We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed with room fee!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with room fee!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a room in the Hotel Central months ago. Double room for 2 adults. My husband and I are traveling with our son, who just turned 4 years old this April. He always sleeps with us, and we always book a double bed room. To my surprise, as soon as we arrived at the hotel Central, Geneva, they told us they could not accommodate us in a double room, because we were in 3. They charged us DOUBLED the price for 2 nights, from us$270 to almost U$ 460.00, for a small bedroom with an extra bed, that we did not use, as our son still sleeps with us. The owner told us "by law they can not put 3 people in a double room". I am not sure what type of law is that, we are traveling through Switzerland, and we never had any problems in booking a double room for 2 adults, and getting our toddler in. They never offered any discount, they didnt even let us know how much more it would be, they simply told us they would make us a favor in rearranging other guests to accommodate us, and the upgrade room would cost more. How much more? Almost $200, for a small room, no fridge, nothing special. Breakfast was included but very plain simple: coffee, croissants, butter , jam, orange juice. Location is good, room is clean but old and very tight. We would be satisfied if the price was correct. My husband and I really felt the price was not correct, and we felt we got robbed on that one. We have traveled to Europe, Asia, America before, and we never heard that a small child in a room will count as a third person and you have to book a triple room. Right now we are in Bern, Switzerland, and we have a very spacious double room, where the 3 of us can sleep well in one big bed. The room has small refrigerator, very spacious, great location, and they never said they could not accommodate a 4 year old in a double bed room! And we paid $120 a night, not 250...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DGF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear DGF8

We have noted your comments with surprise.
Not all hotels have the same regulations and your hotel in Berne may be different.
The room you booked was for a maximum of 2 persons as it was stipulated on your reservation confirmation. This room is for a maximum of 2 persons. A 4 year old child is a person. The room has not even enough space for a babycot nor an extra bed for a 4 year old.
Our compact rooms are small rooms, hence the name compact, with a 140x 200 double bed perfect for 2 persons who are looking for a good value option in the centre of Geneva.
When you checked in and we realised you were 3 persons we moved a regular customer to a smaller room, as the hotel was full as it often is, to give you a bigger room with an extra bed.
Can you imagine that if we accept children of that age to sleep in their parents beds...at what age do we stop and for how many children? Do we serve them breakfast?
We are really disappointed with your remarks as we really did our best to get you a bigger room to accomodate the 3 of you as our rules stated in our reservation confirmation copy....that you also received before arrival.
This is the way we have been working for many years to insure the comfort and safety of families with children.
You stayed 2 nights and it is a shame you did not come to see us to discuss your feelings in the rate...we could have maybe done something then!

Thank you for your understanding and we are really unhappy that you left the Hotel Central feeling let down.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    169
    98
    35
    18
See reviews for
82
150
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is at 5,6 floor in a building in a center of Geneve, close to the old town. The owners are gently. Our room was really small but was ok if you think that is Geneve. Room was clean, with SAT tv and wifi. Breakfast was served in room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pit-Roma-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is situated close to the Lake in the City of Geneva so is in an ideal location.
The Hotel is on the (top) 6th Floor of a building that has shops and a restaurant on the ground floor.. then office space on the subsequent levels.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a new Receptionist (in training) who was very polite, helpful, friendly and professional.. as indeed all the staff are including the owner Christine.
The Hotel is very clean but the decor is a little dated and the whole place would benefit from a re-refurbishment.
The rooms are very compact which felt a little claustraphobic. For example, when I closed the toilet door my knees were squashed against it and I'm only 158cm! Again, the shower cubicle was so small I could barely turn 360 degrees in it.
The room has a t.v and dvd player and you can hire DVD's from Reception for CHF 5.
Breakfast is served promptly to your door each morning at your preferred time and for each guest.. consists of one croissant, one bread roll, spread/jams etc, orange juice and hot beverage.
Free Wifi is available in all areas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaz3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear kaz3699

Thank you for your comments which were very much appreciated.
Yes we work with some new Swiss Hotel School Management Trainees, one way to help develop professional hotel employees for the industry and insure they can easily be molded in our way of doing things.
I am glad, even only after a few days, she lived up to your expectations.
It is very true that the hotel is not brand new and the furishings are not the most modern, but in our iopinion as long as it is clean, good service and value for money then we have respected our contract with our guests.
Thank you again and hope to see you back here soon.

With regards, also fro9m Christine,
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel Central was an acceptable place to stay in an expensive city. The room we had was spacious and clean but had not been updated for awhile. A petit dejeuner was provided and the desk manager was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradotravel000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear coloradotravel000

Thank you for your brief comments and we were happy that you enjoyed your visit.
Yes, the hotel is not brand new and does have some clasical furniture which gives the place a certain atmosphere.
I do not hide from you that we would like to update some furniture, but one can't do it all.
It is important for us that it is clean with good and friendly service at a decent price for Geneva.
Thank you again.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
851 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Visit Geneva in Jan 2012 and only found time to write the review now. But here's the rundown.

1. Service - this is probably the best part of this quaint little hotel. It's not a full hotel as, don't expect room service that you might find on the chains, but the hotel is family-run i think and the staff that runs it on the day to day are quite cool and friendly.

2. Breakfast is served daily in the room. Was pretty yummy.

3. Bed/Room - don't expect this to be St Regis. It's a great place to crash for the night and that's it. The beds are comfortable, the room is clean enough with all the basic stuff there. Do request to the biggest room, as I understand the other rooms may not be as good. My room came with a large space and in-room shower. The view from the room was amazing though. Swiss Alps in the background.

4. The wifi is up and down most of the time. Best to get your own pre-paid sim card and tether from the phone.

5. Location. Was. Amazing. Right outside would be the main shopping street of Geneva old time. and the next road is the lakefront. Near all the stops/trams and just a short distance to the train station. This is probably the best thing about the hotel. For its location, you can't fault the price. It's amazing.

6. Food - there's a shopping arcade right oppposite that has a amazing seafood restaurant called Lipps. It was pretty good. Other F&B outlets are within walking distance. You can walk up the street and you'll find the restaurants and bars. All within walking distance.

7. At night, the reception closes, and you'll need your room key to access the hotel, which in a way makes me felt quite safe.

8. Finally, as a guest in Geneva, public transportation is free. Request the card from the reception.

Room Tip: Request the biggest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuiTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear JuiHong

What an efficient guest comment email.....thank you very helpfull for us as owners!
Glad you enjoyed your stay....we will however immediately look into the wifi issue which is not normal as long as you do not download heavy films and so on.
Thank you again.

See you soon and with best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Central as my first impression was not favorable. First of all, it is hard to find on the street as its tucked away in an office building. Reception is on the sixth floor and the lifts were quite small. However, the hotel staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. The rooms were tidy and comfortable with the necessary amenities. We stayed in a double room with a very comfy queen sized bed and my children stayed in a spacious quad room with two single beds and a bunk bed. Lastly, the location is superb; walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Unfortunately we have little to say on how to signpost the hotel....I agree it is not always easy to see the sign...
Glad however that you enjoyed our simple facilities....being in a great location does help!!

Hope to see you back here one day.
With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in a triple room. The room had a bunkbed and pulldown bed, which were all wide and very comfortable – no creaking, good mattress and pillow, big warm blanket. The round balcony was on the corner of the house and had nice views on all sides. There was a shower in the room (nice hot water, with good pressure), but the toilet was on the hallway. Maybe it was my luck, but I never saw anyone else using the toilet, though the hotel seemed rather full. There were two big downsides though: 1) the room was extremely tiny - it was more of a train or boat cabin size, which made passing each other in the room almost impossible; 2) there was no sound isolation, so you could hear everything from the streets, hallways and other rooms. Neither of the downsides were a big problem for us, as we only came to the hotel for 1 night and I always travel with earplugs, so after tucking them into my ears I got a good night sleep.
Breakfast was usually European - fresh roll and croissant with jam and butter, but after eating them both I was totally full.

Overall I quite liked the ambiance and in case of transit in Geneva would stay again.

Room Tip: Take earplugs and when taking a triple room, don't plan much indoor time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at0mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi at0mik

Lovely to read your comments about your stay.
Yes the triple budget room is the best value for money in town but also quite small....
We try to have a selection for all budgets so pls have a look on our website where there is a selection og larger rooms/studios but also a little more expensive.
Thank you again and do not hesitate to contact us when you are thinking of visiting Geneva again.

Wth best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#79 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#40 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#77 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing