We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Only hotel on our Swiss trip with A/C and it really worked. May not be quite up to the 5 stars of the Four Seasons across the street, but it is still a nice hotel. The rooms are good sized and the beds comfortable and extra pillows are provided. Its a short walk across the bridge to the Flower Clock and Jet D'eau. We had a private guide walking tour of the Old City on Sunday morning and found that the hotel is close to alot of shops, restaurants and sights. The hotel gave us free bus cards and we caught the #8 bus right outside to the Red Cross museum and Porcelain museum and the United Nations and Landmine monument.
The buffet breakfast is good and it's a full breakfast.
If you have money to burn there are alot of very expensive designer stores nearby.
Only bad point-the internet is 14CF for the first hour, yikes!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    289
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
145
249
44
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Overall this hotel was the best that I stayed in for my week in Italy/Switzerland. The hotel itself was centrally located and right by Lake Geneva. The room was very nice with a balcony and view of the courtyard behind the hotel. Unfortunately, the front desk staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly (all shifts) and the lift was broken for a day and a half of our stay so we had to climb the four flights of winding stairs at midnight to reach our room.
The best thing about the hotel was the 'spa' in the basement. I had a horrible headcold when I was there and the bio-sauna, steam room and hottub were much appreciated. Overall, a good experience and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontogirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolManagement, Executive Director at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Thank you very much for letting us have your comments on our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel and Spa in general. We would also like to apologize for the bad impression that you had on our front desk staff, who are usually very friendly with our customers, if we refer to the majority of the revues. We apologize also for the fact that one of the 2 elevators was blocked for renovations; Now they are brand new and more efficient than before. Sorry again. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon to the Bristol Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

We visited Geneva on route from France and we stayed for 3 days at the Hotel Bristol. We chose this hotel because at the time it seemed to have overall the most consistent reviews and we were not disappointed! The hotel itself has a very nice traditional, authentic, elegant look from the moment you enter into the lobby. The staff on reception (and the concierge) were very pleasant and upgraded our room on arrival. We had a room with a view facing the inner court yard, which was very quiet and peaceful. The room interior was fine and the bathroom decorated to a high standard and very nicely clean. We didn’t check out the hotel facilities available (like bar/restaurant etc), but did order room service, which was nice. Geneva itself is just lovely. If you get to go on a local tour (or indeed your own tour with your free travel pass given out at hotels) and go on a boat ride along the lake. We will definitely return to Hotel Bristol when we visit Geneva again and hopefully visit other cities and go on their famous Swiss railways in the country side. As with all major cities, if you do go out at night to eat, keep all your belongings safe (preferable in the hotel room safe!). We had no problems, but were warned before travelling to be vigilant on the streets at night as you would anywhere else. The hotel itself is a 5-10 minute walk from the main Geneva Station. From there you can get a number 5 bus (free with your travel pass) straight to the airport in about 20 minutes. The hotel is nicely tucked away at the end of the Rue de Mont Blanc and as soon as you walk out of the hotel and turn left you can see the lake (1 minute walk). If you continue to walk over the bridge along Pont du Mont Blanc you are in the old town, which houses the museums and the posh shops (Louis V, Rolex, Cartier etc). Very pleasant stay at hotel Bristol – will return. Bon Voyage to one and all!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed at Bristol Hotel, 06-08 June 2009. Everything was perfect from the first minute we checked-in until the check-out. Upon check-in we were welcomed by everyone at the reception, and even though we were booked in a standard room they upgraded us to a superior room. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, overlooking the courtyard, with excellent facilities and amenities. The restaurant is fabulous and the breakfast fantastic, with a live harpist accompanying us during breakfast (we could stay there for hours...). The fitness center and jacuzzi, even though a little small, it is really worth visiting so make sure you bring a swimmin suit with you (we wish we knew...). On the last evening we returned late from our sightseeing and the restaurant was closing at that time, we ordered room service. In less than 15' our food was in our room, very well presented, hot and very tasty. And the price, for room service standards, was rather reasonable.
As our last evening was on a Sunday, we had to leave our car in a nearby parking, as the hotel does not offer any parking. However, the receptionist suggested that we could leave our car right at the hotel courtyard, give them our car keys and they would take care of putting the coins to the park meter, which made our lives much easier as we did not have to wake up early for this...And instead of paying approx. CHF 60.00 for a 24-hour parking we just paid to the hotel CHF 6.00 for the 3 extra hours, which was really worth it.

For the above reasons we hightly recommend this hotel. These people are real professionals and offer a 5-star service! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

I have stayed at this hotel, which is in a wonderful location, on two different occasions and my wife and I have been extremely pleased. Everyone is very friendly and attentive. It is definitely the place to stay if you want a truly relaxing and enjoyable city break.

The hotel facilities and services are first class; especially the Health Club and the Restaurant. The Piano Bar is great place to have a drink.

If you are looking to spoil yourself or treat a friend I would suggest you book the Gourmet Special Offer; it’s a real delight.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

I and three of my brothers took our mother here for her birthday. I shared a spacious twin room with my mother and my brothers shared a room the same size as ours with three single beds in it. There was still plenty of space to
move about even with three beds in the room and the beds were lovely
and comfortable.

Our rooms were overlooking a large courtyard surrounded by elegant buildings at the back of the hotel so there was no traffic noise.

All the staff were very courteous and helpful and had
a sense of humour. The beautifully-played harp music at breakfast made
a lovely start to the day and the piano played in the bar at night a
fitting end - it was not loud or intrusive and again the pianist had a
sense of humour.

The decor in the hotel is old fashioned elegance - there are some lovely paintings - but it is spotlessly clean and the nice touches such as wrapped slippers, a bathrobe and a chocolate each, bedside mats, a daily note of the weather forecast for the next day and an extra large heated towel rail made it even more special.

There was a good choice at breakfast - especially of fresh fruit salads.

The location of the Hotel - a few steps from the lake, midway between the
old town and the train station - was perfect for what we wanted to do.
I would love to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColetteCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

The Bristol is a mature hotel set a stones throw from the lake.
Staff were very courteous rooms a decent size with wifi

In the grand scheme of things world wide I’d probably count this as a 4 star hotel

Unfortunately Geneva is super expensive citiy bring lots of money

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank Masspecguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing