We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging venue, excellent service”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #94 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Challenging venue, excellent service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The experience at Churchill has been mixed.
The location is excellent, very close to the famous fountain.
The price is attractive, considering that Geneva might be rather expensive.
But the hotel is rather small, and with a poor lavel of mantainance.
At the entrance the smell was rather annoyng, maybe for the fondue that the receptionist was eating on the desk.
However, if you overcome the first impact, the hotel itself is not disappointing.
Rather clean rooms, everything works properly (come on we are in Switzerland!), and the people are very kind and do their best to help you.
Finding a taxi during the Geneva Motorshow is definitely a challenge, but the receptionist was vary patient and made it.
If you just look at the essence, and you do not want to spend too much, at the end it's a fair proposition!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriele_palma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    29
    23
    30
See reviews for
3
23
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Worst experience ever. dont go.
I ended up in this hotel by mistake, as i mixed the name with another hotel. As i entered the reception, a very nice person greeted me. but best greeting in the world cannot mask the horrible smell. I decided to take my chance as i felt fate got me there. I entered a room, that would be a fantastic set for a movie in the 70s of cheap motels. it looked dirty, the hallways were as smelly as the reception. this old rusty smell. I returned to the reception after securing another booking in a real hotel. I nicely explained to the reception guy and since it has my mistake agreed to pay the first night even though i would not stay there and asked not to be charged for the second night. I was told that since i booked through booking they will charge the two night even if i decide not to stay. Well you know now what the service was like.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien592014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I found a Condon dirt in the bed and they did not want to change the sheets for a clean ones : Finally I got a new bedroom . None apologice:
If your unique option to sleep in Genevre is Hotel Churchol , cancel the tryp

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aida a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Small hotel in quiet area. Near to bars and cafes. Rooms are very clean and small, bathroom is good. There is a shampoo and shower gel. Definetly not 4 stars, but price is cheap. Good, friendly staff. No parking, but you can find parking near the hotel.
Good choice for price/quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zubkovaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I think people are being a little harsh with this place. The staff is very helpful... yes the tv is small and old and yes the hotel has probably not been renovated in 20 years, but the beds are comfy, the room is clean. Hardly likely one bothers with a tv when on vacation.

It has a mini bar, full bathtub and a hairdryer. Can't get that in a two star hotel. Buy your own booze and stick it in the fridge. The only thing I can REALLY complain about is the heat in the room. 26C and I'm baking in here, even with the windows open. And for a double room, I expected a queen sized mattress on the frame and not two singles. Oh well!

Yes the breakfast is expensive... this is Geneva and they have also improved on that... cheese, ham, eggs, bacon etc.

If you plan to spend days locked up in your room in the lap of luxury, this hotel is not for you. But if it's just a place to lay your head for the night... I recommend it

Room Tip: big bath tub and very quiet, room 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanadiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

1 nights stay here was enough and fortunately cost was covered by Swiss Airlines which had cancelled our homeward flight due to snow at Heathrow. At published rates - grossly overpriced. I have stayed in better 2 star hotels so how does this rate 4! Rather seedy back street establishment that really struggled to cope with an influx of guests from the airport but the fact that it had rooms available at very short notice is perhaps a reflection of its poor quality. Experienced similar problems as other reviewers with charging - in my case a cash deposit of 300 cfr was required to cover 'extras' and receptionist was very surprised when I insisted on a receipt before accepting room key. Despite giving them an airline accommodation voucher on arrival, they still tried to charge me for the room from this deposit. Had I used a credit card I would now be having problems as I would only have found out when back in UK.

Room Tip: Simply don't stay. We had 503 on top floor in corner which is probably about best corner to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair-Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The reception is drab. The staff were not interested. The first room I had the wardrobe fell over. The second room had the safe 6ft inside the wardrobe and the door kept falling open so had to duck each time i opened the wardrobe door. Plug sockets not working properly. Far too hot in the rooms. Breakfast poor, just passable. How did it get a 4 star rating? Why did they take a CHF 220 charge on my card at the checkin?? Normally it is just a swipe in case of events.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBBrooklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#46 of 105 in Geneva
148 reviews
Hotel de la Cigogne
#40 of 105 in Geneva
162 reviews
Hotel Pax
#69 of 105 in Geneva
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 105 in Geneva
536 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#19 of 105 in Geneva
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: rue du Simplon 15, Geneva 1207, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Churchill 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing