We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good value for money”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and good value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went to the Hotel Central for a recent weekend away with a group of friends, and it was a better experience than I could have hoped for ( I must admit I was slightly nervous after reading some of the more negative reviews, but the good reviews definately were on point).

We were a group of 8 and were splt between a quad, triple and single room; and I know many of us, including those that have been to Geneva before, are considering booking here again. My room, the single, was spacious had great ameneties, and lovely little balcony with great views over Geneva; the triple was on my floor, and also boasted a balcony, great views and size.

Breakfast is delivered every morning, and with the little tables in the rooms, is quite enjoyable. The hoetl is very well located to walk around the city with ease, and the hotel offers free transport cards, which includes the little boat ferry around Geneva.

The staff was friendly, amenable and full of tips, and you cannot do with a better location in visiting Geneva

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear London T

Glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time in our little family hotel....the balconies are a great asset but yes not always easy to please all.
Guest comments are important to us and very helpfull mostly, but sometimes people can be a little destructive rather than constructive....but better being talked about than not at all...

Have a lovely summer
With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    173
    98
    37
    19
See reviews for
85
152
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our family group of five is staying two nights in Apartment 42 and we are liking it very much. It is very nicely furnished and very clean. There is plenty of space for all of us. There is no a.c. but this hasn't been a problem since there are many lovely big windows to open to get cool breezes, especially at night. Due to construction in the area and street noise (we can see three cranes from our windows and there is nightlife somewhere below us) we kept one of the bedroom windows closed last night but were still comfortable due to the abundance of other windows. We don't have big windows like this back home; maybe if we did we wouldn't need air conditioning. The staff here is very helpful and has given us good directions to area sights.

Four things to add to all the other good comments about this hotel: The PP Pharmacie Principale at the Confederation Centre right next door is an excellent source for any kind of medical or drugstore item you may need. In our case it was bandages and I've never gotten such great help picking out bandages before. Second, the Du Molard Geneve shop of fine food up the street at 20 Rue du Marche had every kind of ready-to-cook meats and ready-to-eat fine foods (vegetables, breads, desserts) that one could want for a fine meal back at the apartment. Expensive, but cheaper than eating out, which is amazingly expensive. Somewhere nearby I saw a Coop grocery store, but I don't remember where. Third, the Wifi ( from the living room) is very good and met the insatiable demands of my preteen and teen boys. And last, a trip on bus 8 ( pick up at Rive, two blocks down Rue du Marche) to Telepherique Saleve (a funicular going up a steep mountain) is well worth the time (20 min bus ride, 10 min walk, and maybe an hour or two at the top). A variety of hiking along with great views of the city and a good snack bar and a fabulous gourmet restaurant at the top.

Oh, I forgot the breakfast which was much better than I expected. A fresh croissant and roll for each of us also with good coffee, hot chocolate and juice, Very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear misoMaryland

What else can we say but thank you for your comments and for taking the time to give future guests an insight into the hotel and the city of Geneva.

With many thanks
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a night at the Central hotel in May 2012, It is perfectly situated in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the old town. Everywhere is walkable from the lake to the wonderful islets, and the Rive for shopping. The rooms are simple yet cozy, and there are styles for all budgets. What makes this hotel complete is the wonderful generosity of the Gangsted Family. Hotelier's through and through, trained at the prestigious Ecole Hoteliere de Lausanne. I was awoken to a cute little continental breakfast tray outside my door which was very unexpected. I will ofcourse stay at the Central if I ever have a night to spend in Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi2hotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Rishi2hotty

Thank you for your kind remarks which made us very proud.
It was good to hear that our simple family hotel exceeded your expectations and that you may return on your next trip to Geneva.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are a family of two adults and three children and has lived in several of the rooms in the hotel. We can only recommend this hotel. The hotel is a cozy family hotel and the host family are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very centrally located in the middle of geneva close to shopping street. Rooms are clean and there is a good breakfast, which is well served in the rooms.

Best regards
Thorsen Family, Denmark

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staunsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear staunsbjerg

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feelings on the hotel.
We were only worried that you had to move a few times due to the high occupancy of our hotel but happy to hear that you enjoyed each and every different category of room.
Next time we hope you can book early so as to garantee the same room/appartment for the whole stay.
We wish you a pleasant summer and do not hesitate to contact us if necessary.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hotel Central is set in a reasonable location in Geneva town centre. The initial appearance was reasonably welcoming except for a very steep 6 storey walk to the reception on the top floor. a lift was available, but it only had the capacity for 2 people which is not very useful for a large group of 34 teenagers going to CERN. The rooms appeared initially clean and tidy and well presented, the two bathrooms were clean but painfully small, even for a 5"1 person. All seemed acceptable until the exceptionally poor quality fold out bed was stood one once. When that happened, one of the very thin wooden slats was dislodged giving an appearance of a broken bed. However if you looked closely, you could see that it wasn't broken at all. This accident was met with a furious old witch of an owner who threatened to call the police over such a trivial incident which could very easily be solved although she wasn't willing to see this. Additionally, the breakfast in rooms service was exceptionally poor. In my room, we ordered 3 teas and 2 coffees. Instead we were met with 5 teas ( and we were given only one tea bag between all 5 of us), no milk and no coffee. The room was reasonable but the service was absolutely atrocious with no glimpse of humanity or common sense, and instead pure rudeness, arrogance and stubbornness.

Room Tip: If you really want to choose a good room, avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Jay E

We have read your comments and I do not want to enter into any further discussions as it is quite clear that your comments have been influenced by the fact that my wife asked you to pay for the damages caused (which never took place as the bed was repaired by one of the teachers )....I wonder what your parents would say if you used a good quality bed as a trampoline at home?
These discussions took place in front of your teacher (who by the waythe school was very pleased with thestay of their student group) and therefore I will send a copy of your remarks to them as well.
With age you learn to controll your emotions and stay objective and respectfull.
By the way to be clear there was never any talk of the police and the hotel has 2 lifts, each one for 4 persons.


With regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a one night stop over in Geneva. We actually had a hard time finding this hotel. It is in a mini-mall type building, and after finally finding it, we could not get in (reception is on an upper floor, but you can only get in to the elevator by buzzing - which no one answered). We only got in because someone was leaving. We booked a room with bunk beds, so it was what we expected. The room was an ok size, but the shower was tiny. We had a TV, but it did not work. Overall it was clean, and our service was ok. Breakfast was very basic, just juice, hot drink and a croissant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear rjaustin

Thank you for your comments.
It is very true that you stayed in our smallest and simplest room hence the name "budget" and the price of only SFr 105.- for 2 people including a simple breakfast.....considered excellent value for Geneva in such a central location.
If next time you are staying a few more days we recommend a compact room with a double bed and bathroom at SFr 125.- per night, or an even larger standard room at SFr 155.-, all inclusive of tax and continental breakfast served in the room.
I know it is unusual with the reception on the 6th floor but it also creates the homely feel which our regulars appreciate.
Once again thankyou for taking the time to write.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Easy to find, on a usually quiet street.
They took down our choice for breakfast and delivered it at the room at 7 so that we could leave at 7:15 in the morning, as discussed.

Staff speak very limited English and took a long time to check us in.
The main door is locked at night and can be a hassle to open all those doors but we didn't mind.
Tiny room for even 2 people, and then with a foldaway third bed, we had to crawl over the bed to get to the other side of the room.
Construction in progress just across the street, so even though we were on a quite street, it can can get uncomfortable if you plan to get up late.

Free Geneva transport card, close to the train/ trolley bus tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear RRay84

Thank you for your comments and that all in all you were happy here.
Your room was a small room but guests tell us good value for Geneva....we do have larger rooms even appartments with 2 to 3 bedrooms but as you say for a short stay a small room was enough.
Sorry that it was noisy in the morning but unfortunately rubbish and bottles are collected early and can disturb...the renovation fortunately stops at 8 pm but no work on week ends.
Surprised to hear poor english because this is normally one of our strong points at reception...a chamber mais maybe possible?
We have a hotel school intern so I apologise for the delay in checking in...she just started.

Thank you again and we wish you happy travels and maybe hope to see you again some time.
With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#75 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#39 of 105 in Geneva
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#41 of 105 in Geneva
1,272 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
103 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#22 of 105 in Geneva
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing