We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Central for one night in late June after spending two weeks in France. The beds were uncomfortable, the breakfast food was stale and there was no hot water. Not what we expected in Geneva. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Stacey R

We have noted your comments which we do not really understand and find very radical.

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    169
    98
    35
    18
See reviews for
82
150
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was traveling with three of my cousins and we throughly enjoyed our stay here! The location is a few steps away from Old Town and a few blocks from the Lake. The hotel room was clean, beds were comfortable and the simple breakfast was a wonderful way to start our days! Yes the room was a bit pricey but we had two bathrooms, four beds and were close to everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Hanna R

Thank you for your comments and we were happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is well located, a short walk to the river and a main bus/tram stop and is well priced in a very expensive city. The reception area is beautifully decorated and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The water is hot and there is a nice little balcony on each room.

So, if you are looking for something reasonably priced in a central location, this hotel could work for you, but...

The pictures on the internet are deceptive - from the outside the hotel looks great, but it is only the top 2 floors of the building you see, and inside is not quite the same as you expect from the outside or from reception.

We stayed in a 'small double room', and it was VERY small - there was just enough room to get past the bed with a suitcase and we kept falling over our luggage. The bedroom door couldn't open fully because the bed was in the way (and the bed was pushed against the wall on the other side). In this tiny room, there was also a table and chest of drawers so there was even less space. Overall, it felt smaller than an inside cabin on a cruise ship.

The bathroom was also tiny and cramped - if you are carrying any extra weight, you would not fit in the shower.

Entry from the corridor to the room is via the bathroom - as you open your door, the toilet is in front of you! This feels bad from a hygiene perspective, especially as the bathroom is not 100% clean.

The room is also dark - it has wood paneling which sounds like a nice idea, but in such a small area, it is just dark, especially as there is only a window on the short end of the room and the electric lights are not very bright.

There is no aircon so you need to leave the balcony door open to get air at night in summer - the hotel is above a bar/restaurant, so the room was very noisy at night and the noise only stopped at 4.30am on Saturday morning!

Breakfast is served in room, not a separate dining room. This means that your breakfast passes over the toilet on entering the room before being consumed in the cramped space, sitting on the bed. The food itself was not great either - just croissant, roll and jam.

The hotel is also not so well maintained and looks like it needs a revamp.

Be careful of selecting this room unless you are thin - it is for small people only

Room Tip: We selected the 'small double room' - its VERY small and we wouldn't recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Kevin

As a frequent reviewer of hotels we appreciate your frankness but were nevertheless disappointed with your views.
You chose our simplest and smallest room category, named a compact room for that reason, and yes is compact but very popular due to the value for money aspect compared to many hotels in Geneva...
It is definitely not a room to stay for a week as a couple with much luggage.
We are on 4 floors with 80 beds and have other categories of rooms with larger space and airconditioning etc. F.ex our standard or large rooms may suit you better next time but at a slightly higher rate.

Thank you again and best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It might be worth bearing in mind whilst reading this review that I stayed in another very central hotel which was a cut above this one on nearly all dimensions but while subjectively, that hotel might be in the back of my mind as a reference point, my objective rating based on the relative cost and price-quality ratio would probably still be the same.

Let’s start off with the good points. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good with strong water pressure. The Wi-fi worked well. You also have access to a balcony, flat-screen TV and a fan. As with virtually all hotels in Geneva and in Switzerland as a whole, you're provided with a free transport ticket which comes in very handy.

The staff were efficient and professional. They serve breakfast in your room at a pre-agreed time……I have to admit that the lazy reason why I decided to stay for a night in this hotel was just to get this experience of essentially having breakfast in bed! It was simple and basic but adequate, consisting of a croissant, bread, butter and marmalades, a glass of orange juice and a drink of your choice specified when you inform them of the serving time (any time between 7am and 9am).

The hotel is situated on the 5th and 6th floors of a shopping centre so the rooms are quiet and any street noise is barely audible though the sound-proofing within the rooms themselves isn’t the best; I could hear other people’s conversations in the neighbouring room quite clearly. That said, it’s not a big problem but it depends on how loud or considerate your neighbouring guests are; I got lucky with mine as there was barely any noise after I arrived back at around half 9 at night. Also, as the hotel’s name suggests, it is very central, situated in the Old Town of Geneva. The cathedral is only a 5-minute walk away, a tram stop is only 2-minutes away and Bel-Air, where you can catch trams to many points/destinations within the city, including the train station and airport, is also a 5-minute walk away.

Now for the bad points….. If other reviews are anything to go by, they don’t seem to have had any major security issues with it but it was slightly concerning that they don’t seem to have any system in place for ensuring that you will get back any luggage or bags that you leave with them when you arrive early, like some kind of ticket allocation that other hotels have and which isn’t too difficult to implement. So guests are entrusted to take only what belongs to them which doesn’t seem like a very stable way of going about it.

Regarding the room itself – not sure whether it is just because I had a room on the corner of the corridor – but now I understand why they call it the ‘compact’ room; it’s not spacious at all. I completely agree with whoever said it appears that they have tried to fit in as many rooms as possible into this hotel; it is a very apt name for such a room. As soon as I stepped in through the doorway, I was in the bathroom and the bedroom was through a door on the right. The light switch for the bathroom was a little difficult to locate, it was next to hairdryer in the far left corner. The plumbing system has to be one of noisiest I’ve ever known; every time I flushed the toilet, there was this loud, strange, unpleasant noise.

The lighting in the bedroom was poor; it was lit by 3 small lights which illuminated only the TV and a bit of the area surrounding it. It’s not really adequate for using a laptop on the table in the evening. It might also be worth noting that this hotel is not a strictly non-smoking hotel; there is a notice stating that smokers should air their rooms to avoid setting off the smoke alarms.

Finally, this isn’t a bad point but just something to note if you do decide to stay in this hotel: the key for your room also opens the entrance door on the ground floor. However, it won’t work on the actual door; it only works on the keyhole on or near the intercom system on the left. They don’t seem to communicate this key information (if you’ll excuse the pun) to everyone; luckily, it was within reception opening hours but an elderly couple almost got stranded as they didn’t realise this.

All in all, it’s a decent hotel but it would have been better value for money if they had reduced the cost of the room by around 20 – 30 Swiss francs. The truth is Hotel Bel’Esperance, around a 5-minute walk from this hotel, offered better value for money (spacious rooms, breakfast buffet) for only 5 Swiss francs more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melancholymayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear melancholymayhem

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed report after your stay.
We were happy to learn that apart from a few details you enjoyed your stay.
You were worried about the security of the hotel....did you loose anything?
We have had one or two imcidents of loss of items in 15 years but never a piece handed over to reception and put in the luggage room. We have cameras on eaxh floor, at the entrance and in the reception area and as a family hotel with staff omni present we do not feel it necessary to waste ink and paper on luggage tags....especially as there have been no incidents. If guests have special value items they are put in the large safe at reception.
Size of room. Yes we have 5 categories of rooms and your type, a compact room, is a small room but with all the necessary facilitiesrequired in a 2 star hotel.
We are sorry that the 3 spotlights were all oriented towards the TV.... we have made a note of your comment on the table lighting and yes it is a good idea and we will put a desk lamp in these rooms to make it easier to work at the desk.
We will i9nvestigate the key issue but this is the first time we hear of any difficulties.
You talk of Hotel Belle Espérance, a very nice hotel as well, which you say is SFr 5.- cheaper....if you go on the website you will see it is for a single room and SFr 170.- for a double room.
All our rates are for one or two persons....so yes if you come alone it is a little more expensive with us but for 2 a lot cheaper.
It is important for us to get feed back and I thank you again for taking time to put pen to paper..

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A friend and I rented a two bedroom apartment (Apt 44) for 5 nights while we attended a conference at Geneva University. This proved a fantastic find! Every morning at a pre-arranged time a very nice continental breakfast was delivered to our room. There was a washer/dryer, a dishwasher, and an adequately equipped kitchen. We wound up cooking all of our dinners, which saved us a bundle---eating out in Geneva is quite expensive. The apartment is very nicely decorated, with beautiful large wooden beams and very high ceilings; we were on the top floor. The location of the hotel was ideal for us. The University was just a 10 minute walk, the airport tram stop was just a block away, and two grocery stores were right across the street. The hotel is located on the edge of the old town, with its cobble-stoned streets, making for a pleasant after dinner walk, with Geneva Lake was a couple of blocks away. All of the staff were extremely nice and helpful, and we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Apartment 44 on the top floor would be ideal for 2-3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Philip M

We were so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Central Geneva in one of our appartments.
Thank you for letting us know and we hope to be able to be of service again on your next visit to Geneva.

Thank you again and best rgards
Erik Gangsted
Owner Hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

In the evening, the very center of Geneva is perhaps not the most happening neighborhood of the city. However, if that's where you need/ decide to stay, and if you're on a budget, this place is very decent and convenient. If you find it, as it is a little tricky to find :) Our room was quite small and was right out of someone's old-school apartment, but it was clean and everything worked. Hotel Central is also the kind of place where a very basic breakfast is served right in your room, but once again, no matter. The staff were friendly, the reception area is impromptu and charming, so if you would like to be in the center and are not looking for luxury - look no further.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlexGraJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear AlexGraJulia

Glad you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to put down your thoughts.
It is important for us to get feedback and especially from a frequent traveller.
We wish you a pleasant summer.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in September 2013. The hotel is in a great location, as it is in the heart of the city close to all the main attractions and is also very close to the tram which you catch from the airport. The staff at reception (mother and Daughter I believe) are extremely friendly and welcoming, and where very helpful to all our questions. They offer a lovely basic breakfast in the morning, where you get a glass of orange juice, Coffee or Tea and a croissant with Jam and Cheese which is delivered to your room. There is a shower and basin in the room, but the toilet is down the passage as it is shared. The negative part is extremely small rooms, but at least the rooms have balcony's off them to stand on when it gets to crowded in the room. However at the price you pay it is great value for money in this expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenH-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear LaurenH-CT

Thank you for your nice thoughts about our small family hotel.
Glad you enjouyed your stay, and yes the room category you were in is the smallest and simplest we have, called a budget room, but good value for Geneva.
Please have a look at our website and you will see that we have other categories of rooms that are a little more expensive but with more aspace and its own toilet ofcourse in the room.

Thank you again and all the best
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
175 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 106 in Geneva
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
459 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#77 of 106 in Geneva
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing