We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No major issues”
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hostel Geneva
Reviewed 14 August 2014

City Hostel in Geneva is about 10 min walk from the train station.I had a big backpack and a luggage but the journey wasnt too difficult. The hostel was easy to find but the reception was closed for an hour (for lunch I think) when we arrived but one of the staff kindly swiped us in.

Check in was easy, and we got given a free bus pass each. We also got our pillow covers, bed sheets and towels free of charge. There was a lift, which was rather handy for the suitcases.

The room we had was on the second floor, right next to the stairs. It was very stuffy and warm during the day, and it got quite noisy at around 6am in the morning due to trucks moving on the street right outside of the hostel. The room was small, but had a wardrobe and a sink. The shared bathroom and shower were both clean, and the shower was strong but there was only one hook for your clothes.

The internet was free and strong. There were different staff at reception throughout the day, some were very friendly. We didnt opt to have breakfast, it was cheaper to get breads and a drink from a local supermarket nearby the train station.

There wasnt much to do in Geneva, so despite the location being a bit further away from the old town we still had a pleasant stay. No major issues.

Not a lot of guest interactions though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in a lot of hostels when travelling and this one was one of the best. Very clean, staff lovely, beds comfy and location good! Only fifteen minute walk to the lake and ten mins from the train station. Felt very safe. Bathroom facilities were very clean! Free wifi and free public transport card. Only downside is it didn't have that fun vibe other hostels do, although they offered a film night maybe some bar crawls or a wee bar area would make it have a funner atmosphere. But other than that no complaints at all.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannahb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed only 1 night before catching a flight back to Montreal the next morning. Clean hostel. The room was comfy (private 2 beds dorm) with a sink, a wardrobe and a little desk + lamp. I've seen better showers/bathrooms (they were also mixed men/women) but they were alright. You can also park your car in a garage for 15chf extra. I also stayed at Youth Hostel Geneva and I prefered it. But this hostel is also good. There's a good pizzeria right on the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hostel is about 5-7 minutes from train station and roads also showing the signs of the hostel. Tram stations are about 2-3 minutes walk. The hostel gives you a day pass which makes it free to travel within geneva using bus, trams and trains...and you could use it to the airport by train.

The hostel has decent sized kitchen area, with refrigerators and lockers allocated to each room/bed for a deposit of 20chf/EUR. There is also a reading and silent area and a TV in the hall where we were watching the soccer matches. There is no provision for breakfast in-house.

Showers are there in each floor, though it's small.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and we couldn't have been happier with the location. It's five minutes' walk from the main train station and 2 minutes' walk from a tram stop which was great because the hostel gave us free public transport cards! The receptionist was cheerful and helpful and the hostel had a laundry room which was pretty useful since we'd been interrailing and were running out of clean clothes. When we first arrived at the hostel we were told our room would definitely be ready in half an hour but if we went to check it would maybe be ready now. So we climbed the stairs to the first floor and were met by a cleaner and a man who appeared to be cleaning manager or something. The maid told us our room was ready but the (slightly eccentric) man told us angrily and extremely rudely that the room would be ready when he said it was ready. He definitely gave off control freak vibes and made us feel very very uncomfortable. Every other staff member seemed really nice though. The weather was scorching and the room had no air conditioning so I didn't sleep very well and to top it all off construction workers began doing something extremely noisy in the street at 6:30am both mornings! Not strictly the hostel's fault but it seriously affected the quality of our stay. The showers and toilet facilities were pretty average and reasonably clean. I'd recommend the hostel to anybody looking to save a little money but I'd maybe suggest staying here at a time of year when it's not so warm... Really could not fault the location but they could do with installing some air con.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KadieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As you know Geneva is an expensive city and this hostel was a nice option if you are stopping over for a night or two.
- Hostel is a short walk from the main train station along mainly one road so hard to get lost
- a few grocery stores are within a 1-2 minute walk but they close pretty early (one was 7pm I think)
- you get a free public transport card which is great if you want to visit the U.N. or CERN (book your CERN tour well in advance!)
- very close walk to the main "attractions" including the lake, water jet, and old town
- hostel itself was alright I was in a three person room which had one bunk bed and one single bed. It was hot but there was a fan provided. The room had decent sized lockers as well as your own sink. Able to get wifi easily in the room
- co we bathrooms for toilet and shower on each floor.
- kitchen was alright with the basics except oven. You had to pay 10 Francs deposit for a very small fridge space (fridge smelled pretty bad on the first floor)
- avoid doing your laundry here if you can, it cost 8.50 francs (outrageous even for Geneva). The dryer was horrible and it took 2.5 hours to dry my clothes. The others doing laundry that night had the same problem.
- there is a good deal for Swiss chocolate. 8 bars for 15 francs, I just used my fridge key deposit and then an extra 5 Francs to buy some delicious chocolate!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a lot of hostels in various countries and I have to say this hostel is not bad at all. I stayed in a 3 bed dorm.

In terms of practicalities it's:
1. Fairly central. You can walk down to the lake in no more than 15 mins. It's 5 mins from the main train station and is surrounded by plenty of restaurants and bars (albeit they all charge Swiss prices). There are also supermarkets a few minutes away which is handy
2. It's very clean - there's a cleaning crew every day and they do a marvellous job in the bathrooms, bedrooms, communal areas and kitchens
3. I like the set up with a kitchen on each floor with individual lockable fridge compartments and cupboard. The kitchen contains everything you need to cook including a microwave. But there's no oven - although I can't remember if the microwave is an oven too
4. There are two great areas to relax and chill and watch TV
5. You can buy snacks, cereal, milk at reception
6. You can rent padlocks, big towels, adapters & kitchen fridge/cupboard compartments; most for a refundable deposit only
7. Great wifi throughout, including the rooms
8. Rooms themselves are a little small but they do contain cupboards where you can lock your items. My bed was pretty comfortable - I was in room 123
9. Showers are great and powerful

The only downside of this place is the atmosphere or lack of. Hotel rooms are so expensive in Geneva and as a result, this place attracts an eclectic crowd from business men to students to families. It's not the type of place you can easily meet people to hang out.

Geneva itself is also very expensive and it's not easy to know where to go in terms of good bars/restaurants unless you have inside knowledge. It's a city that's also very weather dependant as there's not much to do when it's wet. I wouldn't recommend spending any more than a one night, maybe two maximum. All the good attractions can be done in half a day.

Back to the hostel - a clean, secure, place with comfortable beds. The staff are great, really helpful and they speak great English. I would definitely use again if staying in Geneva.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mobot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,352 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 109 in Geneva
463 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#80 of 109 in Geneva
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
1,018 reviews
Hotel Carmen
#65 of 109 in Geneva
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Address: rue Ferrier 2, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing