect way to end a perfect Honeymoon. It was a wonderful blend of old and new. The bedroom was traditional but light, whilst the bathroom was wonderful and modern. The location is perfect for walking, shopping, seeing and being seen. Staff were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Lake Geneva
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

One of the best places I have ever stayed (been to a lot of places)..! This place is like going back in time... All the way back to 1865 if you like... The history here is perhaps more than any other hotel you could stay at, from murders of royalty to the country of Czechoslovakia being signed into existence here... The decor would be best described as classical or baroque style... Service is top notch all the way... From here you can step out into one of the most beautiful cities in Europe if not the world..!

Room Tip: Any room that fits your budget will do just fine..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My friend and I travelled all through Europe by train and took the Queen Mary 2 to and from Europe. We stayed at all 5-star hotels in Paris, Rome, Florence, Geneve (Beau-RIvage), Salzburg, Munich, Amsterdam, Brussels and London. By far, my favorite hotel of all of these was the Beau-Rivage Geneve. It was just what one would expect of an old European luxury hotel with all the modern conveniences. It is beautiful, both inside and outside, lovely, elegant, full of old world charm and the interiors were extremely beautiful and traditional, which is why I wanted to stay here in the first place. I would highly recommend the Beau-Rivage Geneve over any other hotel in Europe in which we stayed on this trip. I would also like to add that the concierges were absolutely wonderful as well: very friendly, informative and since this was our first trip to Geneve, they were very patient with our many questions.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room facing Lake Geneva, as the views are absolutely gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Classic, uneventful, yet present. All this hotel needs is a major refurbishment and it would be the jewel of Geneva.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivere_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

very well located just in front of the lake, this little jem is a wonderful place to stay in, rooms are of a very good size and very well decorated, loved both the Jaccuzi in the bathroom as well as the shower which you can transform to a Hammam, really really nice.
Our room had a stunning view on the lake and at the Jet d'eau and hotel staff are very helpful and professional.
I would go back for sure to the Beau rivage Geneve.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 13, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing