We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, helpful, central hostel with good facilities”
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hostel Geneva
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoyed our 3 night tourist break in Geneva in a twin room with shared facilities.
The hostel was very clean, well looked after, the staff were helpful, and the facilities were good.
Geneva isn't cheap but this hostel was centrally located just 5 minutes from the main train station and overall was (for Geneva) good for the money.
I would happily stay there again.
Some of the facilities:
Room: sink, 2 hand towels each, small soap and shower gel, good black out shutters, electronic key each.
Each shared kitchen (one each floor): kettle, toaster, microwave, two sinks, 4 electic rings, two fridges (with lockable compartments), lockable cupboards. When we were there they were kept clean. Maybe could do with more cups, glasses, utensils (especially a bread knife). Just ask reception for a key for the fridge and locker (CHF 10 refundable deposit).
Toilets/Showers: It was full when we were there but always plenty of toilets, and showers.
Other facilities: DVD each evening at 8pm, free table football, and small kids play area in basement, free wifi throughout the hostel.
Laundry (wash/dry/iron), and free luggage locker (use own lock, or get one from reception for refundable CHF 10 deposit).
When staying at the hostel they give you a free Geneva transport pass (bus, tram, train to airport, lake water taxis).
Nearby supermarkets: Lidl and Coop 50m away (not open late evenings or Sunday), Migros (at train station) open later and Sundays.
Overall for what it is (hostel in central and expensive Geneva) I would almost give it 5 out of 5 ... but I wanted a bread knife!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere.Stayed only one night as i was travelling through geneva.Good deal on the transport and breakfast near by.Nice and clean showers rooms and community area.Put more wall socket in the rooms and some in the lockers and u will be stars! :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank DavidGerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hostel was about a 10 min walk from the train station and surrounded by restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms were clean the washrooms were consistently kept up and everything was really well kept. The only complaint I had was that the grocery stores close by are closed on Sunday and when we asked the staff for help to find one that was open they were not helpful. He pointed us to a corner store and when we asked about finding somewhere that sold meat, he sent us to a market with frozen meat ( not overly helpful when looking for dinner) other than that I would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deadlyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is your best bet if you are a budget traveler like me. Geneva is one of the most expensive place to visits in the world. This hostel has it all. The private rooms are totally adequate for getting a good night's rest. The bathrooms and showers are very well maintained. The common areas are comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is very close to the train station. The buses get you around the entire area very well. There is a delicious ethiopian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rastacubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hostel is located on one of Geneva's main streets, which means there are tram stops near and it is also close to the main train station. My room had a sink inside, which was very practical. Very spacious lockers. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. I stayed in a room right next to the stairs, but still it wasn't noisy at all. They give you a public transportation pass for you to use during your stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor right next to the stairs and wasn't disturbed at all. It's likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guiselapereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It is about 10 mins walk from Central Cornarvin station which has regular trains from the airport. You can also take tram 15 from central station. All transportation is free if you stay at this hostel. Wifi available in room. Kitchen is clean and showers are great. Has a lounge where you can talk to other guests or watch TV. Security is good as you need your key card to enter the hostel. No breakfast provided. Stayed in a 3 bed dorm. Try to get the single bed next to the window. Booked directly with hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Clean and tidy
Helpful staff
Good price
Safe
Quiet
Comfort room
Comfort public facilities, such as open area on ground floor, bathroom, toilet, etc.
3 mins walk to nearest tram station and supermarkets (with Geneva transport card for taking tram, quickly arrive train station by tram)
I will choose this hostel again for next stay in Geneva

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FYHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Address: rue Ferrier 2, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £29 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing