We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms for 2 people”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed 1 night here in order to catch an early morning flight. The service/staff is friendly and accommodating, however the double room (bunk beds) is VERY small. The upper bunk is so low that it is quiet uncomfortable in the lower bunk. There is barely any room to set your bag and get things in/out of it. Other than that it was clean and pretty quiet. I'd prefer a larger room next time though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank hey_jtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear hey_jtravel

Thank you for taking the time to write down your impressions.
Yes it is very true that it is a very small room and the smallest category we have in the hotel.
This is why we call the room a "budget room" and it is probably one of the best value rooms in Geneva.
Please have a look on our website and you will see that we have many other catogories to choose between on your next trip.
Thank you once again and we look forward to showing you one of our larger rooms.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Central had our room ready as we requested even though we were early. We were upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. Nice! It is a bit hard to find but once you are there it is great. The welcome was warm. The delivered breakfast was breads, condiments and coffee. Close to the old town as well as the Geneva fountain and very close to a tram hub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Margaret H

Thank you for your nice comments...
hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is unusual in being set on the 5th and 6th floors above a shopping centre in the heart of Geneva. The accommodation is basic but the welcome and pleasant treatment of the staff is truly heart-warming. We had moved there after being in a very expensive business hotel on the other side of the river. The hotel is family-owned and they treat the guests with great courtesy and consideration. Breakfast is brought to your room at the agreed time and consists of very fresh croissants, coffee, tea etc. Do not expect luxury - but if you are looking for a perfectly decent, bargain priced room then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear MaryB37

I am so glad we were able to meet your expectations after having stayed in a more luxury hotel.
Thank you for the comments about the staff and I have passed them onto them.

Hope to see you back here soon and remain with best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The perfect location in the heart of the City. A comfortable base to explore both the Old City and the commercial centre. A little noisy first thing in the morning when the refuse collectors come round but that is the price for being in the heart of things. Very comfortable bed and spacious well appointed sitting room in our Junior Suite which included a fridge so we could supplement the simple breakfast served promptly in our room. Thoroughly recommend this a a good value place in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JC5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear JC5586

So pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the city of Geneva.
Yes the city is trying to keep things clean and unfortunately a little noisy in the morning during the week.

With best regards and thanks again
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Such a great location, central to everything!

We did get the basic room, up on the 5th floor, just one bunk bed and a shower/sink combo.

The room had a balcony looking out into the city, honestly the most beautiful sight and addition to our stay. we were so happy!

The staff were VERY friendly, and I can't thank them enough for all the help!

They gave us a city map, and she marked our all the spots and bus numbers for us, if we wanted to go! As well as marking where the hotel was on the map, which is always helpful!

A great spot, super clean, and lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mleginus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear mleginus

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to be able to welcome you back one day.

With many thanks
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My father and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Geneva, and we would definitely return. The room was rather typical European; space-conscious and with strange space efficiencies (such as a toilet immediately next to the room door, bunk beds, etc), but perfect for us, and with a beautiful French window/doors opening to a small terrace overlooking a roundabout and shopping plaza. The staff was kind, courteous, and very helpful with my father, who is disabled, and accommodated both our non-existent French and our special needs.

Of particular delight was the continental breakfast (petit dejuneur), which was delivered to our room each morning, complete with croissants, hard roll, coffee, and juice.

The room was sparse but clean and comfortable, and the free wi-fi really helped us find killer spots to visit! Downtown and the lake were a 5 minute walk, Old Geneva is even closer, the train station is only 15 minutes walking.

All around, a great stay for a couple or small family traveling on a budget!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMMasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear JMMasters.

Thank you so much for your comments and we were happy to be of help.
Your father was a wonderfull man and a pleasure to have at the hotel.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location in Geneva, all tourist sites in walking distance, free transport from airport, get your ticket on arrival at ticket machine, hotel then gives you a travelcard to use on trams

clean room, and breakfast in your room a bonus
would recommend !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherineanne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear katherine.

Thank you for your comments....makes it all worth while.
Hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#80 of 109 in Geneva
186 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#37 of 109 in Geneva
471 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing