We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice; but for the price it should have been amazing.”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I did not know how to title this review. it is billed as 4****+. it is certainly priced as 4 *****+. The good; the room was spotless, the room was large, you could not hear external noise, the service personnel are lovely, the location is ideal, they have a great hammam and good workout room. The not so good: unless you choose to pay 2.50 chf for a small espresso for the machine you only get the instant coffee ( every other hotel is Switzerland has coffee for guests), the charge to use their computer is an exorbitant 8 chf for 15 minutes ( every other hotel has a complimentary computer for guests). the most annoying is that housekeepiong starts at 8 am sharp and goes until the early afternoon. they park their cart in the middle of the hallway and talk back and forth in the hall. at 8 am sharp you can hear everything in the hallway. so as i say, some 4 **** advantages, some annoyiingly not. I would stay elsewhere next time, unless the exchange rate was significantly better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macrosantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

We spent a couple of nights at this well-situated Geneva hotel, ideally located for the lake and many city sights and shops. Room was very comfortable and well-equipped, though I agree with earlier reviewers that they should update powerpoint access for plugs; our TV reception was erratic too, though to their credit they have BBC1 on their channel list. Internet was free and effective. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bar was comfortable and pleasant. We skipped the CHF36 breakfast, and for Geneva felt the CHF222 room rate was not too bad. But this is a very very expensive city if you deal in £ or €, so be prepared! There are some good dining options around the nearby post office - particularly good is the Bombay Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely little boutique hotel with superb service right next to the lake and the Pont du Mont Blanc bridge. Very good service. Excellent restaurant. Rooms are generously proportioned by Swiss standards. Check-in staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed (example Nespresso machine). Would love to stay here again. Would re-book without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L00K-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel Bristol is clean and friendly, with an excellent restaurant on the premises, and has a perfect location just a half-block from the Geneva lakefront, across from the famous Jet D'Eau. By downtown Geneva standards, it may even be reasonably priced (roughly $400 / night), but the rooms are smallish, boringly decorated, and faded. Plan to pay extra for most conveniences, although wi-fi, thank heaven, was free. Better hotels are available in downtown Geneva, although you'll pay dearly for them.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a REAL non-smoking room -- mine still smelled of years-old habits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerInNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Larger room than accustomed to in Paris. Not cheap but worth the extra( Swiss franc =$0.97, when we were there). One block from bridge and Lake:short walk to train station and old town. We would stay here if we come back to Geneva.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjenn721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed here for one night in June. Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with spacious rooms and free WiFi. Dined in the hotel and the food was very good and the portions ample. The staff were very courteous and professional at all times. Breakfast was good if a little limited in choice. One criticism I would have is that it is most definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveller75_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Bristol Geneva has always been my choice whenever i visit Geneva. I stayed at the Geneva Bristol twice (1999) & (2010); the location is excellent at the Mont Blanc lively area. The hotel is like a boutique hotel. The rooms have been renewed, and still to be Cozy, the breakfast variety is good and very good quality. Don't miss the harpist playing magical music while you enjoy your breakfast. I think the only shortcoming is that the hotel seems to be somehow overpriced according to hotel standard and provided services. Anyway, I love the Geneva Bristol, and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koko_waki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 109 in Geneva
761 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#19 of 109 in Geneva
797 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 109 in Geneva
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £176 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing