We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel by the Lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Jewel by the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely little boutique hotel with superb service right next to the lake and the Pont du Mont Blanc bridge. Very good service. Excellent restaurant. Rooms are generously proportioned by Swiss standards. Check-in staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed (example Nespresso machine). Would love to stay here again. Would re-book without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L00K-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    288
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
144
246
44
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel Bristol is clean and friendly, with an excellent restaurant on the premises, and has a perfect location just a half-block from the Geneva lakefront, across from the famous Jet D'Eau. By downtown Geneva standards, it may even be reasonably priced (roughly $400 / night), but the rooms are smallish, boringly decorated, and faded. Plan to pay extra for most conveniences, although wi-fi, thank heaven, was free. Better hotels are available in downtown Geneva, although you'll pay dearly for them.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a REAL non-smoking room -- mine still smelled of years-old habits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerInNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Larger room than accustomed to in Paris. Not cheap but worth the extra( Swiss franc =$0.97, when we were there). One block from bridge and Lake:short walk to train station and old town. We would stay here if we come back to Geneva.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjenn721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed here for one night in June. Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with spacious rooms and free WiFi. Dined in the hotel and the food was very good and the portions ample. The staff were very courteous and professional at all times. Breakfast was good if a little limited in choice. One criticism I would have is that it is most definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller75_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madianh, Saudi Arabai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Bristol Geneva has always been my choice whenever i visit Geneva. I stayed at the Geneva Bristol twice (1999) & (2010); the location is excellent at the Mont Blanc lively area. The hotel is like a boutique hotel. The rooms have been renewed, and still to be Cozy, the breakfast variety is good and very good quality. Don't miss the harpist playing magical music while you enjoy your breakfast. I think the only shortcoming is that the hotel seems to be somehow overpriced according to hotel standard and provided services. Anyway, I love the Geneva Bristol, and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koko_waki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Hotel Bristol is located on the Rue du Mont-Blanc just steps away from the bridge and Lake Geneva, with great views of the famous fountain (Jet d'Eau). The room was generally good size and clean. The view from he hotel, however, were terrible. It was hot when I was there, and the only way to cool the room was with the window open, so the choice was to be hot or be open to the street or questionable park behind the hotel.

The hotel has NO parking, so beware if you have a car. There are some spots around but none allow parking for more than 90 minutes - making it very difficult!

Everything about the hotel was average to above average, but the price was overwhelming - over $300/night! There have to be better rooms and or better deals in Geneva.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBradleyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Location fantastic, close to the lake and the train station and nice sauna, Jacuzzi and gym. My experience was less than favourable, the room enjoyed 80's deco with polystyrene ceiling tiles and aertex walls. It was obvious that the carpets in the room had seen a light clean but the chamber maid had not gone under the bed as I found old crisps and disregarded wrappers under the bed. Geneva has peculiar electricity plugs and when I asked for an adapter I was asked to pay 15CHF (£10), no other hotel in Geneva had asked for payment before they were willing to lend you one and charge if you did not return. I then asked for an iron and board and was told that as I was leaving for dinner it would be best to request it upon my return as they have a time limit of 1hr; When I requested it after my return from dinner I was told none were left, so it was evident that they do not monitor the 1hr policy...I had no choice but go to my meetings with a creased shirt. The final straw was when I was going to have a meeting in the bar and the bar was full, so I asked if I could sit in the restaurant (Bar and restaurant are in the same room) my request was declined with no further explanation than they could not as the rules did not allow this. So in summary if you are planning to be close the lake and think that you will spend most of the time in the gym or Jacuzzi with no need to engage with hotel staff and have a desperate urge to relive the 80's this is a great hotel to go to, other than that for the cost there are many other great choices in Geneva......

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LosLLanitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManagement, Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments and for sharing your experience at the Bristol Geneva. First of all, I apologize for all the inconveniences. Your valued comments help us to understand which points can be improved in order to provide a better service, thank you again.
I would also like to inform you that all our rooms were renovated several times since the 80's, however in a classical style, which one likes or dislikes, as taste is a personal matter. We have undertaken a new plan of renovations this year, which started already, in a more contemporary style (in case you are interested, we can send you pictures by mail). We are also installing international plugs in the new rooms, so that our customers won't need adaptors - for those still needing one, it is free of charge from now on. The 1 hour policy for lending the iron and board is for security reasons, the aim is to avoid people leaving hot irons unattended for a long period of time and eventually causing a fire. Sorry. I would be very happy to welcome you personally on your next visit to Geneva, should you give us a chance to welcome you again. Thank you. Manuel Pedro Marmelo - Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing