We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Des Tourelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Des Tourelles
Ranked #67 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Haifa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is in an old building, but in good conditions. Room was spacious and comfortable, with beautiful view to the river. Personal nice and helpful. Location is good. Visiting Geneva you get in the hotel a special free ticket for public transportation, which we used a lot. Exiting the hotel you cross the bridge and you have there the bus stop that takes you to the center (during the day you will not wait more than 5 minutes to the bus). So why 4 stars? Breakfast is not great. Also you have to climb some stairs with your luggage to get to the hotel entrance. All together very good for the price - recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo-mazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    40
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
29
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The place and the staff are very pleasant. Rooms and furnishing are decent; all in all for the price it’s a good place. If you want a higher class level and of course pay for it the Mandarin Oriental is just a bit away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Despite mixed reviews, I chose this hotel for a 3 night business stay and was positively surprised. View of the Rhône spectacular. Easily walkable from Cornavin. It's not luxury, but exactly what you need for a quick stay and value for money in Geneva terms. WiFi good. Breakfast simple but good. Compared to other hotels right next to Cornavin, this was a better choice. Close to the old town. Will consider staying here next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2CLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I was deeply disappointed by this hotel. I was in Geneva on business but wanted to stay somewhere (relatively) affordable. I was attending a course in the old town and the hotel where the course was being held was £270/night which was well beyond what I was willing to pay,and this hotel, having reviewed the reviews here, seemed alright. It wasn't.

It was just so noisy. The hotel is located on the junction of two major streets and all day and night there is very heavy traffic, including a lot of ambulances. There is nothing the hotel can do about this, it is just where they are located. I asked to see a different room but they only had one available that also faced on to the street, which was much smaller, so I stayed put. The fridge also made such a loud humming and strange screeching noise I had to turn it off (then it flooded, and from the state of the wooden floor around it, it was clear this was a regular occurrence).

On the plus side, I had a huge, spotlessly clean, very comfortable room. Good TV with an english station, comfy bed, free wifi. The bathroom was basically a cupboard as others have said here, but it was very clean and the shower was great. The staff were lovely, the breakfast was fine (croissant, bread, ham, cheese, coffee, cereal - not inspiring but enough to fill you up) but to be honest it was torture staying there as I barely slept, and I say that as someone who is a very heavy sleeper, went to bed knackered after a long day and travels a lot (I stay away from home on business about 2-3 nights a week, so am used to sleeping in sub-optimal conditions). I even bought ear plugs (which I've never needed before) and it didn't help. It was honestly one of the worst experiences in a hotel I've had, and I am including the time in Africa when cockroaches kept crawling out of the shower (when I was in it). I am sorry to say it, as it is a very interesting building which is being run as an independent hotel, but I feel the reviews here are really missing the biggest problem and I wish I had booked somewhere else. I use tripadvisor to find hotels a lot and this is the first time it has gone wrong, which is why I'm writing my first review - don't make the same mistake I did.

Room Tip: If they have any rooms off the street, go for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I had one last night of my European vacation and needed a place to stay in Geneva that didn't break the bank. Hotel des Tourelles was the perfect place. Only a 10 minute walk from the main train station which got me directly to the airport. A pretty location with a view of the river. A large room, good WiFi, cable TV and breakfast. My room was spacious (though the bathroom was small) and even had a little table set in the bay window at the corner where I could look out over the river.
I didn't have much time for touring around but located right along the river allowed me to take a nice long stroll to the lake and the old town. I would stay there again if I happen to be in Geneva.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamajaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here for one night waiting for a friend to arrive to be transferred to Mandarin Oriental. So despite being right next to each other, the gap between the two hotels standing next to each other is immense and it is clearly reflected in the price. For CHF 130.00 for a single room with small breakfast included, it is good value for Geneva. The rooms are fine, nothing spectacular, but does not have air conditioning, so it was a bit challenging to fight off the heat wave in July. The shower room was very very tiny, which reminded me of an airplane lavatory. However, it has got a nice little balcony from which you can enjoy the view of the river. For the price you pay - still not cheap as it is in Geneva - I think it is an okay hotel to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ephemere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is located down at the Rhone river, and is easy to find. The set-up is not that of a typical hotel, there's no lobby area, only the tiniest of receptions, the breakfast room is small as well. The rooms are located in old apartments on different floors of the building.

The rooms themselves are nice, modern, clean - and that's essential and not always the case with hotels with a comparable price in Geneva. The bathroom are the very small, sailboat-type bathroom cabins, but again, clean, with enough towels, soap, hairdryer etc.

The Wireless for the PC worked well and was free - which is rare in Geneva. They don't have a business center, but they will print things for you at 15 cents per page.

Unfortunately, my room was oriented towards the street, where the tramways and other traffic were quite noisy until the early morning hours. I could only sleep with earplugs.

The breakfast is simple, croissants, bread, butter, jam, OJuice, some cold cuts, joghurt... but nothing to write home about.

The worst thing about the hotel is the stairway down to the river, which by its smell could be mistaken for a pissoir. Really disgusting, I learned quickly to hold my breath 5 yards from the hotel door when approaching the hotel from that side. The hotel staff was aware of the problem, but I have no idea what they could do about it...



So: if you're on a small budget, this is a decent solution for Geneva, you could do much worse for more money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's oriented to the interior court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
Hotel de Geneve
Hotel de Geneve
#51 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
The New Midi Hotel
#45 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#60 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Excelsior
#59 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Tourelles

Property: Des Tourelles
Address: boulevard James- Fazy 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Des Tourelles 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Tourelles Hotel Geneva
Des Tourelles Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing