We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Alleves

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel d'Alleves
Ranked #44 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once a week. The location is very good, a short walk from the station and from the old town.
The staff are very friendly but sometimes I think they don't listen to what you say. For example, I stayed in one room and the hair dryer was one of the old fashioned box-on-the-wall similar to a vacuum cleaner. It was completely useless. I told the receptionist the next morning that I never wanted to stay in that room ever again, yet the following week when I was staying for 4 nights, I was put in that room.
The rooms can be a bit hit and miss. Some rooms have been refurbished and are very chic others, whilst perfectly functional, are a bit more old fashioned.
So, why haven't I given this hotel 5 stars? Well, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Often I get in late and would just like something simple to eat in my room but there is no restaurant and therefore no room service. So tea/coffee making facilities would be nice.
When you arrive there is a bottle of water and some chocolate in the room. If you stay a second night they will give you some new chocolate but not another bottle of water. I am paying the same price for the room for the second night so why not get a new bottle of water.
Finally, in half of the rooms most of the English channels on the TV do not work. I mentioned it several times to the receptionists but it has never been fixed.
The main reason I go back is that we get a special rate with work and it is close to the office. I'm not sure I would stay here if I had to pay the full rate out of my own pocket.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkeboentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    60
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
37
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Second time at this hotel and nothing to criticise. The rooms are reasonable sized and in good decoration. Another review refers to a rain shower which wasn't in my room, so I guess facilities vary. Double sink in the bathroom, bed linen of a nice quality. location in central geneva means you have easy access to all kinds of eating and drinking places. The staff both times were very helpful and friendly. The wifi internet is good (6mb/sec) and free (paying for wifi irritates me...). Price was reasonable by Geneva standards. The elevator goes to the 6th floor - another review refers to rooms up a flight of stairs beyond this, I have previously had a duplex room on that floor with the bathroom up a short flight of stairs - unusual but made a change. Will stay here next time in Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevnmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My #1 favourite Hotel in Geneva, for business or pleasure. Having stayed here frequently over the last 2 years, I am always impressed how well managed this hotel is - it runs like the finest Swiss clockwork. The rooms are always spotless and the outfitting constantly maintained in perfect condition. There is a great deal of attention to detail - for example the bed sheets are always pressed like new, and you always have a complimentary bottle of mineral water. The staff are welcoming, friendly and very efficient. It is always a pleasure to be welcomed back at the Hotel d'Alleves.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully decorated, some with charming antiques. If you love oak beams, or are a fan of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Perfect location, perfect welcome, perfect room, perfect bed, perfect pillows, perfect silence, perfect sleep, perfect breakfast...need I go on!

This is a period architectural building, modernized and upgraded.

It has many fine inter-war and post-war paintings in very good taste.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Everything in Switzerland is expensive. This was a great value from my perspective. I had a room on the top floor which means I took an elevator up to 6 and walked with luggage half a flight. It was no bother at all. I loved the bathroom and rain shower. In fact I slept like a babe that night. The breakfast the next morning was lovely and was included in my rate but not sure if that is the case across the board. The desk was very eager to please and had nothing but friendliness from the staff here. I'd go back here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stockgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here on business, position is great about one block back from the lake and very central, staff friendly. Nice and clean, everything worked well, Wifi free and fast. A bit odd that it has no bar but you do get a minbar and looking out of my window I could see three restaurants over the road. The winner though is the tiny Pizza place at the back of the hotel (thanks to aw189 for the heads up), great Pizza, serves wine and front desk will order it to be delivered to your room if you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I had an overnight stay here and thought this was a pleasant little hotel but overpriced for what you get. Plus sides are friendly, helpful staff, free wi-fi, lovely bathroom and a generally clean, welcoming atmosphere. The location is also very convenient – quite central and only a five minute walk from the station, though far enough away to avoid any noise disturbance, and also just a short walk to the lake.

However, I don't understand how a hotel can be rated 4 stars when it doesn't even have a bar - it's more along the lines of an upmarket B&B, as there are no facilities outside the rooms apart from reception and the breakfast room (which is quite quaint but the décor is very seventies and out of place given the appearance of the rest of the hotel). My room was ok, clean but quite sparse and a bit outdated – disappointing for the money and from the images on the website which suggest a true “boutique” style – the rooms aren’t as stylish as the website pictures suggest, though the bathrooms are a good likeness. Breakfast was nice but overpriced at 28CHF for what is basically a continental breakfast. Corridors echo quite a bit – I was disturbed a few times by slamming doors and more annoyingly, by the maids shouting to each other in the morning.

Although my overall stay was fine, I wouldn't book in here again at this price – nothing is cheap in Geneva but other hotels in this area have a comparable offer at better value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeygirlLondon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#45 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#59 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Hotel Rousseau
#70 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Alleves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Alleves

Property: Hotel d'Alleves
Address: Rue du Cendrier 16, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Geneva
#30 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Alleves 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Alleves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel s Alleves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing