We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put us off Geneva”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Put us off Geneva”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Half way through a two week bike trip we stopped at Geneva. Having tried 5 different places Montana was the only one with a room. As it was raining and we were tired we decided to take the room. The price was the most we paid during our entire trip....with no breakfast included.

Good bits - both receptionists we encountered were helpful and spoke English well
- close to station & lake however read bad bits too!

Bad bits - no breakfast the next day if you check in after 4pm as that's the cut off time
- poor wifi connection
- room has not been renovated since the 1930's
- TV is the size of a household fridge, I didn't even bother checking to see if it worked or what channels were available
- no a/c means a hot/sweaty/sleepless night in summer
- piss poor fan, the type you see in trucker cabs, to stay 'cool'
- mini bar behind a locked cabinet door, which was easy to pick I suppose as no key was given!
- ground floor room faces a car park/square which is 'washed' by a very loud machine at 8am
- hoovering outside room at 7.45am
- situated on Rue Des Alpes, which according to the receptionist is the border street between heaven & hell. Hell being the side where the prostitutes and potentially violent drug dealers/pimps hang out.
- no secure parking for motorcycles...even if you are willing to pay €17 a day

In short, this place is a dive. I would have given it a minus marking if there was one, and if the receptionists weren't hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowheeledwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    32
    17
    15
See reviews for
7
28
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Montana Hotel is barely few steps away from the Rue de Alps road exit of the Gare Cornavin central Geneva Station main which is 10 min away from airport (with free travel slip from airport and travel card from hotels). Rooms are bit smaller but clean. Its a no frills hotel. Reception guys are friendly and you can ask anything anytime and you would get reply/help with smile. I got special corporate discount which may not be available to general public. Booking from hotel site maybe expensive than other booking sites. TV sets are old small size which are even phased out in poor countries. They should change it ASAP. However the cable works fine in these TV sets. Lake is 5-10 minutes walk. Migros mall/store (big one) and Mcdonalds is just in front of hotel. There are shops next door for daily/dairy products and small daily items. Cornavin is main junction for buses/trams/trains in the city.
Hotel is old but clean. Linen is fresh better than luxury hotels.
Recommended for short stay and first timers who cannot go elsewhere easily.
Ibis Hotel is available for the same price but you have to walk or take bus no. 8,5,15 tram from Cornavin.
Free wi fi at reception/restaurant. not in rooms
Balcony only in few rooms. View is good from Balcony; you can see lake and station.
Temperature/noise well controlled. Bathroom small but clean. Water pressure is excellent - avoid eyes/ears.
Breakfast superb...........nutritious/hygienic/pleasant; lady at the counter (host) very courteous and understand that guests need help in boiling eggs, toast bread, coffee dispensing etc.
Overall recommended for stay because of friendly staff, location and free B/F.

Room Tip: as for balcony room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We love it -- though not at first sight... Yes it needs renovation, furniture and TV are outdated, air condition would be wellcome, but the bed is good, the linen is clean and of good quality, bathoom and shower works well, an open window and fan worked perfectly for the night, and the staff is SO nice and helpful that everything else is secundary. We were given two extra hours without need begging for it, we forgot a really good sport jacket that was found and kept until we could retrieve it after 10 days, there was nothing we asked for that was not dealt with in the nicest possible way, and getting to the train station can not be easier or faster. Arriving at 1AM after a very long and troubled series of flights, we were taken aback by the looks of it all -- but left with the feeling that total strangers made us feel well taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's not too expensive for Geneva, for sure needs renovation but the staff is so nice and helpful that it doesn't matter. They've free wifi in the lobby and a big safe in the room I could leave my laptop in it!
For sure I'll go back there if I have the chance to. I recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked in this hotel through Geneva Tourism Office and were totally disappointed. The room is very worn out and run down, also quite hot & stuffy even with a fan. Also noises coming up (we stayed at fourth floor) from the public areas downstairs. The only good point is that it's located very close to the train station. Staff are friendly and the breakfast is ok. It's definitely NOT our choice if we visit Geneva again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

book only if you dont have any other choise:
The room and the sheets was extremely smelly - we hardly slept.
also even though we had specified that we need a parking space for our motorbike, the parking was only for cars (of course the staff arranged an exeption as there is no way to park outside). still we paied like we had a car!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Montana is near the railroad station and is (for Geneva, one of Europe's most overpriced cities) a reasonably-priced hotel. My room was rather large by local standards, but was worn and run down. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. It is good for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerigrineSufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#56 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#47 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Cornavin
Hotel Les Arcades
Hotel Les Arcades
#54 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: rue des Alpes 23, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing