We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for the staff”
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hostel Geneva
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good except for the staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hostel but the reception is quite ignorant. They close the kitchen at 11pm and I was not allowed to access my previously prepared food at 11:05. I asked the reception to let me in for a moment just to pick my stuff from the table but they said no. I had to go to sleep really hungry :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    200
    78
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
90
140
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location was not too bad, close to the train station and a bit of a walk to the old town area with supermarkets and bars etc nearby. The dorm had bunk beds and free wifi was available in the room. We didn’t like the fact that the fridge had individual lockers inside it to store food and you had to pay a large money deposit for the key. We did not have enough cash left for this deposit and did not want to draw the money out as we didn’t want any Swiss Francs left so this was really inconvenient. Also, the sheets we were given did not include a duvet cover so we had to use the bare duvet left in the dorm which is not very hygienic. Otherwise, the hostel was very nice and clean. Very expensive for what you get but that just seems to be what Switzerland is like.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in 3 person dorm while sightseeing in Geneva. Advantages: Hostel is modern and spotless almost to point of being more like a hospital than a hostel. Very clean and safe place to be, kitchen equipped with secure lockers to store food. Can leave your bags in lockers after checking out. Showers are fantastically powerful. Staff quick to help. Very convenient, 5 min walk from train station / centre of town, supermarkets etc close by. Disadvantages: as above comment spotless almost like a hospital so not the kind of place if you like your hostels rough and ready or even with some character: I could have been in any city in the world looking around the hostel which is fine if that's what you want, quite expensive for what you get even though I know Geneva is in general an expensive place: I paid 27 euro for dorm which seems a bit pricy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The cleanest hostel I've stayed at everywhere was spotless. The room I stayed in was good, equipped with large lockers and a sink, there was also a good number of bathroom facilities located just down the hall. The hostel has good communal areas with TV showing films and Internet room.

The location is pretty much ideal close to the train station and in town. Upon checkin you get a towel, bedding, free local transport card and a really useful town map with sights,restaurants, supermarkets, bars etc labeled on it.

The hostel is a great place to stay in Genéve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Interailtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

I had a 7 hour (night) layover in Geneva and stayed here for about 80 swiss francs. The halls were a bit musty and the room was small with two uncomfortable beds, a sink, and no bathroom. The location was great, walking distance to the train station! And there were a number of restaurants,bars and amenities in the area. The reception was helpful with my late check-in and there was also free wi-fi which was provided upon check-in along with City map and key card for 24 h building access. I would stay again, mainly because it is one of only two budget traveler spots! They were sold out when I booked so book in advance as this type of accom is hard to come by in thsi expensive City!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjcj1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's a nice place. Close to Gare Cornavin and walking distance feom a tram stop. Rooms are basic, but neat. Toilets are shared but are clean and well maintained. There is a kitchen on every floor, so you can cook, a gray way to save on Geneva. Staff are friendly. You can also buy discount price swiss knives and watches here, in addition to chocolates. You cannot find something this cheap in Geneva, certainly not near the city business district.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoop350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

It was short stay but it was nice to stay there , staff were very helpful and polite. excellent location , it just walking distance from railway station "Gare Cornavin" which the city center, just 6 minutes traveling time from the airport . Nice hostel atmosphere to know many friends , it was my first time to stay in hostel ever but i like it so much , my only problem to find adapter to charge my mobile Hehehehe.

overall experience , for sure if i went back to Geneva i will stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMICHAEL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#49 of 105 in Geneva
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Property: City Hostel Geneva
Address: rue Ferrier 2, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing