We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surreal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Surreal Experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've booked this hotel for one night while traveling with friends. The hotel proclaims itself a four-star hotel, and has prices to match, but the only thing that lends credence to the claim the a safe deposit box in the room. Everything else is barely two-star. The standard rooms are tiny and have one uncomfortable single bed, and a small closet, and the bathroom is of a similar size. There is no kettle or coffeemaker in the room, no bathrobe or slippers, and no complimentary water (although, there is a minibar).

Worst of all, my room was facing the train station, affording no privacy with the window uncovered. While the sound insulation of the room had done fairly well to block out the noise of passing trains, it did nothing for the train station announcements, or the sound of suitcase wheels rolling across cobblestones. Needless to say, don't expect a restful stay if you're a light sleeper, and generally, the rooms facing the station should be avoided by everyone but railfans.

Finally, the most bizarre experience happened in the evening, as I was having drinks with a friend at the hotel bar. The restaurant manager, who had been drinking with the patrons throughout the evening and was so drunk he could barely stand, approached us and launched an incoherent rant against the Queen of England (?!) while bemoaning that his son would not go to church (?!!!). He would stagger off for a bit to order employes around, then waddle back on unsteady legs and continue ranting. After 15 minutes of this, we had to leave because we could no longer talk and he had no sign of stopping.

Overall, this is a hotel that should be avoided at all costs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fgalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    103
    75
    23
    22
See reviews for
15
56
39
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Although rated 4star, this is 3stars at the best. To me, it's only redeeming quality is its 50m location from the railway station, ideal for that early morning flight at Geneva airport, which is a short 7min ride from the train station. The hotel will give a free train ticket too.
Skip the optional breakfast-it's just not worth it.
Tip: scan the online accommodation sites to get a good discount. We got a double room at 158 Sf.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night, and the stay was a disappointment.
The hotel is a four star, but I would say that three star is absolutely maximum.
What is good with the hotel ? The location (next to the railway station) and a friendly and effective reception.
The following is not so good:
1) The service level in the restaurant.It is also surprising to find such a low level of English language speaking in such an international city like Geneve.
2) The breakfast buffet. We had to pay SFR 18 extra each for a rather simple breakfast. And in addition: Several plates on the buffet were dirty - something we also told a waiter.
3) Before leaving the hotel we had 30 minutes, and we decided to have a beer. First we had to be involved in several minutes of arguments with a waiter about the table we had chosen. After we finally had got the beer, and wanted to pay, it was not so easy. The beers costed SFR 7 and we wanted to pay with credit card. Not so easy, because in this hotel you have to spend SFR 20 in order to pay with credit card. The reception solved the situation by accepting euro coins. But it is really not this kind of service you expect from a four star hotel.
4) The price for a double room + breakfast of SFR 329 we find all to high for such a hotel with the corresponding service.
We will not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svein1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Keene, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I really like this place, but it shares the besetting sin of other hotels in this season where management decline to activate the air conditioning despite exceptionally warm weather. Other than that, it is right next to the train station but still quiet enough to get decent rest, and has an excellent restaurant in the hotel (wine list is really fine). Also, unlike many Swiss hotels, there was a full shower door in the bath and free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel was clean and tidy - some abstract art dotted around the place.
Reasonably priced (for geneva!) but just the wrong side of the train station - it's very convenient but to cross through or under the trains was not pleasant especially by night. Just like any station.
Overall a decent hotel - don't expect the ritz.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evansab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great place if you want to avoid corporate hotels without losing quality. Immediately behind Geneva's station from where you can go anywhere in the city, country and beyond, this is friendly, efficient and very pleasant. And although my room overlooked the railway, it was very quiet. There's a nice bistro/coffee shop/pizzaria, too. Simple but good food and service. I was travelling on business, but well placed for tourism too - and the shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at the Montbrillant during a business trip to Geneva. It was definitely one of the better hotels I've stayed in Geneva at that price range (~ 200 CHF / night). The hotel is located just next to the train station and therefore very central. The reception is nice, the staff friendly and helpful and they have a bistrot and restaurant downstairs. I didn't try it out but it was always busy so it seems the food must be good. Some rooms are not in the main building but in the adjacent one so you have to walk around the hotel to the back (as was mine). The entrance and hallway there looks a bit shabby but the room itself was then surprisingly nice. It had a nice little kitchen and windows to both sides. On one side it was right onto the train station but apparently well isolated so I never got disturbed by any noise. Apparently it features a wellness and fitness area which I didn't try out though. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Book the superior rooms if you want to have the little kitchen in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#38 of 105 in Geneva
812 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 105 in Geneva
476 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 105 in Geneva
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#72 of 105 in Geneva
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant

Property: Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Address: rue de Montbrillant 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown close to Geneva railway station and in direct connection with the airport and public transportation TPG. The heart of the Montbrillant beats to the rhythm of the business district, the lake Leman and its fountain. Hotel Montbrillant is welcoming you in: • 82 rooms with air-conditioning including 58 "Business" and 24 "Superior". • One restaurant and one Parisian brasserie. • One conference room for your meetings and banquets: 50 pers. max. • One wine cellar with over 140 references for your appetizer and cocktails. • One Wellness centre: Massages, reflexology, lymphatic drainage and reiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Montbrillant Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing