We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO CHOCOLATES ON PILLOW HERE”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This would have to be one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in. The home webpage photos do not show room 39 which is not suitable for a mature age couple. The double bed with lumpy springs was pushed up against the wall and we needed to climb over each other to get into it. there was room only for a single wardrobe and very small table for your breakfast. The entry into the room from the passage door was via the WC and shower. The shower was mouldy and there were cracked and chipped tiles under the bathroom. When booking we asked for a quiet room. This one is situated opposite a demolition site. Thankfully we arrived on the weekend and for only a couple of days. Erik, I know your response will be that you get what you pay for but I feel some warning should be given to your clients before providing rooms like this.
On the plus side ... Alice - your receptionist was very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simmoqqqq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear simmoqqqq2,

Even though we were very disappointed to read your comments, thank you for taking the time to make us aware of our weaknesses. It is a shame that these comments were not brought to our attention during your stay, so that we could have changed your room for the second night.
Room 39 is one of our smaller rooms (hence called "Compact Room") and is very popular with our guests. Yes, I agree, it is not very comfortable to have to crawl over another person to get to bed, but we wanted to offer a good-value-for-money option for a couple not wanting to spend the normal high rates Geneva hotels demand. Unfortunately, in the centre of town where space is limited and expensive, this comes with certain compromises.
However, I agree, the mould reported in the bathroom is unacceptable - this has been immediately resolved. As for the chipped tiles, we have a renovation program in progress and Room 39 is yet to be done.
Concerning the building site - this was not mentioned upon reservation, as work is not done on evenings, nights or weekends, and therefore should not disturb our guests' sleep. The esthetic aspect of a building site is unfortunately out of our control but will provide a nicer view in the future.
We have forwarded your positive comments regarding Alice, and we thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in better conditions, and do not hesitate to contact me directly for a future reservation.

Best regards,
Erik Gangsted
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

I previously wrote a review of the lovely Hotel Central, in the Old Town area of Geneva, Switzerland, in 2012 entitled 'A Calm and Peaceful Place to Stay'. Well, given that you're not allowed to edit a review once you've sent it in, I thought I would write an update. I've just returned from my third trip to both Geneva and Hotel Central and I'm happy to say that NOTHING has changed since I first wen there in May 2011. The service is still excellent, the rooms clean and always left impeccabily by the maids, and the staff were still incredibly helpful and polite. So, if anyone is looking for a hotel in Geneva, this is still the place to be.

Thank you again, Hotel Central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Simon J

Thank you for your nice comments.
We were happy to hear that you had another good stay with us and your remarks have been passed on to the staff.
Hopefully we can welcome you back for another visit and wish you and your family a lovely summer.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Nice place and very well located. It's value for money. One thing is perhaps to add satellite would be really nice.
I stayed there for 6 weeks and had a good time. The guys a the reception are really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitBss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear RitBss

Thank you for your thoughts on Hôtel Central.
I have passed on the comments about our staff and they very much thank you as it is not often people take the time to thank them.
We have over 30 channels and satelaite for all the rooms is very expensive for the little demand.
Thank you again and hope to be able to welcome you back some day.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Its very basic. The room I had was small but bright with a nice big window. It did have some sort of a view. The hotel certainly needs to have a bigger sign, as its not easy to find it. Being int he centre of Geneva its close to many of the attractions. Breakfast is served in the room, which could be annoying if you are planning to sleep in a late. Getting to the hotel is not difficult, there are tram stops quite closeby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anoop350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear anoop350

Happy to read that you found value for money which is one of our main objectives.
From the beginning the questionnaires remarked the request to only have breakfast served i9n the rooms and appartments, but I can understand that on w/ends and on holiday it is nice to be able to sleep in....we are sorry if we got you out of bed.
Thank you for your time and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.

With best wishes for a warm summer
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at their quadruple room and I was extremely pleased with the stay. The hotel is located in a safe, central area in the Old Town, with easy access to all the shopping areas, as well as buses and trams at the Place Bel Air just 5 minutes walk away. The room itself was clean and comfortable. No carpets which was perfect for me. The wifi was very strong and the counter staff allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout.

Only slightly unusual thing was the toilet arrangement. There were 2 toilets in the quadruple room and 1 was so tiny you could not sit without opening the door. But it was clean and comfortable, and I've experienced far worse. The room was spacious, with TV, DVD player and table for breakfast. Geneva is expensive and this hotel was a bargain for the price (about 500 CHF for 4 people in total for the 2 night stay). If I were to ever return to Geneva, I would stay here again.

We had to pay at check-in, which is odd for a hotel, so just get your money ready at check-in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FireRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hello there

Thank you for your contribution to our guest comments which we take very seriously.
Many rooms are adapted to the supporting walls and were initially appartments so I do apologise for some of the very tight bathrooms...but better to have 2 tight bathrooms than one large is what the majority of our guests say. to us.

We wish a wonderfull summer break
With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very good, needs some explanation: In the very center of geneva, very small room, breakfast (included) served to the very clean room, free bus ticket, - that what you need if you come to see geneva in 2-3 days. The arrangement of the toilet is not usual, but the value of money, very cheap next to other hotels is very good. mostly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zami_ra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear zami_ra70

Thank you for your remarks which were very helpfull for future guests.
Yes our compact rooms, all 9 of them have a small hallway leading onto the bathroom...compact in all ways which is why we named the room that way!...
The value for money is appreciated by most and there accept the compactness!!
Thank you again and we wish you a wonderfull summer.

With many regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I went to the Hotel Central for a recent weekend away with a group of friends, and it was a better experience than I could have hoped for ( I must admit I was slightly nervous after reading some of the more negative reviews, but the good reviews definately were on point).

We were a group of 8 and were splt between a quad, triple and single room; and I know many of us, including those that have been to Geneva before, are considering booking here again. My room, the single, was spacious had great ameneties, and lovely little balcony with great views over Geneva; the triple was on my floor, and also boasted a balcony, great views and size.

Breakfast is delivered every morning, and with the little tables in the rooms, is quite enjoyable. The hoetl is very well located to walk around the city with ease, and the hotel offers free transport cards, which includes the little boat ferry around Geneva.

The staff was friendly, amenable and full of tips, and you cannot do with a better location in visiting Geneva

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear London T

Glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time in our little family hotel....the balconies are a great asset but yes not always easy to please all.
Guest comments are important to us and very helpfull mostly, but sometimes people can be a little destructive rather than constructive....but better being talked about than not at all...

Have a lovely summer
With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#37 of 106 in Geneva
277 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
106 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 106 in Geneva
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing