We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a good choice”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great location for this hotel, close for the train station, the lake and the heart of Geneva. The bedroom and the hotel itself was classic and very comfortable and I really want to point out the quality of the service and of the employees. I come several times per year in Geneva for business and I have decided to choose this hotel each time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hel75Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment and we are very pleased to learn that you will stay at the Bristol Hotel next time you come to Geneva.
Looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you soon, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information or assistance.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here for business for 2 nights in March 2013. It wouldn't have been my first choice but as the Geneva auto show was going on, this was my only option. I loved it however and was glad I was able to stay here. I would return.

This hotel reminds me of watching my parents' slides of their trips to Europe during the 1970s. Or seeing James Bond check into a hotel on the hunt for a spy during the height of the cold war. It's the kind of hotel that would have been absolutely top grade in the 70s and 80s but is not quite there now. It has the old world features that are quickly fading in Europe - elevators with doors that you pull open, lots of wood paneling, a restaurant that does not try to be hip but rather serves traditional cuisine, and a bar with live but quiet entertainment each night.

The room was sparkling clean and spacious and bright. Bedding was excellent and because my work was in the afternoon, I slept till 12pm one day. If there was any noise, I didn't hear it. The bathroom was very clean and had everything you could want including what appears to be marble. The tight shower looks to be a retro fit with a plasticy door that needs replacement.

The restaurant and bar were my favorite areas. I didn't eat a formal meal in the restaurant but did have breakfast to the pleasant sounds of a harpist on my last morning. I had an excellent club sandwich at the bar for lunch and nightly drinks from Yannick, an amicable and efficient bar tender.

Sitting at the bar, listening to the guitar player and harpist, and watching a cold Geneva evening unfold on the street beyond the glass windows....that's Europe.

Jonathan

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Jonathan,

A huge thank you for posting this quite complete review with descriptions and pictures. Indeed, the Bristol is all about traditional but classy style, excellent personalised service and beautiful amenities. We would also add with a perfect location if we may...
Being one of our most fervent ambassadors, we thank you again for your support and really hope to meet you during your next stay at the Bristol Hotel Geneva!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A short walk fromt he train station in an area with some nice restaurants, this hotel provides comfortable beds and friendly welcoming service.

The overall style is a little old fashioned for my perfect choice, but very tidy and clean. The bed was very confortable and the wifi worked well too. Modern, large flat screens, a sofa, well stocked mini bar all there to add to the overall comfort.

Breakfast was good - a good choice, really nice scrambled eggs and crispy bacon and friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review and we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel Geneva.
We sincerely hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again, and we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Kind regards from Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Everything is very dear in Switzerland, so it goes without saying, the hotel is expensive. Well located, close to the river, old town and business area. Rooms well appointed. We received a double upgrade as they were unable to honour our "no smoking" request. Our two rooms opened to the court yard which was rather noisy all night if windows were opened, which was necessary to reduce the heat. Beds and bedding luxurious and comfortable.We were able to secure a "free" parking spot in the court yard as it is "free" after 7 pm and on Sundays. Parking is a jaunt away if you are unable to find a spot around the court yard. Week days it is likely advisable to park in the assigned spots the concierge directs one to. (We did note an 80 swiss franc ticket on the vehicle beside us from the day time. ) The restaurant buffet breakfast was lovely. Cold and warm foods. Excellent. The harp player was an addition to the ambience. There is a Starbucks around the corner if one prefers to go "off campus" for an expensive latte. Lovely walk to the old town. All the top designers walkable, if you have this shopping in your budget. Chanel etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beyond5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear guest,

The feedback of our guests are very important to us, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Geneva, we remain

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel has a great location, just half a block from the lake and the Mont Blanc bridge in downtown Geneva. The decoration is classic old world, but with very modern touches such as free high quality wifi, and a gym and jacuzzi in the basement. The room was super comfortable with a great bed, and we also enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet, including live entertainment by a harp player. Very classy! I can highly recommend Hotel Bristol.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you took some time to rate us on Tripadvisor and also add this review.
Many thanks for your support and we sincerely hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just a few words, since there are so many reviews of so many hotels in Geneva -- there are so many hotel choices, it all depends on what you want. I've stayed at the De La Paix, Intercontinental and Bristol, and I liked the Bristol best -- it's not in the most picturesque part of town, but it is a block from the trolley and bus line that leads to the airport (10 mins) and Cornavin Station (five minutes), a few blocks from the lakefront -- stone's throw to the Wilson, in fact -- and a few blocks from UNHCR and other UN offices. And it's great for the money -- reliable wireless, very good breakfast included, and helpful staff. If money's no object, obviously there are other places you'd stay, but if you're in Geneva for a few days for a conference or business, the Bristol is a good place to end up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Three_0f_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.
We also wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Bristol Hotel Geneva, and rate your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, we remain

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I spend two night at Bristol Hotel and found it a good accommodation in Geneva.
Not really in the center, but however walking distance from it (20 minute walk).
Breakfast was very good and very pleasant with live music in the background.
Had the chance to try the restaurant room service of the hotel and was satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lp_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review.
We sincerely hope to see you back at the Bristol Hotel and remain in the meantime, at your entire disposal.

Kind regards from Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 109 in Geneva
761 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#20 of 109 in Geneva
796 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 109 in Geneva
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £177 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing