We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel”
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hostel Geneva
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hostel was pretty standard, nothing spectacular. The facilities are pretty good, you will need your own padlock if you want to store things or you can rent one from reception. It was a really warm day when I was there and so the room was absolutely boiling during the night. Opening the window didn't help at all so the only other option was to keep the noisy fan on all night.

Reception randomly closes between noon and 1pm, and so if you are only just arriving and don't have a room key, you can't get into the hostel at all.

Considering that Switzerland is an expensive country, you get people of all ages staying here. Unfortunately the hostel did not have a lot of atmosphere (no opportunities to be able to meet people).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank nicole9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for City Hostel Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is my second stay at the City Hostel, and again I stayed in a dorm room. The hostel is close to the train and bus stations and easy to find. Importantly wifi is available in the rooms and is free. Facilities are excellent, although the day lockers fill up quickly so get in early, and bring a padlock!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Travelling with 3 friends. We booked the eco-double room with shared bathrooms. The room was small (with our luggages) but comfortable. The number of bathrooms and shower rooms available is sufficient. Every floor has both facilities. They broadcast movies at the TV room downstairs every night. Have a parking garage for those travelling with a car. Close to supermarkets and tram line, It was pretty good for the price we paid, comparing to other more expensive hotels in Geneva,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnadiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotels in Geneva are generally very expensive as is almost everything else in the city. The City Hostel is a great place to stay. Its not like typical hostels across Europe and a lot of money has been spent on it. It has its own parking which is very nice as we drove across from England. The location is perfect only a few minutes from the lake. Across the hostel is a small cafe where in the mornings you can enjoy a very good swiss breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoyed our 3 night tourist break in Geneva in a twin room with shared facilities.
The hostel was very clean, well looked after, the staff were helpful, and the facilities were good.
Geneva isn't cheap but this hostel was centrally located just 5 minutes from the main train station and overall was (for Geneva) good for the money.
I would happily stay there again.
Some of the facilities:
Room: sink, 2 hand towels each, small soap and shower gel, good black out shutters, electronic key each.
Each shared kitchen (one each floor): kettle, toaster, microwave, two sinks, 4 electic rings, two fridges (with lockable compartments), lockable cupboards. When we were there they were kept clean. Maybe could do with more cups, glasses, utensils (especially a bread knife). Just ask reception for a key for the fridge and locker (CHF 10 refundable deposit).
Toilets/Showers: It was full when we were there but always plenty of toilets, and showers.
Other facilities: DVD each evening at 8pm, free table football, and small kids play area in basement, free wifi throughout the hostel.
Laundry (wash/dry/iron), and free luggage locker (use own lock, or get one from reception for refundable CHF 10 deposit).
When staying at the hostel they give you a free Geneva transport pass (bus, tram, train to airport, lake water taxis).
Nearby supermarkets: Lidl and Coop 50m away (not open late evenings or Sunday), Migros (at train station) open later and Sundays.
Overall for what it is (hostel in central and expensive Geneva) I would almost give it 5 out of 5 ... but I wanted a bread knife!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere.Stayed only one night as i was travelling through geneva.Good deal on the transport and breakfast near by.Nice and clean showers rooms and community area.Put more wall socket in the rooms and some in the lockers and u will be stars! :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank DavidGerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hostel was about a 10 min walk from the train station and surrounded by restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms were clean the washrooms were consistently kept up and everything was really well kept. The only complaint I had was that the grocery stores close by are closed on Sunday and when we asked the staff for help to find one that was open they were not helpful. He pointed us to a corner store and when we asked about finding somewhere that sold meat, he sent us to a market with frozen meat ( not overly helpful when looking for dinner) other than that I would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deadlyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,296 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Address: rue Ferrier 2, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £30 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing