We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Science is cool”

CERN Univers de particules
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CERN, in Geneva, is the world’s largest particle physics research centre. CERN has recently brought into service the world’s most powerful accelerator, the LHC (Large Hadron Collider), which will provide new insights into the Universe and how it evolved. The entire Universe is made up of particles. But where do they come from? What laws govern their behaviour? The purpose of the "Universe of particles" exhibition is for visitors to confront the great questions of contemporary physics : a journey to the Big Bang.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Science is cool”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's very interesting and if you have the time, it's worth the visit. It was easy to tour at your own pace and with the audio language options available, you can't help but get some education. Science is cool!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    275
    82
    30
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tour is a strong word....”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked the tour months in advance and thought that we were signing up for a tour. What we got was a very detail description of what they are doing, Powerpoint presentation and two movies. Oh and we got to peak into a control room. That was pretty much it.

Speaking of movies, one of them required you to wear headphones so if you a germaphobe, you should probably skip the tour....

On a positive note, I did find the guide knowledgable interesting and my science geek of a husband enjoyed it and can now scratch it off his bucket list so I gave it an extra star.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hopebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Interesting science”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We didn't book a tour, instead we covered it ourselves. We arrived at 10, hardly anyone there, we went into the wooden sphere first to see the videos and listen to the English presentation. We then went round the information centre. I thought it was well laid out and the information provided was pitched right. I came away wiser and it was all free. Whilst in Geneva if staying at a hotel you receive a travel card for free transportation on all buses, trams, trains and ferry's. Excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieksamaki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Conflicting feelings”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I traveled to Geneva in May and one of my visiting places was CERN. I had booked the guided tour about 3 months earlier and expectations were size of the super massive black hole.

Even though I already knew that we wouldn't be able to see any of those underground test sites, the disappointment was still high, when I realized that tour only included a quick visit near to ATLAS control room, that was seen through the glass wall, and too many, too long videos, which were boring because they didn't provide any new information, as I had made my own research beforehand - which is the action I assume everyone who is interested in visiting CERN to do..

One positive thing I want to pick out was our guide, an elder scientist who had worked with physics for his lifetime. We had nice conversations with him :)

The biggest disappointment was the souvenir store, which is located in the reception building. There were almost nothing to buy, especially if you were looking for clothes, umbrellas and other textiles, which could be found in the net - what led me to believe that they really have those things for sale. Only considerable t-shirts were meant for men and were size XXXL. So yep, I surely bought one..

In the other hand, Microcosm and Universe of Particles -exhibitions were quite cool, although I think the main target group is still younger students and people, who hasn't learnt those basic things of physics, space and such earlier.

So if you're into science, universe and other cool visual and informative things and you don't know nothing but low basics about this theme, I suggest you to book a visit and see what it can offer - but, if you're looking for new info and mind blowing experiences, I wouldn't bother to travel in Geneva just to see CERN.

If you're still going, there are plenty of activities to see and do in that area, so plan your trip beforehand and find out other cool places to visit, e.g. United Nations headquarters, Museum of Science History and maybe a day trip over the French border. Annecy is a very beautiful little French town, and I enjoyed it much more than Geneva itself - besides, it's way more cheaper than GVA!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CillaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Death by PowerPoint”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked a tour of CERN months ago and specifically visited Geneva to see CERN. We were so excited to be at this facility but so disappointed by the poor quality of this tour. If you think that you go underground forget that idea. In your tour you don't actually tour anything but you do get lots of video presentations and bored to tears by a nuclear physicist who obviously has to take a tour as part of his tenure. We started with a video presentation (old) about CERN then we walked across the road and got another lecture about CERN while we were standing in 35 degrees heat in front of a replica of the tunnel. We then walked 100 metres to the unmanned control room where we spent a good hour looking through glass at the room which only had the safety officer in there. We got tortured by an hour long lecture and a power point presentation and then got taken into a room for another 20 minute video on CERN which repeated all the stuff we had heard over and over before. We are intelligent people who were completely underwhelmed by this tour and would not recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CERN Univers de particules also viewed

 

Been to CERN Univers de particules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing