We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the residential neighborhood of Geneva that is within short walking distance from the major sights”
Review of Eglise Russe

Eglise Russe
Ranked #25 of 153 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
847 reviews
381 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“A little gem in the residential neighborhood of Geneva that is within short walking distance from the major sights”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our tourist map showed this Byzantine-Moscovite style Russian Orthodox Church just off the main road near the Museum of Art History. We spotted it when we climbed up to the Observation Terrace. It was very easy to walk to, even from the waterfront. At this time, they are in the process of renovating the exterior, so you will find obstructions for your photograph opportunity. You can see the ornate golden onion domes

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    118
    42
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A surprise Jewel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This church comes unexpected, both its architecture and location - a mostly residential area. This Russian Orthodox Church in Byzantine style has been a spiritual home to Russian immigrants and visitors for many decades, with a full schedule of services. The interior is decorated with icons, candles and a dividing-wall. The exterior, with the golden onion-dome cupolas, is simply stunning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SilvanaCanoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A lovely Russian church with its gleaming gold cupolas in downtown Geneva. Unexpected and very interesting though we did not go in as there was a service going on..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting if in area”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Had a hard time finding the church as address in the site is inaccurate.
It is quite beautiful from outside, and inside is worth a look as well.
However there are other sites more worthy of your time in my opinion, unless you have a special interest in this one.

Helpful?
Thank OPR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We came across the cathedral by accident and it is a small jewel in a largely residential area near the main Art Museum. It is a beauty externally and very special when we crept inside. There was a service underway and we sat quietly at the back to absorb it all.listening to the service and the singing was moving and brought the cathedral to life, It's tiny, but very special.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank moatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eglise Russe also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Eglise Russe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing