We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a lovely, "old-school" hotel, in a great location. Walking distance from the train station and just about on the the lake. We had a very nice, spacious, room. There is a nice jacuzzi, sauna, and gym, in the basement. The highlight however, was the staff. Everyone we encountered was genuinely friendly and exceptionally helpful. Would definitely stay at this charming hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MLTWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience on this site following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future, and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards from Geneva,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My Sixth stay in the Hotel Bristol,the hotel is the epitome go genteelness, trifle old fashioned in its way but with old fashion values and old fashion service all of which are exemplary. The hotel is in an excellent location a walk to the train station, to the old town across the bridge and to many restaurants in close proximity. This stay I request the hotel car park, which is by prior reservation, although a kittle more expensive than the parking at Parking des Alpes, it is well worth it, just leave your car behind the hotel in the square give the keys to the Concierge and all is taken care of with a smile. The Rooms are excellent large spacious our rooms this year were at the rear and quieter than last, which faced the main road to the front. Breakfast is a buffet style, plentiful, with excellent staff and gentle music from the lady playing her harp, what a perfect way to start a busy day. The staff have smiles, nothing seems to be any trouble and the service is above reproach. Why would anyone wish to stay in any other hotel in Geneva when the Hotel Bristol is there to serve your every need, it suits me down to the ground, wood panelling and a service that one can only dream of finding today, one is not a room number but a person with a name. I will be there again for the Seventh and Eighth and more stays. You can keep your Hiltons Kempinskis and their like but give me the Hotel Bristol any day for that perfect stay in Geneva for business, pleasure or whatever.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter for an excellent night's sleep
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am grateful that you took the time to share your impressions and feeling following your several stays with us.
Your comment is a reward for our teams' daily commitment. From us all, thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you many other times and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards


Xavier Collange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a special requirement concerning a late check out. The staff had a "can-do" attitude and worked with me in a warm and friendly way. Every person I encountered at the front desk seemed genuinely happy and had contagious smiles. The size of the room was great by European standards and the towels were soft and plentiful. Excellent hotel for business travel as well as personal. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to warmly thank you for posting your review.
We are very proud to count you among our ambassadors and we look forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Geneva!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly staff, nice hotel, clean rooms and general areas of the hotel spotless.

Check in was a problem on arrival we were told our room was not ready but promised the room in 30 minutes, it actually took nearly 2 hours had we have known this from the start we would have left our bags at the hotel and gone into the town but instead we just sat around waiting and on a four night city break every minute makes a different you just want to explore the city as soon as possible. When we did get our room we wanted room service as too late to get lunch in a cafe but were told bluntly that room service had closed for the afternoon when I asked at reception where to buy a quick snack they told me that the bar had snacks, salad filled rolls etc., which were great and brought up to the room why not tell you that instead of just room service closed! So not a problem in the end but just not a perfect start to a holiday.

A very good hotel restaurant for an evening meal but sadly it is only open in the week not at weekends to me a very odd decision as no other restaurants in the area serve very great food at a good price.

Hotel is located in a great area for sightseeing and Geneva is a lovely city great place for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Best room overlooking the park not the road and ask from non-smoking if you are not a smoker.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment and for rating us.

We are very happy to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay at the Bristol Geneva, even if we regret that you did not have your room ready quicker.
Our restaurant is indeed closed during week-ends but we serve a large choice of meals at the bar during opening hours.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, we remain,

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wasn't sure where to stay when we were in Geneva, but this is the best location. Stayed in a deluxe room - very spacious and clean. Check-in was excellent by Maxime (he also checked us out too). Parking is expensive, return your car before you stay in Geneva- no need to use it. Hotel is a little pricey - but so is EVERY thing else in Geneva. Good recommendations for tour and dinner by the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your review and taking the time to rate us.
Indeed the Bristol is THE PLACE TO BE IN GENEVA !!! Great location, great amenities with a great service...
We hope to welcome you in the near future and remain

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe room, which was spacious, airy and decorated in neutral tones. The bed was huge (although was two standard-doubles fitted together, so had an unfortunate dip in the centre). Nevertheless, the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. Black-out blinds and sound-proof windows also ensured a good night's sleep (the central location could have meant this was a noisy choice). Molten Brown toiletries were much appreciated. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Don't expect to be blown away but the usual fare of fruit, cereals, pastries and hot options were available. Staff are friendly and impeccably polite. All foreign visitors have access to free public transport across the city; you received the transport card at check-in, so do make the most of that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WingAndAPrayer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to rate us and write a review.
Glad to hear that you were generally satisfied with our services and amenities, and we also take good note of your remark concerning the breakfast which we will try to upgrade very soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you during a future stay, we remain

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Check-in by Maxime at the reception was fast, efficient and friendly, and the room was well appointed and clean so no issues there. While the room rate is expensive, that's only in a relative sense because everything is expensive in Geneva. The highlight of my stay was room service: I ordered a mushroom soup and a squid-ink pasta and both were well worth the SFR44 (incl. tax) price! I was tempted to try their in-house restaurant but was basically too tired after my flight into Geneva. I only stayed one night here but wished it could be more. The hotel is only a short 3min walk to the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to rate us and we are very happy to learn that you were generally satisfied with your stay with us.
It is always rewarding to notice that our guests appreciate our efforts in order to make their stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, we remain,

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#11 of 106 in Geneva
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
652 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £177 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing